$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
239 reviews
Palomar Hotel - amazing location & wonderful service!

We stayed a total of 7 nights at the Palomar Hotel. The location was ideal for restaurants &... See full review

  • Josie The Traveller
  • Jul 15, 2014
Long weekend

Very good location - central and accessible with a lot around the hotel if you need to step out for... See full review

  • KD201
  • Jul 13, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Hotel Map

38.9098 -77.0474
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hospitality101
boston
Dec 5, 2010

Very Friendly with room for improvement

I enjoyed the decor and the whole staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. But there was room for improvement regarding cleanliness. Also I was not extremely satisfied with the shower, the knob was slightly broken. Turning it slightly made it go from very hot to cold,I could not find a good temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxi from Dulles hotel to the hotel was 60 dollars. I suggest taking advantage of the shuttle, it is 20 dollars. I was worried about booking one, because I wasn't sure how it would work, but they have several and come very often so I feel it is a great alternative to a taxi.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

What you want in a boutique hotel

Great neighborhood and only two short blocks to the Metro. Fabulous pool heated to perfect temp. Terrific boutique hotel experience, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill NC
Jan 1, 2011

Excellent Hotel with a Minor Problem

Incredibly good service and accommodations. My only concern is their pet-friendly policy which means that the bed that I slept in was probably host to a dog the previous day. BUT- thecpet-friendly policy is advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandra T.
Business
Louisville
Dec 18, 2013

great business hotel

it's beautiful; they have great toiletries; the room is cozy; I loved the faux fur throws; and they have free fitness programs on the TV, as well as a yoga mat in every room. restaurant was also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Taro

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet Set Traveler
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 20, 2009

Modern luxe at a great price

I attended a conference, and did some site seeing and shopping. I have been to DC several times before and this is the best hotel I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located near two Metro Stations. Get familiar with the subway, bring an umbrella, and good walking shoes.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dk44
Gainesville, FL
Jun 29, 2014

great energy

We enjoyed our visit at Hotel Palomar. The room was very large, and there was great energy with vibrant people in and around the hotel. The restaurant and bar were nice, and we were welcomed with certificates for free wine because we arrived too late for the daily wine reception. Our room and bedding were excellent. The elevators were receiving much needed work, so were very slow, and the hallways are a bit dark. More light would have been appreciated, but overall the experience was very positive. Also, the hotel is dog friendly, which we love!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Worth, TX
Jul 27, 2009

Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Hotel was very nice. The beds were great. The neighborhood atmospher was unconfortable at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to eat breakfast just across the street.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brandon, MS
Apr 24, 2009

GREAT place to stay in Washington DC

It was our engagement trip. The hotel staff went out of their way to make the trip special. The location is perfect and the stay could not have been better. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car or worry about getting around town. The Metro is 2 blocks away and its clean and easy to get anywhere in the city in under 20 minutes.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Bawb
Monticello, MO
Mar 19, 2011

Convenient and safe location

This was the beginning of our trips with our grandchildren. As they each turn 13, we hope that we can share with them the experience of Washington DC. We felt comfortable and safe in this location. We started each morning with a stop at Starbucks for breakfast. The Metro, which was new to us, was located 3 blocks away. We were able to master that, with the help of our 13 year old grandson! The staff was very helpful and kind! We would definitely return! We have 5 grandchildren and of course, now the 13 wants to return as tour guide! Thanks for making the trip perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is a short walk away. We found that if you are going to be there at least 5 days, buy the week pass. We used the Metro even to return to the airport. We were able to get to all of the Washington DC sites without any problems! It is best not to be in Metro when other folks are going to and from work!

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Apr 23, 2009

FANTASTIC HOTEL

This hotel was FANTASTIC... the room was VERY clean and elegant. Room service had excellent food. The management was VERY nice... the front desk people however were a bit aloof. They seemed to be desperately seeking for the next customer to be a movie star or something... didn't seem to concerned with us as individuals. Concierge was FANTASTIC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search