$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
110 reviews
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 110
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Koby F
Business
New York City
May 10, 2014

Not what we paid for, plus a backache!

We made a reservation for a room with a parlor, which would have a bed for our teenage son. Alas, the hotel could not provide that, and instead provided a pile of blankets for our son to use as a mattress!!!! This being DC, and late for us, we saw no alternative and stayed. The next day, we got a room with 2 beds, but still not the parlor we had paid for. They provided no refund for the inferior accommodations provided, which seems to me to be unfair. While the hotel is beautiful, I found myself missing the amenities and professionalism of a chain! :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 12, 2010

Only good thing is location

I stayed there for 1 day. What i dont like:Car parking is not free. Its 36$ per night extra. They didnt mentioned anywhere about this in site. Front-office is not as good as other people working there. What I like: location. 1 mile from National Mall, White house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Its better to take a taxi from hotel to Downtown. It costs only $5 but saves lot of time and energy instead of walking from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, CA.
May 19, 2011

Morrison Clark Inn

Went to DC for daughter's college commencement. Morrison Clark Inn standard rooms were average size, a little disappointed in size of room since we couldn't even go around our bed without closing the armoire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Davidmt
Business
Missouri
Jun 16, 2014

2 rooms

I rented two rooms, one for my wife and I, one for my elderly mother and my daughter. Same price for both rooms. Ours was larger and had a couch. Their room was half the size and only had one small bed. I ended up paying extra for a room with 2 beds. But that room had construction going on outside at 7 am. Good thing we weren't in them much. Otherwise a nice quaint old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and dining 1 mile away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Aug 30, 2010

Very friendly servicereally good upgrade

Toured DC with my son. What was missing was an extra day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garyw02
Business
Georgia
May 22, 2012

Mini Vacation

We enjoyed our vacation very much and our stay at the Hotel. People and food were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juneau, AK
Aug 20, 2010

Unique place to stay in DC

This is a great small hotel with a historic feel and quiet charm. It is within walking distance of the mall but in a quieter setting than K Street. The rooms were smaller as you would expect in a historic building, but not such that you feel cramped. The restaurant was quite nice, with high ceilings and windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBird
Business
Greenwich, CT 06830, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Charming, but bring your earplugs

This is a charming hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. My son and I were upgraded from a standard room to a Victorian room since we arrived at midnight and all the standard rooms were taken. Our room was very pretty, with a high ceiling and fireplace, and a clean modern bathroom. Unfortunately, as a historic building, the windows were not double glazed so the street noise in the morning was quite loud. I was disappointed there were no black out shades either -- no sleeping late at this hotel! The other drawback is the distance from the metro. While the hotel is centrally located, and close to two Starbucks, it's a good 10-15 minute walk to the metro. However, it is still a really good value -- a very classy hotel, for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 2, 2011

Very nice

This is a very nice little hotel. The staff was all friendly and the room was clean and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is a great little breakfast spot, the Cozy Corner Cafe. They had breakfast with egg, bacon, and toast for under $4.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scully82
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 8, 2010

Great Stay!

Everyone was very nice and helpful. Room service food was great and so was the room in general. We'll definately go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks south is the Capitol City Brewery...excellent food and beer! Family friendly, plenty of stroller room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top