$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
241 reviews
Palomar Hotel - amazing location & wonderful service!

We stayed a total of 7 nights at the Palomar Hotel. The location was ideal for restaurants &... See full review

  • Josie The Traveller
  • Jul 15, 2014
Long weekend

Very good location - central and accessible with a lot around the hotel if you need to step out for... See full review

  • KD201
  • Jul 13, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Hotel Map

38.9098 -77.0474
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 241
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zappa Frank
Business
Midwest
Feb 2, 2014

Pretty good, but not great

The service at the hotel was exceptional and the location a block from Dupont Circle is wonderful. It is close enough to the center of DC life, but situation in a comfortable neighborhood with numerous independent restaurants and retail establishments. The only real complaint was the cleanliness of the room. Housekeeping did a fine job, but the decorative blankets on the beds and the carpet on the floor both seemed like they needed to be replaced...or at least could use a good washing. The worst was a pretty disgusting stain on the seat cushion of the only comfortable chair in the room. At least I had a place to put the questionable blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ILTS
Business
Boston
Aug 2, 2014

Great location, needs spark

I love the kimpton chain, but because I booked through a "third party" I don't feel I got as special a treatment as I normally do, even though I am a participant in the rewards program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bagel shop across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fickle
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 4, 2014

Average hotel playing dress up

This hotel wants to be nice, and has nice hotel prices, but hasn't quite figured it out. Location is great, but watch out for add-ins. Sky high prices for everything from internet (really? No free wifi?) to room service to parking ($45/night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Ohio College Man
Business
Akron, Ohio
May 29, 2009

" The Place, The Location, and The Servi

I came to Washington D.C for one day Business trip. When I arrived, I faced difficulty with the shutle service which cost me $15 and Three(30 hours of waiting. I was quite unhappy and disturbed. But when I arrived to the Hotel, the whole thing changed. I was recieved by helpfull and cheerfull staff, nice and clean enviorment. I was even happier when I went into my room. The Hotel Location was quite convienent to my business location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rowdy
Business
Cleburne, TX
Jul 11, 2009

Convenient, high quality, great price.

I was greeted at the front desk by [...], a very helpful and friendly lady. She helped me throughout my trip with various questions and travel arrangements, and was always courteous and very respectful. She and the rest of the staff made me feel special in every contact I had with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of sidewalk cafes very close to the hotel which I would not recommend because of cleanliness issues and food quality. I would recommend walking over to Connecticut Ave. to some of the restaurants in that area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chitowndc commuter
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 11, 2012

very good hotel, if a bit out of the way

Very happy with the room and the staff, but a cab ride away from anything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Saunders
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2012

Great location and value

Was really impressed with the style of the rooms and hotel. Great location too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug have business will
Business
Louisville Kentucky
Jan 14, 2013

Great overnight

Even though I only stayed 1 night due to it being a business tip, the room was very nice just a little small for a queen room. The staff was friendly and helpful. When I return to Washington DC again I would certainly stay at the Palomar hotel. It is located close to the center of the city and has a great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KathyMD
Business
Montreal
Jan 23, 2013

Really felt great

I found the Palomar to be a great Hotel. Fantastic staff. Felt really welcomed and helped by the dynamic staff. Trendy, young the location is excellent. 5-7 drink for free. The restaurant affiliated is also great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

urbana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDolly
Business
San Diego
Jan 28, 2013

Love Kimpton

I checked in very late at night, and got to my room as quickly as I could...everything was perfect. The view from my room on the 9th floor was lovely...looked out onto a courtyard and some buildings, that reminded me of being tucked away in a European city. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, and happy to help in all situations. Coming home to cocoa bar in the late afternoon was a nice surprise (since it was so cold out). The wine happy hour is always nice. And coffee to go in the lobby is also a plus. The food was great in the restaurant. I'd be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

With the advent of wireless GPS Google maps app on my phone, I am no longer intimidated by staying at a hotel near Dupont Circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top