$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1011 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
105 reviews
Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff. See full review

  • Margaret
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014

A restored 19th-century Victorian mansion, Morrison Clark Inn blends historic elegance and contemporary accommodations. Situated close to downtown attractions and sights, Washington DC Convention Center, federal and local government buildings, this full-service hotel is suitable for travelers seeking to explore the culture and history of Washington. Other nearby tourist spots include the Capitol and White House.

This National Register of Historic Places listed hotel features beautifully designed spaces fitted with authentic antique furnishings, Italian Carrera marble fireplaces, and private balconies.

Rooms

Guests at Morrison Clark Inn choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. 

Highlights
  • Close to Capitol Hill, White House and Washington DC Convention Center
  • Minutes from renowned restaurants, nightspots, theaters, museums and other cultural destinations
  • Four blocks from Metro Center and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail stations
Nearby attractions
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until further notice as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • Valet parking is available for $38 USD/night plus tax

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Rooms feature one queen bed, nightstands with electric plug lamps, a large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a min-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 235 sq ft / 21 sq M.
Superior Deluxe
Superior Deluxe Rooms have one queen or king bed, very spacious room with night stands and electric plug lamps, large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a mini-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 330 sq ft / 30 sq M.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites feature one queen bed, nightstands, with a large sitting area featuring coffee and end tables, bay windows, and a reading chair. Also includes nightstands with electric plug lamps, a large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a min-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 375 sq ft / 34 sq M.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 105
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lanna924
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 27, 2014

Beautiful Hotel for the price

The hotel was beautiful and it had a lot of charm and character. I liked that it wasn't your standard looking room and hallway. We got a reduced rate since it was under construction. I could never afford to pay the normal rate, nor would I want to. The construction took away from the beauty of the outside of it, but you couldn't tell from the inside. Location was good but I would have liked to have been a bit closer to a metro and I would have liked to have had more dining/bar options near us. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the metro so not bad, just not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irving Robman
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2014

Lovely historic hotel for downtown DC

The Morrison Clark is a great experience each year. Reasonable prices, prime location for the DC Convention Center and surrounding attractions, fantastic staff. Can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the Capital City Brewery about 4-5 blocks south of the hotel. Good micro-brews and menu options

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gallaudet Visit
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 14, 2010

DC overnight

Super friendly staff; We were even able to check in an hour earlier, which was great because we had been walking around all day with our bags. Room was smaller than chain hotels with plenty of space for 3 of us to sleep since we were out in the city all of the time. I wish I had gotten the man's name working the counter Friday morning when we checked out so I can thank him again for letting us keep our bags there while a friend and I went to Gallaudet and my husband went out the museums. It's in a great location with access to metro in few blocks all directions, or just walk toward downtown on 11 st and go see the White House. All in all, if you're in Dc for a few days this is highly affordable and in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If all else fails and you can't find anywhere to eat while you're out, take the Red metro to Union Station. The basement has a food court with many different options and international foods. Also, US has convenience stores where you can pick up snacks and drinks for while you're out walking around all day.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOneQuestionIs
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Great Stay

Everything about this hotel was exceptional. The accommodations were impeccably clean, the rooms are large and beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the process of checking in and out was a breeze. If you like quaint inn-style hotels then you should definitely consider this place. Additionally, it is close to a lot of great restaurants and bars (1/4 mile max to most things), and it isn't more than a decent walk to the national mall and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is quite a bit of restaurant/bar activity in a concentrated area between 7th and 15th street from approximately F to K avenues. It's a large area, but there are well packed streets with a lot to do even in the early morning hours. Don't limit yourself to things around the national mall as they are harder to find and overpriced.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 13, 2010

Mostly GOOD but

Not too far from the "Mall", Smithsonian, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't valet park at the Hotel, 3 x the cost of local parking decks

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 22, 2009

Be realistic

Morrison Clark is a building with history. that is interesting! if you like to walk & explore the neighborhoods on your way to visiting specific sites, this is a good choice. within walking distance to Pennsylvania Ave. + you can find lots of little spots to eat or sit & relax. the parking is relatively cheap ($28 + tax) and in the hotel basement which is safe. bell hop staff is wonderful! adjust to your room which in our case was clean & met our sleeping requirements. liked air conditioning that kept us cool in DC heat & was a duct-work system which was not too noisy. room in upper floors-inner court was quiet but can imagine that street-view rooms might be noisier. would return, keeping in mind that the well-appointed photos in these ads never match your actual accomodations. also, leave time for check-in. check-in is 3pm and we finally got in at 3:35 which was a rush for our 5pm reservations that evening! hotel is not the pictured fairy tale but would return as the reality was not unpleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you like to walk, explore the area and you will find shopping, movies, DC attractions, and an array of dining choices

Back to menu Return to top