$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monte
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Long weekend getaway

Very comfortable beds and pillows. Towels and robes were extremely nice.. This is an old hotel and the room we had was a little on the small side but all in all a very nice hotel that is about 2 blocks from union station, a short walk(1/2 mile to a mile) to the capital. There is only one downside to the hotel is there were sirens at night so if you're a light sleeper this may pose a problem. All in all I thought this was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to use a Hop on/ hop off Tour bus use the red ones( i Believe the company is open top tours0. they are a little more expensive but they have air conditioning on th bottom and are much nicer buses than the blue ones( I believe the are called bouble decker tours).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manuel g.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Great trip to our Capital

This Hotel and staff makes you feel that your with family. All staff was helpful and the service was great. The food and live music was excellent cant wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take train from airport to Union Station and walk across the street to get to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
media pa.
Nov 18, 2014

In Town For College Football game

Only there less then 12 hrs. Nothing special about the hotel that I saw.Rooms were very small. Bathroom shower very crampted. Asked for a late checkout since we didn't get there till 8:00 and was told no! My son plays football and we normally stay at a hotel around the corner which is much nicer and staff are nicer too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well groomed couple
Business
Henderson NV
Nov 14, 2014

Perfect Washington Location

We didn't want to drive around the city. This was the perfect spot as all the tours left from Union Station a short distance away. We came to the city from Baltimore by train and didn;t have to hire a taxi. The room is small but very comfortable. Good bed and had what we needed. I would recomend this hotel to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A Mall is located inside the train terminal. We could get a nice breakfast every day before we toured

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joonggun
Business
Ireland
Oct 22, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel with great location. Close to all the sites. Good food in the pub with friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
txreview
Business
Austin
Oct 5, 2014

good location, great staff

Like this hotel. But know it is small but quaint. My only two items are the charge to use the business center and there is no vanity area in the bathroom. Close the lid if you don't want things flushing away. Overall, good location and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StarbucksGurl123
Business
Delaware
Sep 17, 2014

Washington DC

Nice hotel with a great location. Across the street from union station and the Capitol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apgrad
Business
Miami,fl
Sep 6, 2014

A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union Station. The Capitol was close and the rest of the museums was about 2 miles so you could walk. The room was super clean and comfortable. Staff super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station ( from tours to food everything was there)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpd168
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 25, 2014

Good value in a good location

The proximity of the Phoenix Park Hotel to Union Station really is a major plus. The room was not the largest but was plenty comfortable. The staff was friendly and overall I had a good experience at the Phoenix Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner really is a can't miss destination if you are staying at the Phoenix Park. Even if you just stop in for a quick drink, it is totally worth the experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeterSanMateo
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 22, 2014

Convenient and clean. A good no frills hotel

We took AmTrack from NY, so this was really convenient. My 12 yr. old and I were visiting DC for the first time. There are metro bikes right across the street, that was great. Having Union station right there was a plus. The hotel is a classic old building. Clean. There is a workout room in the lower level but didn't check it out. The rooms were decent size. We were booked for a lower floor, I requested as high up as possible, they were very accommodating and we were moved to the 8th floor. Rooms we're clean, beds a bit on the soft side. I think this was more a case of deep pillow tops, not soft springs. Housekeeping was top notch. I had left out a container of fruit. Came back to find note stating that they put it in the fridge for us (and where the fridge was located. Didn't know it had one). Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If the weather is in your favor, use metrobike. 1 or 3 day pass. First half hour of any ride segment is free (there is an initial sign up cost). There are stations all over the DC area. Cost effective vs cabs. Great exercise and good for sight seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VKurtB
Business
Denver, PA
Aug 14, 2014

Location Great, Internet Painfully Slow

The location for a one-day stopover for someone touring by rail simply can't be beaten. Staff was knowledgable and friendly and there are plenty of things to see nearby. Tour buses load almost at the front door, and if you have time, you can even stop by your Senator's office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Capitol, Supreme Court, Botanical Garden, Library of Congress all convenient. Postal Museum right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top