$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
2121 P Street NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
239 reviews
Palomar Hotel - amazing location & wonderful service!

We stayed a total of 7 nights at the Palomar Hotel. The location was ideal for restaurants &... See full review

  • Josie The Traveller
  • Jul 15, 2014
Long weekend

Very good location - central and accessible with a lot around the hotel if you need to step out for... See full review

  • KD201
  • Jul 13, 2014
Dupont Circle boutique hotel with urban amenities and artistic touches
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Dupont Circle that caters to guests from the moment they arrive in the modern lobby decorated with striking art. The d�cor is inspired by 1930s French Moderne designers and includes an array of modern art, exotic woods and warm tones accented with bursts of color. The Palomar Washington DC embraces Kimpton's pet-friendly policies by offering special treats and services for dogs and cats. In-room spa services, yoga and Pilates exercise programs, and daily wine reception help guests relax after a day of sightseeing or meetings.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly, boutique hotel in Dupont Circle
  • Evening wine reception
  • Fitness Center and pool
  • In-room spa services
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms

This hotel has many perks for guests -- in-room spa services, in-room yoga and Pilates exercise programs, iPod docking station, DVD and CD player, plush bathrobes and pet-friendly services. The spacious rooms feature classy decor in soothing colors with spicy splashes of color, textures and patterns. Themed rooms include the spa room, with Italian marble bathrooms and a Fuji soaking tub for two, and motion rooms, with personal fitness equipment installed.

Features
Guest at Palomar Washington DC Kimpton receive a complimentary New York Times and coffee or tea each morning and wine reception each evening. There is a fitness center and pool. A cultural concierge assists guests with reservations, tours and offers insider tips on the city. The hotel is pet friendly and eco friendly. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available. Find in-room spa services as well as exercise programs. Guest have access to overnight valet parking (fees apply). The hotel is within walking distance to Dupont Circle, Georgetown, an array of restaurants, and Metro.
Transportation

  • Regan National Airport (17 minutes)
  • Dulles International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (4 minutes walking)

Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
  • The National Zoo (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • The National Cathedral (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/ 3.86 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms with dedicated meeting planners and catering services
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet for Kimpton InTouch members

Hotel Map

38.9098 -77.0474
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 285 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV iHome
Motion Spa Room
Motion Spa Room with 1 King Bed 530 sq ft exercise equipment spa jet tub iHome
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft separate living rm two 42 in flat panel TVs DVD iHome
Spa Suite
Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 720 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32in flat panel TV DVD iHome
Accessible Spa Suite
Accessible Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 650 sq ft Fuji soaking tub communication features
Luxury King
500 sq ft non-smoking oversized king Fuji soaking tub luxurious bath iHome
Presidential Suite
1130sq ft non-smoking king suite can connect with up to 3 bedrooms to create 4 bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 275 sq ft spacious work area 32 in flat panel TV
Executive King
Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft spacious work areaiHome 32in flat panel TV DVD
Accessible Executive King
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft communication features avail
Accessible Executive King Roll I
Accessible Executive King with 1 King Bed Roll-In Shower 500 sq ft communication features
Executive Queen Queen Room
Executive Queen Queen Room with 2 Queen Beds 520 Square Feet iHome and Frette Sheets
Accessible Executive Queen Queen
Accessible Executive Queen Queen Room 2 Queen Beds 500 sqft communication features
Accessible Executive Two Queen B
Accessible Executive 2 Qn Roll In Shower with 2 Queen Beds 285 sq ft
Spa King Room
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Fuji soaking tub 32 in flat panel TV DVD iHome

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

Urbana
A downtown dining hotspot adjacent to Hotel Palomar Washington DC Urbana strikes the perfect note. It is as much a destination restaurant as a neighborhood hangout. Linger over a glass of wine and delicious small plates at the bar or savor a full aromatic

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2010

Kimpton Palomar Hotel Washington DC

Flawless. Would absolutely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abbypugglemom
Business
Auburn, Washington
May 2, 2009

What a great hotel!

I had a great stay at the Palomar. The room was beautiful the bed was very comfortable. I loved how friendly and helpful everyone on staff was. The social hour every evening was great and I had a chance to meet some interesting fellow travelers---something that rarely happens at a hotel! The location was perfect for me---close to the Metro but close enough to walk whereever I wanted, too. Lots of great restaurants in the area, which was appreciated. I will definitely stay here next time I go to DC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Nov 18, 2010

Great Hotel; great service

Didn't have much time in Washington but found The Palomar to be a great place to be. Very friendly staff, room was spacious, amenities were top shelf and workout space was really helpful. Register as a Kimpton member - worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices within minutes walking - The Turkish Restaurant was great - food, staff, price & ambiance!

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Commander
San Francisco, CA
Jul 1, 2014

The best!

We stayed at the Palomar for one night as we were passing through DC on our way home from a vacation. The front desk staff were wonderful and accomodating. I was traveling with my sister and the only room available when I had booked had one bed. The gentleman at the desk immediately responded to my request to change to two beds . We ended up in a beautiful room on the 10th floor with a nice city view. The bell staff was equally helpful leaving the next day as we neede to store luggage for several hours before our transportation arrived. Neither of these acts is necessarily out of the ordinary for a hotel, however the staff handled the situation with grace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lydia1234
ohio
Jan 3, 2012

fantastic stay with pets without, to relax...

I have been traveling to DC for the past 10 yrs. This is the best the magnificent hotel I have ever stayed in. I love the service, the room, the restaurant, great employees even the employees that park your car. Very convienient. I am very impressed with mgmt to hire the best. Employees and for employees to perform in this way. Loved it..I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You do not have to drive far to find the best restaurants

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hononlulu
May 22, 2009

great service ,location and satified

would stay there again in upgraded larger room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Nov 4, 2010

Hotel Palomar DC is great

This is a very well appointed hotel, very hip in every way. Friendly, helpful staff, complimentary wines before dinner. The furnishings' style and room size were like none I've seen before. I am looking for the next opportunity to stay at a Palomar during my next excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

15 minutes by cab, don't miss the opportunity to dine at Filomena's, two blocks off the river on Wisconsin Avenue, especially if you like GOOD Italian food.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian27
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 13, 2013

Best hotel experience to date!!!

The staff is super friendly, the hotel is clean & decorated beautifully, the rooms are spacious, modern and spotless. The wine reception each evening is great - red or white wine, snacks, cozy atmosphere, and a chance to meet new people. I went to their restaurant Urbana for drinks and apps a few times - delicious lamb meatballs and good wine options. This hotel offers exceptional value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jesseco
Daly City, California
Jun 30, 2013

Great trip with son and grandsons

Everything was great but I thought that the parking of $43 a day was steep. However, they did comp the parking at check out time, that made it all better. I would stay there again with or without the parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were two side by side pizza places within two blocks that served great pizza. Fantastic for a late dinner after site seeing.

Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avey
Beatrice, Nebraska
Jul 9, 2009

Best hotel I ever stayed at!

Our visit was during the 4th of July week, so there were perhaps a million people in town, and the traffic was horrendous for someone not used to big-city driving.The hotel and staff were great, although everything was very expensive. We made the mistake of renting a car at the airport.We got lost a lot, not knowing the city. The next time we will just take a cab from the airport. We ended up parking the car for the last three days and taking the subway or a taxi, and by far the taxi provided the best service to the memorials we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Palomar was excellent. Also, across the street we ate at the Bistro, where the food was great and every one of the waiters sang songs with the pianist once in a while, and the pianist and the singing waiters/waitresses were extremely talented.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search