$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 5, 2008

Huge room!

We spent four nights at the Palomar last week. Our room was very large, and cutely appointed as all Kimptons are (Zebra striped throw on the bed, etc.). The decor was zippy but dark - shades of black, brown and grey - and our room had an odd shape because of the building layout, which left us with only one smallish window in a corner and therefore not much natural light. But it's a pleasure to have room to unpack and move around in a hotel room these days, and I'd trade the space for the light if I had to choose! Room was well-equipped if not sparklingly fresh and the lobby is small but nice. Restaurant struck us as somewhat overpriced, but the location near Dupont Circle is such that there are many, many dining options to choose from. Prices fluctuate from great deals to very, very high depending on what's going on in DC, but we were very pleased with our rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Mirada
Nov 24, 2008

ery Family friendly

Very good, one suggestion, should have coffee pot or microvave in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Mar 3, 2009

Excellent Location - Great Hotel

The location is great. You are within walking distance to the Metro and several restaurants in the Dupont Circle area. The hotel was very quiet and very clean. I was very impressed with the room. The staff at all levels were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great pubs on Dupont Circle

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 29, 2008

Great weekend getaway

The Hotel Palomar was great for a weekend getaway with my girlfriend. The room was fantastic. The animal print theme was very well executed. The bed was very comfortable. The wireless Internet was both free and reliable. Our room was on the top floor and had an interior courtyard view, which was nice. The bathroom was huge and spotless. The only problem was that the water tended to splash everywhere whenever we used the sink facet. The shower was one of the best that I?ve encountered at a hotel. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood and there are several good restaurants within one block. Overall, an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a trip to Georgetown for some shopping.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kings Point, NY
Jul 13, 2008

Nice hotel, not far from the Fruit Loop

We found it comfortable, clean, and stylish. Free coffee and happy hour, and restaurant was supposed to be good, though we didn't get a chance to sample any of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle is not far....

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arnold
Sep 30, 2008

Great hotel

I will definetely return to the Palomar. Valet parking, doormen, coffee in the morning, wine in the evening. The Metro is only 2 blocks away - Dupont Circle. The room (520 sq. ft.) was very spacious with contemporary furnishings. The staff was very courteous at all times and even called to make sure my room was ok soon after arriving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I stopped by the DC Cafe (I think that's their name) to try the DC Combo Platter for dinner and it was delicious. They are only a couple doors down.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ny, NY
Aug 3, 2008

great for business or pleasure

This was a family visit, but i needed to get work done. I was able to get online when i needed to and also able to relax in a great pool and gym. Then we were able to get our mother in for dinner with wheel chair access and the very friendly wait staff accomodated all changes in the meal requested for her 91 year old needs. It was also great to unwind each evening with the wine happy hour. The staff were all professional as well as friendly and helpful I would stay here for either business or pleasure again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

from clothes to books, lots of options

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 23, 2007

Stylish AND very comfortable

Modern hotels can be cold when they're overeager with the black and chrome; Palomar is very stylish but still warm and comfortable. Our room was small but beautiful. I loved being able to use my iPod in the room. The wine reception in the early eve. was a nice welcome back after a day of sightseeing. Had an excellent breakfast that didn't break the bank (unlike many hotel breakfasts). Had a LOVELY romantic dinner at Firefly, another Kimpton property that's a few blocks away. I think the area (DuPont Circle) is the best place to stay in D.C., because it's hip and bustling but still feels like a neighborhood. Oh, well. awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to the new American Indian museum, which is stunning, be sure to eat lunch at the cafe. We're not talking reheated burgers wrapped in foil. Food choices are offered from various regions within the Americas -- North, Central, and South. Interesting and yummy.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2007

Very quiet and comfortable

The Hotel Palomar was elegant and the service was outstanding. The service people seemed to remember us and provided service requests in a polite and timely manner. The room was very large with a kingsize bed, desk area, two chairs and a small couch. The art on the walls was colorful. There were lots of good places to eat near the hotel. Cab service was very timely. All street noise was filtered out. The room was quiet and very conducive to resting. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks was right on the corner, and Dupont Circle was a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 29, 2009

Modest price am exceptional guest care.

This is no cookie cutter hotel! It is fun and friendly. At the same time, the decor is contemporary, comfortable and upbeat. The best is the very friendly and accommodating staff. Guest gatherings in the early evening and morning coffee with newspapers are a great way to start and end a work day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top