$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1011 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
105 reviews
Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff. See full review

  • Margaret
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014

A restored 19th-century Victorian mansion, Morrison Clark Inn blends historic elegance and contemporary accommodations. Situated close to downtown attractions and sights, Washington DC Convention Center, federal and local government buildings, this full-service hotel is suitable for travelers seeking to explore the culture and history of Washington. Other nearby tourist spots include the Capitol and White House.

This National Register of Historic Places listed hotel features beautifully designed spaces fitted with authentic antique furnishings, Italian Carrera marble fireplaces, and private balconies.

Rooms

Guests at Morrison Clark Inn choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. 

Highlights
  • Close to Capitol Hill, White House and Washington DC Convention Center
  • Minutes from renowned restaurants, nightspots, theaters, museums and other cultural destinations
  • Four blocks from Metro Center and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail stations
Nearby attractions
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until further notice as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • Valet parking is available for $38 USD/night plus tax

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Rooms feature one queen bed, nightstands with electric plug lamps, a large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a min-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 235 sq ft / 21 sq M.
Superior Deluxe
Superior Deluxe Rooms have one queen or king bed, very spacious room with night stands and electric plug lamps, large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a mini-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 330 sq ft / 30 sq M.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites feature one queen bed, nightstands, with a large sitting area featuring coffee and end tables, bay windows, and a reading chair. Also includes nightstands with electric plug lamps, a large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a min-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 375 sq ft / 34 sq M.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 105
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Koby F
Business
New York City
May 10, 2014

Not what we paid for, plus a backache!

We made a reservation for a room with a parlor, which would have a bed for our teenage son. Alas, the hotel could not provide that, and instead provided a pile of blankets for our son to use as a mattress!!!! This being DC, and late for us, we saw no alternative and stayed. The next day, we got a room with 2 beds, but still not the parlor we had paid for. They provided no refund for the inferior accommodations provided, which seems to me to be unfair. While the hotel is beautiful, I found myself missing the amenities and professionalism of a chain! :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 12, 2010

Only good thing is location

I stayed there for 1 day. What i dont like:Car parking is not free. Its 36$ per night extra. They didnt mentioned anywhere about this in site. Front-office is not as good as other people working there. What I like: location. 1 mile from National Mall, White house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Its better to take a taxi from hotel to Downtown. It costs only $5 but saves lot of time and energy instead of walking from hotel.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, CA.
May 19, 2011

Morrison Clark Inn

Went to DC for daughter's college commencement. Morrison Clark Inn standard rooms were average size, a little disappointed in size of room since we couldn't even go around our bed without closing the armoire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Davidmt
Business
Missouri
Jun 16, 2014

2 rooms

I rented two rooms, one for my wife and I, one for my elderly mother and my daughter. Same price for both rooms. Ours was larger and had a couch. Their room was half the size and only had one small bed. I ended up paying extra for a room with 2 beds. But that room had construction going on outside at 7 am. Good thing we weren't in them much. Otherwise a nice quaint old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and dining 1 mile away

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garyw02
Business
Georgia
May 22, 2012

Mini Vacation

We enjoyed our vacation very much and our stay at the Hotel. People and food were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juneau, AK
Aug 20, 2010

Unique place to stay in DC

This is a great small hotel with a historic feel and quiet charm. It is within walking distance of the mall but in a quieter setting than K Street. The rooms were smaller as you would expect in a historic building, but not such that you feel cramped. The restaurant was quite nice, with high ceilings and windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBird
Business
Greenwich, CT 06830, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Charming, but bring your earplugs

This is a charming hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. My son and I were upgraded from a standard room to a Victorian room since we arrived at midnight and all the standard rooms were taken. Our room was very pretty, with a high ceiling and fireplace, and a clean modern bathroom. Unfortunately, as a historic building, the windows were not double glazed so the street noise in the morning was quite loud. I was disappointed there were no black out shades either -- no sleeping late at this hotel! The other drawback is the distance from the metro. While the hotel is centrally located, and close to two Starbucks, it's a good 10-15 minute walk to the metro. However, it is still a really good value -- a very classy hotel, for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 2, 2011

Very nice

This is a very nice little hotel. The staff was all friendly and the room was clean and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is a great little breakfast spot, the Cozy Corner Cafe. They had breakfast with egg, bacon, and toast for under $4.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scully82
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 8, 2010

Great Stay!

Everyone was very nice and helpful. Room service food was great and so was the room in general. We'll definately go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks south is the Capitol City Brewery...excellent food and beer! Family friendly, plenty of stroller room.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel and daughter
Business
USA
Jul 29, 2014

Elegant and friendly

As usual, I was very pleased with my stay at the Morrison Clark Inn this week end. The staff is eager to please and so friendly. The space is elegant and clean. It was a pleasure even with the construction going on to expand the hotel. I hope to go back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top