$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian27
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 13, 2013

Best hotel experience to date!!!

The staff is super friendly, the hotel is clean & decorated beautifully, the rooms are spacious, modern and spotless. The wine reception each evening is great - red or white wine, snacks, cozy atmosphere, and a chance to meet new people. I went to their restaurant Urbana for drinks and apps a few times - delicious lamb meatballs and good wine options. This hotel offers exceptional value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 14, 2011

Pretty Place

The place was very trendy. The only downside was the fact that there was no coffee maker in the unit so I couldn't make my own coffee. Otherwise, the stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof. Mike
Business
Amherst, MA
May 9, 2011

A comfortable Washington destination

I like the Kimpton chain - I appreciate the attention to good design, the friendliness of the staff, the daily wine tasting, and other amenities not found in other, big-chain hotels. I also liked the on-site restaurant - much classier than that in most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Palomar is near DuPont Circle, a center of Washington's night life. I also use the DuPont Circle Metro station to go almost everywhere else in Washington, including Union Station and National Airport.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grapeview, WA
Apr 10, 2011

Terrific Location near Metro

The exercise room is much better than typical hotel gym. The location is wonderful. It is close to metro, nice restaurants and the Phillips collection of Impressionist Art.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian-Giovanni's Trattu

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berz
Business
Pompano Beach, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Terrific Place

Complimentary services were excellent; coffee in the morning, water and popsicles for the young ones in the afternoon, wine in the evening. There aren't any decent breakfast restaurants near the hotel. The restaurant associated with the hotel is very pricey and fair. Hallways at night are noisy - you can hear people opening and closing their doors and talking. Staff was excellent! Overall a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cabs are available to get to the DC attractions and are not to pricey. Take the Metro for a quick and inexpensive trip.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
May 4, 2009

Great hotel, perfect location

Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Newseum Extremely interesting We took the Metro

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan, MN
Jul 7, 2009

Trendy, upscale hotel for bargain price!

Wanted to see the DC sights and do all the touristy stuff. The location is in Dupont circle and only a $10 cab ride to "The Mall" area where all the monuments and museums are. We took The Metro Train to Arlington National Cemetery and it was only $2 for each of us. The hotel staff were super friendly and the customer service couldn't be beat. They always greeted you, opened the doors, etc. The only thing I didn't like was that you had to pay for Internet usage. There's a great place to eat crepes across the street and an awesome pizza place called Pizza Paradiso just down the street as well. Lots of fun shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel. Although you have to cab it to the main sightseeing area, it's worth it for the customer service and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out 'DC by Foot.' It's a free walking tour of the mall area. They meet at the corner of 15th and Constitution. Just do a Google Search and you'll find their times and more info.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lanikite
Business
Honolulu
Jun 23, 2009

Great location and value

I have stayed in several hotels while doing business in DC, and the Palomar was my favorite. The staff was friendly, and the room, although a bit cramped for working, was clean and quiet. The fitness room was not overloaded with equipment, but it was more than sufficient for a good workout. I had the breakfast at the associated restaurant, and it was quite good. All in all, a good place to stay in DC, and I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The first night I didn't feel like venturing far for dinner, and I was directed to the Pizzeria Paradiso which was about a block away. Great food and good value.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bpl
Business
Wooster, OH
Jul 11, 2011

Hotel Palomar Contemporary Elegance

Friendly and accomodating staff, rooms were spacious and well appointed. Loved the coffee available daily and the afternoon kids snack time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick T.
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 16, 2009

A fabulous hotel stay!!!

Ideal location, close to red line metro at Dupont Circle. Close to restaurants and located in clean, safe, thriving neighborhood. Hotel was great - nice, pretty pool, complimentary wine/sangria each day, very friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms. It truly was a great stay for the $!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upland, CA
May 26, 2009

Very helpful, however pool was down

We were in DC to see our son-in-law graduate from GW Law School and to pack our daughter and son-in-law to move back to California. The hotel as a whole was very nice. Staff was very helpful. We were disappointed the pool was not open. Although we did not bring our pet it was nice to see she would have been welcome. We would defintley stay at this hotel again. The King Executive Suite was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top