$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
247 reviews
Great hotel in a great city

Went to DC with my kids and my sister for a long weekend, the Palomar was perfect. Centrally... See full review

  • Karen the traveling mom
  • Dec 2, 2014
Loved it.

Nice place, free wine every day in the lobby, lovely pool area, short walk to the subway. See full review

  • Bumbroklaat
  • Dec 1, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gatineau, Quebec
May 4, 2009

Washington 4/9/09

We were able walk to all of the interesting sites in downtown Washington, only to return to our wonderful room at happy hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House et al were only 30 minutes away; wonderful trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 31, 2009

DC business trip

They supported my needs in every way including business meetings and after a tough day they were very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avey
Business
Beatrice, Nebraska
Jul 9, 2009

Best hotel I ever stayed at!

Our visit was during the 4th of July week, so there were perhaps a million people in town, and the traffic was horrendous for someone not used to big-city driving.The hotel and staff were great, although everything was very expensive. We made the mistake of renting a car at the airport.We got lost a lot, not knowing the city. The next time we will just take a cab from the airport. We ended up parking the car for the last three days and taking the subway or a taxi, and by far the taxi provided the best service to the memorials we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Palomar was excellent. Also, across the street we ate at the Bistro, where the food was great and every one of the waiters sang songs with the pianist once in a while, and the pianist and the singing waiters/waitresses were extremely talented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Gal
Business
NYC
Jul 12, 2009

Hotel Palomar was excellent!

The Hotel Palomar was just about perfect. I went to DC to visit a friend and we were both very pleased with the decor, the service, and the overall feel of the hotel. The wine tasting (5 to 6 every day) was a great bonus. We were even upgraded to a King Suite for no extra charge! My only nit picky complaint was that the pool was smaller than I expected and was overrun with kids during my visit. It was still very nice and granted, I was there on 4th of July weekend so I imagine it's not the norm. Still, had a great time and would highly recommend. The sushi place across the street and up the stairs is great and the falafel place on the corner is very good for a quick cheap bite. If you're out late, there's a pizza place across the street that stays open till the wee hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Genoa City, WI
Jul 15, 2009

Upscale hotel

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed at. They had cozy bathrobes and even cozy socks to use and it made us feel at home. Cabs waited outside and the city transportation was not far. The Conciere' took care to direct us to the best sightseeing companies and modes of transportation. The hotel is fabulous and I would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel offers a wonderful menu which we took advantage of, but there are other great places across the street that you must go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SANTA MONICA, CA
Jan 6, 2010

The best beds in the entire world!!!

OMG this Hotel is the best!! We stayed during the very hot, extremely humid weather at D.C, The Palomar provided Awsome A.C right from the entrance at The Hotel...OMG They literally have THE BEST BEDS IN THE ENTIRE WORLD..I could've just stay in the room and sleep there...This hotel is a 5-star hotel in my book. The ppl are very friendly and are more than happy to help you..The rooms are really big and comfortable.. OHHHHH How can I forget FREE-WI-FI!! Every time we were ready to go back to the hotel I was excited to go back some where comfortable...They have lots and lots of restaurants right next to the hotel, If you go buy some of the frozen yogurt they have next door, it is sooo good!! The metro station is about 1 block away.. I love The Palomar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They had several restaurants in that area, they even had a Subway restaurant next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ex-New Yorker
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 14, 2010

Great Hotel

Hotel was beautiful. Staff was very friendly. Room was completely clean and wonderful. Close walking distance to Dupont Circle Metro. Close walking distance to Georgetown. Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovemyfamily
Business
Meriden, CT
Jun 1, 2011

Wonderful Hotel with great Customer Srv

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar for three nights at the end of May. From the moment of arrivial we were always greeted with a smile and great service. The rooms were clean and quiet. We also enjoyed the daily 5pm hapy hour provided free from the hotel. They served wine and a special mixed drink, with a few small snacks. It was our first time visiting Washinging and we would def stay again. [...] at the front desk was super friendly and accomadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the hotel, the restaurant called Scion was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fionag1
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Another amazing Kimpton hotel!

The room was amazing and the staff were very friendly as always!! Pretty good location. 20 minute walk to the major museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crepes a go go right across the road! Awesome selection!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCCMZ
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Excellent staff and accommodations

This is our second stay. We arrived late and they put us on the second floor because they were sold out. They said we could move the next day but the room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. If this is what they consider not a good room then they have high standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great dinner at Georgia Brown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top