$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
110 reviews
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Traveller
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 15, 2010

Hidden gem

We visited our adult children who live in D.C. near the hotel. The hotel was great, a blend of modern amenities and historic charm housed in a distinctively updated former mansion and an addition. It was nice to be in a neighborhood, too, instead of on busy avenues like most of the larger hotels in the city. The front desk was always available and helpful. When we checked in we were in a rush to a scheduled Capitol tour and the manager found us an available room on the garden level. It was quite dark and not very appealing. We called the desk and before we could even say anything he asked if we would prefer another room when available. When we returned from our tour we were settled into a delightful room overlooking the interior garden. We were pleased with everything else over the weekend except the bell sevice. They were inattentive and often unavailable at the door. The hotel was convenient to Logan Circle, Penn Quarter and other active dining entertainment areas. There is a metro stop a few blocks east. Quite a charming little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had not visited the area around the Convention center before. There is a lively district in Penn Quarter with lots of eclectic restaurants and bars, and a diverse array of folks especially when there are games and events at the arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
urban nomad
Business
urbana, il
May 29, 2011

A pleasant stay

I attended a conference over the course of three days and decided to stay at the Morrison-Clark due to its proximity to the conference venue. The area around the hotel is a strange mix of upscale dwellings and boarded up store fronts. The hotel itself is quite nice: it has a courtyard and a restaurant that serves a limited but good menu of food. The room had an enormous bed, work desk, and a dresser. From the appearance of the thermostat, its last major renovation was the late 1980's, though the widescreen television couldn't have been more than a few years old. There was also a stain on the carpet (ketchup?), which the housekeeper concealed the next day with a judicious shift of the rubbish bin. The fitness room is small, containing a treadmill, a broken stationary bicycle, and freeweights along with a water cooler and television. The business room is adjacent to the fitness room; I did not use it. The only complaint was being so close to the elevator. I would recommend staying in this charming little hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro rail line near by, not too far way from Mt. Vernon Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel and daughter
Business
USA
Jul 29, 2014

Elegant and friendly

As usual, I was very pleased with my stay at the Morrison Clark Inn this week end. The staff is eager to please and so friendly. The space is elegant and clean. It was a pleasure even with the construction going on to expand the hotel. I hope to go back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Broke Grad Student
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Great physical location, but too much construction

I stayed at the hotel due to its close proximity to the convention center. Everything was lovely about the hotel, aside from the early morning construction taking place outside of my window. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and I enjoyed the overall feel of the hotel. I would stay there again if in the DC area. It is within walking distance to both the White House (approx. 1 mile) and the Convention Center (2 blocks) and significantly cheaper than other hotels in the area. Their amenities are comparable to the more expensive hotels: daily complimentary bottled water, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and mini bar in the room. Most importantly, there were no concerns regarding cleanliness!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oaxaca John
Business
Hood River, Oregon
Jan 25, 2014

Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum we get used to. And to find it at this price was stunning. At least the price was great when I stayed there; I don't know if that's standard. The only problem was that there was construction in the courtyard. I wondered why there were earplugs next to the bed when I arrive. Now I know. But that should be temporary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stash yorkie
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 14, 2014

Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time. We stayed in a parlour room, and though it lacks some modern conveniences, it was a beautiful and comfortable room. The hotel is located right in the heart of DC, walking distance from the White House, the Smithsonian museums, the Capitol building, and more. The restaurant was closed for repairs while we were there and the front desk service is a little slow but they did not detract from our positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Winter Park, FL
Dec 29, 2008

A treasure!

I prefer staying in boutique hotels when I stay in large cities. The Morris-Clark is definitely a top choice for my next visit. The suite was large and clean, the service and staff were truly exceptional, and the location was perfect for getting to area destinations and restaurants. The hotel's own restaurant was very tasty and the staff was friendly and helpful there, too. This historical hotel is certainly a US treasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is within walking distance to shopping, museums, China Town, and restaurants as well as near bus/trolley stops and the Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rdg
Business
Reading UK
Aug 16, 2010

Superb service, great place to stay

On arrival after a difficult journey we discovered that our reservation had never been received by the hotel. The desk staff solved the problem with great courtesy: we were given an upgraded room and were made to feel extremely welcome. I would absolutely recommend the Morrison Clark: a delightful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee/breakfast on the hotel terrace: feel like 19th century gentry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2013

I love this place

This is a great little hotel centrally located in DC. The place was built in the 1800s and is beautifully restored and decorated. The staff and service are excellent. I really enjoyed the breakfast here. The room prices are very reasonable. I'm not sure why this place is not more popular since it is a fantastic value compared to the other very expensive hotels in downtown DC. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro to the convention center exit and it is a very short walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv26
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Aug 24, 2013

Great hotel!

Very nice property! Walking distance to the capital attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top