$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
119 reviews
Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff. See full review

  • Margaret
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post's top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until further notice as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • Valet parking is available for $38 USD/night plus tax

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 119
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MP3
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

in for a overnight

very friendly staff welcomed me for a one night stay. They did not have equipment on site for the room to accommodate me as a hearing impaired traveler. Made other arrangements to assure I awoke to catch my flight. Very small room but lovely and fine for a quick stay. great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaret
Business
Cincinnati
Mar 2, 2015

Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Broke Grad Student
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Great physical location, but too much construction

I stayed at the hotel due to its close proximity to the convention center. Everything was lovely about the hotel, aside from the early morning construction taking place outside of my window. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and I enjoyed the overall feel of the hotel. I would stay there again if in the DC area. It is within walking distance to both the White House (approx. 1 mile) and the Convention Center (2 blocks) and significantly cheaper than other hotels in the area. Their amenities are comparable to the more expensive hotels: daily complimentary bottled water, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and mini bar in the room. Most importantly, there were no concerns regarding cleanliness!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old hat
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2014

Good place for business trip

Good location, walking distance to most major attractions. A pity the restaurant is closed, not too many places to eat at night in the immediate vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oaxaca John
Business
Hood River, Oregon
Jan 25, 2014

Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum we get used to. And to find it at this price was stunning. At least the price was great when I stayed there; I don't know if that's standard. The only problem was that there was construction in the courtyard. I wondered why there were earplugs next to the bed when I arrive. Now I know. But that should be temporary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2013

I love this place

This is a great little hotel centrally located in DC. The place was built in the 1800s and is beautifully restored and decorated. The staff and service are excellent. I really enjoyed the breakfast here. The room prices are very reasonable. I'm not sure why this place is not more popular since it is a fantastic value compared to the other very expensive hotels in downtown DC. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro to the convention center exit and it is a very short walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rushing around
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 15, 2013

Morrison Clark Inn

Room was too small. It was hard to get the door open to the shiftrobe where you hung clothes. Could not move easily around in room due to small size. Restaurant was good and service was decent. Staff wass friendly and helpful. Amentities were minimal. Other than a newspaper you could read every morning, the amentiies were scarce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat66
Business
roanoke
Aug 29, 2012

very nice

Very nice Hotel. The very nice front desk clerk upgraded me to a small suite. Only complaint was the road noise and you could hear people talking as they walked by outside. An inside room or upper floor might alleviate the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel in a beautiful old building!

This hotel is a beautiful old building in downtown Washington. The room was small more like a European hotel, but nicely furnished and very comfortable. I was in a room on the ground floor, which has a nice private view of the courtyard of the hotel. The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, but I didn't have a chance to try it. It had a good looking The hotel wireless worked great. They have a small, but reasonable exercise room with a only a few pieces of equipment. The closest metro stop is 5 blocks and is a nice walk. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I could get a similar rate of $150 per night (a great price for downtown DC).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restaurant called Tortino, which is only a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrX2
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Very helpful as long as convenient to them

It was a nice hotel that was adequate for the price. Nothing really felt new or upscale, but maybe that is the historical aspect of the hotel. I don't feel like they cleaned anything more than took out the trash and refolded towels that I used. I am not a stickler for brand new everything every single day, but the fact that I knew that nothing was completely replaced was a problem. I want my veil of luxury even if it is just that. I stayed for 7 days, the first two days I got 2 chocolates on my pillow, the next two I only got one, and there after I got none. The longer I stay the less attention to detail they paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a CVS around the corner which is great for incidentals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top