$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
115 reviews
A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union... See full review

  • Apgrad
  • Sep 6, 2014
Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating.... See full review

  • Traveling Man 14
  • Jul 21, 2014
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8971 -77.0095
Area served
On Capitol Hill, one block from Union Station and two block from the U.S. Capitol.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport - 6 miles Dulles International Airport Baltimore Washington Airport
Area description
The Phoenix Park Hotel is just one block from Union Station which houses the Metro and Train Station, as well as, an upscale shopping center, food court, and a multi-cinema complex. This Washington D.C. hotel is situated at the corner of North Capitol and F Street. The U.S. Capitol Building is located two short blocks from the entrance of Phoenix Park Hotel. We are located right across the street from the National Guard offices and the historical Postal Museum. The Phoenix Park Hotel is centrally located for business and leisure travelers alike. Area Information around the hotel: 1 block from Union Station / Metro 2 blocks from U.S. Capitol Building 3 blocks from the Mall 4 blocks from Smithsonian Museums 5 blocks from MCI Center 8 blocks from Washington Convention Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.
Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC PA Guy
South Central PA
Jul 11, 2014

Great weekend

We stayed at this hotel for the Capital 4th of July celebaration. It's within walking distance of the National Mall. Loved the Irish decor and pub downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aadhithyaa Venky
Silver spring, Maryland
Jul 6, 2014

Great for its location

The hotel was good but it would have been good if morning breakfast was complimentary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda from Gettysburg.
Gettysburg PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Warrior72
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 24, 2014

Can't beat it for proximity to Union Station

I needed a place to stay near Union station. I came in from Phila after work on friday and was competing at a swim meet near the Tenleytown station. Was a 2 minuyte walk to the hotel. Back to union atation in the morning to catch my metro to the meet. Room was clean, staff was attentive and friendly. Bed was very comfortable and nicely decorated, although small. This is not unusual in DC. I was not there long enough to check out any amenities but was required to rate them here- all i did was sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbrandimore
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 24, 2014

Nice Place to stay and not too expensive

It's a ways from the Parks, but if you are not wishing to be in all that traffic and noise this is a reasonable place to stay in Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
perlfoto
Business
Oakdale, NY
Jun 21, 2014

An Excellent Choice

Although I was there for just one night on business, I really liked this hotel. It's not a modern, glitzy facility. In fact, it's in the National Register of Historic Hotels. My room, a standard king, was small but certainly not claustrophobic. The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable and most every amenity one could expect was provided: terry cloth robe, large, fluffy towels, coffee maker, umbrella, hair dryer, etc. The bathroom was modern and spotless and there was plenty of hot water and water pressure. The A/C worked great which is really important in DC in the summer. The front desk, lobby and housekeeping staff were uniformly welcoming, cordial and helpful. The location is terrific, literally one block from Union Station. I really have nothing but praise to offer. I did not have a car, but I did notice that the valet parking was a bit pricey: $50 per night. Given the location, perhaps that shouldn't be a surprise. Overall, highly recommended and I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station just one block away. Great for Amtrak travelers.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graciekelly
Business
Chicago
Jun 17, 2014

Super Convenient and Homey

I love this hotel. Historic, comfortable, convenient. Right across from Union Station and the Capitol, and the windows OPEN! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
criggs
New York, NY
Jun 14, 2014

I Was Robbed

This is not fun writing this. Physically the hotel is lovely. It has a real old world charm, and yet it is in excellent condition, looking like it just emerged from a massive redo. Very impressive. The bed was not great, the mattress a little lumpy and broken down. But I had no trouble sleeping, so that was a minor factor. The prices were totally reasonable across the board. WiFI was not an extra charge, but unlimited and free, and I came across no other hidden or extra fees either during my two-day stay. The desk staff was helpful, speedy and professional. Which makes this all the more unpleasant to write. You see, I was robbed. And I was robbed by someone on the housekeeping staff. On the first night I was there, before going to dinner, I put my umbrella (a small and expensive double-vent umbrella worth $50 though I bought it for $34) on the bed and left the room without that since the restaurant was in the hotel and I would not need it. When I came back an hour later it was gone. The only people capable of stealing it would have been someone with card access to the room. I reported the theft immediately. The response was mixed. On the negative side, they made no attempt to recover the umbrella nor to question anyone on the housekeeping staff (people do sometimes confess, you know!). I confirmed that they had spoken to no one when I questioned no fewer than four of the housekeeping staff over the subsequent 48 hours and NO ONE had heard about it or claimed to have heard about it. On the plus side, they gave me one of the hotel umbrellas free. They told me it was a $20 value, which means it was inadequate compensation, but I still appreciate the gesture. It was actually a fairly good umbrella, but a pain to lug around since it was large. The bottom line is that this hotel has a thief on its staff, and there is no indication so far that a serious effort has been made to correct the situation, that a serious effort has been made to identify the thief, or that there is any serious prospect that the thief will be identified, and the umbrella itself has yet to be "found" or returned. Under the circumstances, I can't recommend this hotel. It's really a pity; it's a lovely place, perfect pricing and perfect location. And the desk staff are models of professionalism. The whole thing is really a darn shame. I continue to hope against hope that the umbrella will be recovered, the thief identified and dealt with appropriately, as I would be eager to change my review, since my stay otherwise was perfectly fine ("Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you like the play?). But, unless that miracle occurs, I recommend strongly against ANYONE staying here. Like I say, this wasn't fun to write. I would have been thrilled to give this hotel a thumb's up, because it has so much to recommend it. But the hiring and retention of a thief is obviously a deal-killer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner was a good experience, based on limited exposure. I had dinner there two days in a row. I had the chicken pot pie, which was excellent. Very good prices.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harvey1
Pa
Jun 2, 2014

Weekend

Great hotel....located within blocks of union station,we traveled by Amtrak , it was very easy to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhangce
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2014

Excellent location

Nice clean hotel in excellent location, walking distance to US capitol, senate etc. best deal ever in downtown DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search