$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
388 reviews
Palomar Hotel - amazing location & wonderful service!

We stayed a total of 7 nights at the Palomar Hotel. The location was ideal for restaurants &... See full review

  • Josie The Traveller
  • Jul 15, 2014
Long weekend

Very good location - central and accessible with a lot around the hotel if you need to step out for... See full review

  • KD201
  • Jul 13, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9098 -77.0474
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zik
Boston, MA
Jun 13, 2009

Overall an awesome experience

Good stuff: L'Occitane stuff in your bathroom. Free copy of The New York Times is delivered to your room every morning. Free copies of Financial Times and the Washington Post are also available in the lobby (while supplies last.) Wine reception. Lime water. VERY close to the Dupont Circle metro station. Good restaurants within minutes of cab ride or walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kurt100
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Very good stay

Bicycles for free, wine tasting for free, a very polite, attentive and helpful staff. The only critical point was the isolation to the neighboring room. We got some information from the phone calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pcl345
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Nov 11, 2013

Mixing business with please in DC

This was my 2nd time staying at The Palomar. Inside , everything is great. It's a comfortable and inviting place to come back to after a day of walking around town and taking in the sights. It's location is tough to beat... near DuPont Circle and the Metro station, a comfortable walk to Georgetown, and close accessible to all the museums without being in the high-concentration of tourist lodging. When I go back to DC, this will be on my list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Jun 28, 2009

dc carnival

great rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to most cluubs

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 3, 2011

Fantastic hotel, even better price.

15 minute walk from the White House, tour bus, and other attractions. Lots of fantastic restaurants all within walking distance as well. We took a cab to the Smithsonian for under $10.00 The hotel is clean and comfortable with large rooms. The room amenities are modern and up to date, including 45 (or so) inch plasma television with DVD player. The hotel restaurant was nice. Every day a "manager's" cocktail reception was held in the lobby with complimentary wine and snacks. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Having a nice comfortable hotel always makes for a nice vacation. The Palomar certainly helped make our trip to DC very nice. The only downside (isn't there always a downside?) was we were in a room that had an adjoining door. We were able to hear our neighbors throughout the night (it was New Year's Eve though). Overall it was a great trip and we will certainly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vento Restaurant, right across the street was fantastic. So was the Kabob House (for lunch).

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill NC
Jan 1, 2011

Excellent Hotel with a Minor Problem

Incredibly good service and accommodations. My only concern is their pet-friendly policy which means that the bed that I slept in was probably host to a dog the previous day. BUT- thecpet-friendly policy is advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandra T.
Business
Louisville
Dec 18, 2013

great business hotel

it's beautiful; they have great toiletries; the room is cozy; I loved the faux fur throws; and they have free fitness programs on the TV, as well as a yoga mat in every room. restaurant was also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Taro

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upland, CA
May 26, 2009

Very helpful, however pool was down

We were in DC to see our son-in-law graduate from GW Law School and to pack our daughter and son-in-law to move back to California. The hotel as a whole was very nice. Staff was very helpful. We were disappointed the pool was not open. Although we did not bring our pet it was nice to see she would have been welcome. We would defintley stay at this hotel again. The King Executive Suite was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Price Montgomery
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 5, 2014

Weekend getaway/ basketball game

Overall I would have to say that I really enjoyed my stay. I plan on staying at Lipton hotels in the near future especially when I'm in Washington, D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jun 1, 2011

Hotel Palomar - Great experience!

Our hotel experience with Palomar was great! Excellent reception staff and everybody we encountered! It's a great location, just a quick 15 minute walk to Georgetown, about a 25 minute walk down to the National Mall and just a couple blocks away from the Dupont Circle metro stop. We loved the bed, and the room and enjoyed the hotel decor very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Georgetown has all your shopping needs in an interesting and historic atmosphere, just a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top