$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
247 reviews
Great hotel in a great city

Went to DC with my kids and my sister for a long weekend, the Palomar was perfect. Centrally... See full review

  • Karen the traveling mom
  • Dec 2, 2014
Loved it.

Nice place, free wine every day in the lobby, lovely pool area, short walk to the subway. See full review

  • Bumbroklaat
  • Dec 1, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 247
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ow, my aching back
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 25, 2010

Huge disappointment

This hotel was very stylish and contemporary. The staff was also friendly enough. The location was superior and convenient. So why the one star? The king bed in our room was absolutely way too soft. It was like sleeping on a hammock. Our backs hurt after one night. Here we were in DC to do sightseeing, walking, etc. We expected to come back to a great hotel and get a luxurious night's sleep. Instead, we end up sleeping on the floor because the bed was just too soft. Incredibly, complaints to management were met with the lame excuse that all their beds in the hotel are this soft. Initially, the manager on duty said they would find a board to put under the mattress, but later told me they could not find one. After that, they basically told me that there was no other alternative. I am so disappointed because, as I said, the hotel is beautiful, but what good is that if you can't even sleep on the bed in your beautiful room? Even though they have a lot going for them, sleeping is critical and here, they fail to measure up, in my book. I will never stay there again and am leary of other Kimpton hotels having similarly soft and unsleepable mattresses!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I Hate Orbitz
Business
Pax River, MD
May 11, 2009

Orbitz SUCKS!!!

Orbitz made this stay worse than it should have been. First, the pool was unavailable and Orbitz didn't notify me, second, the room was very noisy! I don't know why the cleaning crew thinks it's a great idea to vacuum at 5am when the room doors don't block noise well but that's what they do. So, if you actually like sleeping through the night...not a good hotel for you! Here is the kicker for me...brace yourself!...you don't QUALIFY for the COMPLIMENTARY continental breakfast BECAUSE you booked your room with Orbitz!!! Now, if I'm not mistaken you pay for the room you expect to get the ammenities that come with the room right?!?! Well, according to Orbitz, the complimentary continental breakfast is a special promotion and we as Orbitz customers don't qualify for the special FREE breakfast that everyone else who paid for their room were able to enjoy IF they didn't book through Orbitz!!!!! Tell me that ain't jacked up!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Impressed by this hotel
Business
MA
Jun 30, 2009

Not what you think for a 5 star hotel...

Overall, the hotel was a nice hotel. It was in a good location city-wise, close to attractions and the public transportation system. The staff was pretty friendly and the room were really clean... What we did not like about it was that we were not informed that there was a fee to have a car there. They charged us $34/day to use their garage...had we known that, we would have stayed at a different hotel that allowed us to park in their lot/garage for free. We also didnt like how they did not offer continental breakfast in the moring. I have never stayed at a hotel that did not offer a complementary continental breakfast. It was not the end of the world, but definitely a surprise. Overall, the hotel was nice, but the surprising car storage fee and the fact that the food was really expensive and breakfast was not included that put a damper on the experiend at this particular hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a block to the metro which took you directly into the DC attractions. Good location for people who want to be close to downtown, but far enough away for it to be nice and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Insurance Guy
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 25, 2009

DC Trip Hotel Palomar

The rooms were very nice, and pretty clean, but the room was tiny, you could hear people running up and down the halls w/ their yappy dogs, and the maids kept waking us up knocking on the other rooms to clean them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good little resteraunts all around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superstar Stu
Business
Hampshire England
Oct 26, 2013

Great city break

The hotel was in a great location, lots of restaurants within walking distance around DuPont Circle area. The White House was about 15minute walk and 5 minutes to nearest Metro station from the hotel. Would advise if your room has inter-connecting door which you don't need to move rooms as sound proofing not great so can be noisy at night. Room 509 opposite the ice machine which is also noisy when used! Pizza in hotel good and concierge helpful. Would highly recommend a trip out to the Washington Redskins football game, a great experience although tickets pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get to the attractions early, by 9am, before all the crowds for best photo opportunities. Get to museums at opening time and on weekday too as much quieter. Hop on hop buses are good way to see the city. Be prepared for lots of walking and aching legs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JadedTraveler
Business
Washington, DC Metro Area
Jun 9, 2014

Slow elevators-promises to improve

The Hotel Palomar in Dupont Circle, Washington, DC was an excellent choice for hotels based on location and the attractions we wished to visit while staying overnight. The hotel lobby presented a great public face, but once checked in, the elevators proved to be a problem. The hotel has a bank of three elevators for public use. Two were working when we checked in and both were extremely slow. After waiting once, we took the stairs for every trip up and down. Thank goodness we were only three floors up. Our deluxe suite was nicely appointed, clean and orderly. The staff all were friendly and helpful. Overall, a nice stay when one ignores the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Obelisk, the Zagat rated restaurant, is located just a block away and worth the cost of the meal. Excellent food and service in a small intimate restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holiday Bunny
Business
New York
Jul 5, 2009

Nice Hotel but lacked a little something

This is a lovely hotel but we just foubd it lacked a little something. Probably ambience. It shouldnt be rated as 5 star on this site. It is only 4 star. The rooms were nicely decorated as was the rest of the hotel. Modern and really clean. Our room was very small though. We booked a King bed room and payed extra for it. It was one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. I would pay extra if your budget allows for a bigger room. Staff were friendly enough. Didnt blow me away or anything. We were woken by housekeeping early each morning which was annoying. Even when we had do not distrurb displayed , they made a lot of noise out on the corridors so you couldnt really get a lie in. On that note, we found the walls to be very thin. You could hear conversations in the rooms surrounding you. The location however is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice bars and restaurants closeby off Dupont Circle. Stars across the street was nice for brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs H
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Good location, 2 negative issues

This hotel is located in Dupont Circle which is an awesome location. 2 Negative issues: 1 - They over sold the hotel room that we were placed on the conference room with pull out sofa bed for the first night. 2 - We booked the room for 3 nights but somehow their system said we only booked 2 nights. We showed the booking confirmation via Orbitz and we were hassled by the staff a bit which was very unconformable. If those 2 issues did not exist, we would stay this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome breakfast, lunch, and early dinner at Le Pain Quotidien!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nebraska Husker Fans
Business
Nebraska
Sep 6, 2010

True---location is supreme

The location was the selling point for this hotel selection and that was great. Close to Metro, lots of choices for dining, grocery and pharmacy. Hotel was too dog friendly---the room smelled like carpet cleaner. Taxi from airport was almost $30 so I would suggest the Metro if you are familiar with that process. Coffee only available until 10:00 in the morning though there is a pricey Starbucks on the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in the area. Metro very close and convenient and operators very helpful to inexperienced travelers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFL
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 17, 2011

Nice service, poor soundproofing

The hotel was nice, especially the lobby. Pretty decor and a fun lounge area when you walk in. The room was musty and humid however. Our entire trip was ruined by loud, drunk, obnoxious kids in the room next to us. On the second night, we called security and after an hour of fighting at 330AM, they were asked to leave. We could hear EVERYTHING going on in their room - including them going to the bathroom. I believe the hotel should not have put a couple next to a group of kids staying for a wedding. This was extremely upsetting and I would never return to this hotel because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top