$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
173 reviews
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum... See full review

  • Oaxaca John
  • Jan 25, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glens Falls
Jun 21, 2008

Good location

Morrison Clark Inn is a long but doable walk from Union Station, north of the White House--an old-world hotel with charming courtyard outside the room. The only distraction was the noisy little fridge--I don't know why hotels think we need them. I couldn't unplug it, since the outlet was behind a huge bureau, so I had to use earplugs to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nearby restaurants. Beck Brasserie, one block south, had nice selection of Belgian beers.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sand H
Hoboken, New Jersey
Apr 15, 2013

Charming hotel and staff

This is a hotel on the National Register of Historic Places and has had a long life. The rooms are small but nicely furnished and the staff is one of the most accomodating we have encountered. We would surely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants within walking distance in a wide range of prices.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Nov 4, 2010

Morrison Clark Inn

In D.C. on business.[...]The staff was friendly. The Inn was cozy and very comfortable. It is a Victorian House so if you want modern slick this is not it.I found it to be a relief from the usual hotel.The door man was alert and helped with cabs. I would go back. It is in a good location and prices are reasonable. Food is above average. Nice quiet feeling in Inn and dinning room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most everything to see is 10 min away by cab. I think with a map and good shoes you could walk to a lot of places.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonn
Business
Peoria, AZ, USA
Oct 28, 2011

A great place to stay for a conference in downtown D.C.

I really enjoyed my stay at this Historic "Inn" in the heart of Washington D.C. The place is old, hence "historic". So, don't expect all bells and whistles in big chain hotels. Yet, the best two things in this place are the staff and the service. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The room service, cleanness, and timely response are very good. So, despite the somewhat small room size ( OK for a couple of individuals, but not a family) with basic amenities (fridge, LCD TV inside the vintage closet, vintage desk and couple of chairs) the room is very comfortable, and the bathroom is well organized and very clean). The location is awesome, very close to Washington CC, and it's Metro station (about 7 min walk), or take a little 10 min walk to Chinatown and enjoy the diverse culture of the city, as well as faster access to different metro lines. Overall, this place is great for a short stay, but don't expect to be luxuriously wowed, which is the basic idea of short value travel. With this in mind, you will have a great D.C. experience, starting from this historic Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy great Vietnamese soup dinner at PH D.C. in china town.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Gables, FL
May 25, 2011

The best part of my trip to DC

I have admired this charming inn from afar the last four times I attended a conference at the Convention Center in D.C. and finally took the plunge to book it albeit it was not one of the hotels recommended by a convention organizer. Although the a/c was a bit chillier than I prefer, it was not uncomfortable (better than a non-working a/c)and the room, bathroom and especially the bed were very comfortable: I was tempted to take an afternoon nap instead of attending one of the conference sessions. The food in the restaurant on the terrace was delicious. The inn is located conveniently near the Convention Center and Metro station. The only slight downsides were slow service at the cashier/concierge and high steps without an elevator to the street level, but I was not greatly inconvenienced by them. I am planning to book TODAY my stay at this hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown and Convention Center

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 6, 2008

Comfortable

The Morrison Clark Inn was comfortable, room was small but the reduced rate was economical. Some of the staff were unprofessional,especially the breakfast cook/waiter, however, many staff members were professional and positive which made our stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleries

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashco
New Jersey, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Quaint Weekend Gataway

A charming little hotel with an old-fashioned feel in comparison to the others in the area. Room was extremely well-kept and tidy at all times. My only complaint would have to be in regard to the hotel's cleaning staff entering the room to clean (without being requested to do so) when we had stepped out for an evening dinner. Guests with cars can expect to pay an additional $30 or so per night to use the hotel's garage. There are strict parking regulations in the surrounding area, so that is essentially your only parking option! Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a unique, quaint overnight getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Traveller
Raleigh, NC
Nov 15, 2010

Hidden gem

We visited our adult children who live in D.C. near the hotel. The hotel was great, a blend of modern amenities and historic charm housed in a distinctively updated former mansion and an addition. It was nice to be in a neighborhood, too, instead of on busy avenues like most of the larger hotels in the city. The front desk was always available and helpful. When we checked in we were in a rush to a scheduled Capitol tour and the manager found us an available room on the garden level. It was quite dark and not very appealing. We called the desk and before we could even say anything he asked if we would prefer another room when available. When we returned from our tour we were settled into a delightful room overlooking the interior garden. We were pleased with everything else over the weekend except the bell sevice. They were inattentive and often unavailable at the door. The hotel was convenient to Logan Circle, Penn Quarter and other active dining entertainment areas. There is a metro stop a few blocks east. Quite a charming little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had not visited the area around the Convention center before. There is a lively district in Penn Quarter with lots of eclectic restaurants and bars, and a diverse array of folks especially when there are games and events at the arena.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TomIrv
Boston, MA
Oct 28, 2013

Funky, historic inn in central DC

Morrison Clark was a great find. It's a few blocks from the Center Metro station and was one of the less expensive options in the area. It's not the fanciest, but it has everything you need. It definitely has some great historic charm, from the ornate lobby furniture to the 6in thick wooden doors everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top