$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
173 reviews
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum... See full review

  • Oaxaca John
  • Jan 25, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 173
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lanna924
Charlotte, NC
May 27, 2014

Beautiful Hotel for the price

The hotel was beautiful and it had a lot of charm and character. I liked that it wasn't your standard looking room and hallway. We got a reduced rate since it was under construction. I could never afford to pay the normal rate, nor would I want to. The construction took away from the beauty of the outside of it, but you couldn't tell from the inside. Location was good but I would have liked to have been a bit closer to a metro and I would have liked to have had more dining/bar options near us. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the metro so not bad, just not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Jul 22, 2009

Be realistic

Morrison Clark is a building with history. that is interesting! if you like to walk & explore the neighborhoods on your way to visiting specific sites, this is a good choice. within walking distance to Pennsylvania Ave. + you can find lots of little spots to eat or sit & relax. the parking is relatively cheap ($28 + tax) and in the hotel basement which is safe. bell hop staff is wonderful! adjust to your room which in our case was clean & met our sleeping requirements. liked air conditioning that kept us cool in DC heat & was a duct-work system which was not too noisy. room in upper floors-inner court was quiet but can imagine that street-view rooms might be noisier. would return, keeping in mind that the well-appointed photos in these ads never match your actual accomodations. also, leave time for check-in. check-in is 3pm and we finally got in at 3:35 which was a rush for our 5pm reservations that evening! hotel is not the pictured fairy tale but would return as the reality was not unpleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you like to walk, explore the area and you will find shopping, movies, DC attractions, and an array of dining choices

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Jul 22, 2009

Be realistic

Morrison Clark is a building with history. that is interesting! if you like to walk & explore the neighborhoods on your way to visiting specific sites, this is a good choice. within walking distance to Pennsylvania Ave. + you can find lots of little spots to eat or sit & relax. the parking is relatively cheap ($28 + tax) and in the hotel basement which is safe. bell hop staff is wonderful! adjust to your room which in our case was clean & met our sleeping requirements. liked air conditioning that kept us cool in DC heat & was a duct-work system which was not too noisy. room in upper floors-inner court was quiet but can imagine that street-view rooms might be noisier. would return, keeping in mind that the well-appointed photos in these ads never match your actual accomodations. also, leave time for check-in. check-in is 3pm and we finally got in at 3:35 which was a rush for our 5pm reservations that evening! hotel is not the pictured fairy tale but would return as the reality was not unpleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you like to walk, explore the area and you will find shopping, movies, DC attractions, and an array of dining choices

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOneQuestionIs
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Great Stay

Everything about this hotel was exceptional. The accommodations were impeccably clean, the rooms are large and beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the process of checking in and out was a breeze. If you like quaint inn-style hotels then you should definitely consider this place. Additionally, it is close to a lot of great restaurants and bars (1/4 mile max to most things), and it isn't more than a decent walk to the national mall and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is quite a bit of restaurant/bar activity in a concentrated area between 7th and 15th street from approximately F to K avenues. It's a large area, but there are well packed streets with a lot to do even in the early morning hours. Don't limit yourself to things around the national mall as they are harder to find and overpriced.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Oct 13, 2010

Mostly GOOD but

Not too far from the "Mall", Smithsonian, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't valet park at the Hotel, 3 x the cost of local parking decks

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gallaudet Visit
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 14, 2010

DC overnight

Super friendly staff; We were even able to check in an hour earlier, which was great because we had been walking around all day with our bags. Room was smaller than chain hotels with plenty of space for 3 of us to sleep since we were out in the city all of the time. I wish I had gotten the man's name working the counter Friday morning when we checked out so I can thank him again for letting us keep our bags there while a friend and I went to Gallaudet and my husband went out the museums. It's in a great location with access to metro in few blocks all directions, or just walk toward downtown on 11 st and go see the White House. All in all, if you're in Dc for a few days this is highly affordable and in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If all else fails and you can't find anywhere to eat while you're out, take the Red metro to Union Station. The basement has a food court with many different options and international foods. Also, US has convenience stores where you can pick up snacks and drinks for while you're out walking around all day.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gallaudet Visit
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 14, 2010

DC overnight

Super friendly staff; We were even able to check in an hour earlier, which was great because we had been walking around all day with our bags. Room was smaller than chain hotels with plenty of space for 3 of us to sleep since we were out in the city all of the time. I wish I had gotten the man's name working the counter Friday morning when we checked out so I can thank him again for letting us keep our bags there while a friend and I went to Gallaudet and my husband went out the museums. It's in a great location with access to metro in few blocks all directions, or just walk toward downtown on 11 st and go see the White House. All in all, if you're in Dc for a few days this is highly affordable and in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If all else fails and you can't find anywhere to eat while you're out, take the Red metro to Union Station. The basement has a food court with many different options and international foods. Also, US has convenience stores where you can pick up snacks and drinks for while you're out walking around all day.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethlehem, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Good value for the price

Very pleasant stay, good location, reasonable price, restaurant too pricey, good access to Metro and other tourist destinations. Overall, very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top