$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
247 reviews
Great hotel in a great city

Went to DC with my kids and my sister for a long weekend, the Palomar was perfect. Centrally... See full review

  • Karen the traveling mom
  • Dec 2, 2014
Loved it.

Nice place, free wine every day in the lobby, lovely pool area, short walk to the subway. See full review

  • Bumbroklaat
  • Dec 1, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 14, 2009

"Three thumbs up!"

I lived in Washington, DC for 12 years and return 6 times per year for business and pleasure. This was the first time I stayed at the Hotel Palomar. I have stayed at numerous hotels in DC and around the world. My Palomar experience is among the top three I have ever had. The staff -- every one of them I encountered -- were friendly, professional and "can do" oriented. My room was intelligently designed. They thought of everything, even down to dimmer switches on all their lighting and lamps. The lobby provides the perfect place to chill with visiting friends or associates. The restaurant offers an excellent menu and quality presentation. Finally, the location -- just a few blocks from Dupont Circle and the Metro there -- couldn't be better. I honestly look forward to my next visit to Washington, DC just so I can stay at the Hotel Palomar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks up to Dupont Circle and, weather permitting -- sit on the park benches and people watch. It's a relaxing and interesting way to spend a few hours. Pick up a Starbuck's along the way -- there is one next to the Hotel Palomar or right on Dupont Circle. Enjoy the heart of Washington, DC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Feb 13, 2011

Hotel Palomar

Very confortable room; friendly, agreeable staff. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Smith, Happy Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 17, 2010

Outstanding

I had the best experience at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and just overall outstanding. Everyone greeted me by name each time I came in and out of the hotel (I stayed 4 days). The concierge was extremely helpful in supplying maps, shopping information, and sightseeing/recreation options for my downtime. He even arranged my transportation to those destinations. *They also printed my boarding passes for my departure flight. Room service was swift, beautiful presensation and sizeable portions. There was also a pretty wide range of recent & popular in-room movie options. Loved the lounge, very fun & exciting- but mellow & intimate at the same time. I also loved the hotel decor and the animal print bath robes! :-) I couldn't imagine staying in another hotel in my future trips to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abbypugglemom
Business
Auburn, Washington
May 2, 2009

What a great hotel!

I had a great stay at the Palomar. The room was beautiful the bed was very comfortable. I loved how friendly and helpful everyone on staff was. The social hour every evening was great and I had a chance to meet some interesting fellow travelers---something that rarely happens at a hotel! The location was perfect for me---close to the Metro but close enough to walk whereever I wanted, too. Lots of great restaurants in the area, which was appreciated. I will definitely stay here next time I go to DC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hononlulu
May 22, 2009

great service ,location and satified

would stay there again in upgraded larger room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frisco, TX
Jul 16, 2009

Hotel Palomar = Great Decision

We spent a week sightseeing in D.C. and chose the Hotel Palomar because we had stayed at another Kimpton property before; we had a great time and found the hotel to be stylish and modern and staff to be incredibly helpful and dedicated to making our stay perfect. The hotel may be a little more geared to the business traveler but there were many fellow tourists staying in the hotel and we never felt out of place. The Palomar staff went out of their way to provide amazing service at every opportunity -- from recommending and directing us to great places to eat nearby to printing out our boarding passes for the trip home. Although we left our dog at home, the Palomar is very dog-friendly (there are even water bowls of varying heights out front for dogs of any size). We enjoyed the wine tasting in the lobby on the nights we actually made it back from sightseeing in time to imbibe. The hotel is located in Dupont Circle just a few blocks away from the Metro stop. Dupont Circle is a very vibrant area and there are many dining options within several blocks of the hotel. We had an amazing trip to D.C. and especially enjoyed our stay at the Palomar with its incredible staff. We are already recommending Hotel Palomar to family planning a trip to D.C. in the near future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Everyone should go to Mount Vernon and if you do, go as early in the day as possible. We went on Father's Day and the line to get into the main house was over an hour long. Also try to buy tickets for many of the D.C. attractions online (small service charge but well worth it to avoid long lines).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2010

Kimpton Palomar Hotel Washington DC

Flawless. Would absolutely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradenton Florida
Sep 20, 2010

Awesome hotel

This is our 4th time staying at this hotel. You just can't beat it. Close to everything and great places to eat all around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

or quick ride on the subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicagp, IL
Aug 24, 2009

Simple but elegant

Have always enjoyed the Palomar, especially at Orbitz's rates. Great loation to Georgetown, downtown and DuPont Circle. Great little coffee shop across the street for breakfast with good coffee and very accessible to Rock Creek Park for morning walk. Great touch with free cocktail hour every night. I have stayed here on three separate occasions and enjoyed them all. So far, my favorite hotel in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elmwood Park Illinois
Jul 11, 2009

Extremely great customer service.

Great location. close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top