$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 21, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
112 reviews
Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff. See full review

  • Margaret
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until further notice as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: Monday to Friday (7:30 AM to 9:30 AM) and Saturday and Sunday (7:30 AM to 10:00 AM)
  • Valet parking is available for $38 USD/night plus tax

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morro Bay, CA
Jul 31, 2009

Nice place but noisy elevator

I occasionally make short stays in Washington, D.C. for business and decided to try this historic building that's been converted to an inn. When I travel I need a comfortable bed, a clean bathroom, a working TV and a place to rest papers and a laptop computer. The room in which I stayed was missing only the desk/table. The two tiny nighstands just didn't cut it. The room was periodically rocked by the extremely noisy elevator as it roared to life to lift guests to the upper floors. I initially thought the place was haunted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Jaleo, a great Spanish restaurant in the 400-block of 7th Street NW. The wait staff will guide you through their tapas menu. Full dinners also are available. So good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCNFan
Business
Providence, RI
Oct 13, 2009

Decent place, for a decent price.

We stayed two nights for the National Equality March. [...] However, the closer toward the march, the pricier the hotel became. I wouldn't pay more than say $150 night for a room (at least for the small, queen sized room we booked.) The hotel tries to be upscale, but it just doesn't pull it off. As other folks have said, it's really not convenient to any Metro stop so be prepared to walk. However, the hotel staff was quite good and the hotel was exceptionally clean.All of that said, I wouldn't pay a lot, but I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great little, local, neighborhood restaurants all within walking distance. Skip the overpriced hotel restaurant and walk a block or two in either direction!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 12, 2010

Only good thing is location

I stayed there for 1 day. What i dont like:Car parking is not free. Its 36$ per night extra. They didnt mentioned anywhere about this in site. Front-office is not as good as other people working there. What I like: location. 1 mile from National Mall, White house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Its better to take a taxi from hotel to Downtown. It costs only $5 but saves lot of time and energy instead of walking from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nihat
Business
Turkey
Sep 2, 2011

good to stay overnight

arrived late night, warm and friendly night staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you may prefer if you would like spend less for a hotel in town center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, CA.
May 19, 2011

Morrison Clark Inn

Went to DC for daughter's college commencement. Morrison Clark Inn standard rooms were average size, a little disappointed in size of room since we couldn't even go around our bed without closing the armoire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimeInDC
Business
Albany, NY
Oct 27, 2009

was alright, wouldn't recommend

Check in went smooth. We were upgraded to a suite. We were very close to the convention center metro and walked a couple of blocks, the neighborhood is great. When we arrived back at the Inn after discovering Washington for the first time, we had to get to our car which was in valet. A staff member kindly took us outback so we could retrieve a few things, he was very nice. All in all, this Inn works on the basis of "you get what you pay for". You are in the heart of DC for a smaller price than the larger hotels, it's got a classy atmosphere like the other hotels but if you are looking for something economical, I would suggest a motel near the metro instead. As far as the room was concerned, we were upgraded to a suite which worked perfect for the two of us. There was a bedroom with a queen that was off of a seating room large enough for the three person couch, the entertainment center and a desk to set your laptop. I would also suggest bringing your own food, there minifridge selections are quite pricey. I can sense some of you are waiting for the negatives. There was an instance where some of the complimentary lotion fell off the bed and got onto the carpet. I immediately attempted to wipe it up with a damp towel. The clean white towel used to wipe up with pinkish lotion was dark/black when I was done. It appears the carpet wasn't in the best of conditions, I didn't suggest it, but they need to get a carpet washer in there as soon as possible. Needless to say, I walked around with socks on for the rest of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro easily brought us to "The Mall" where we were able to walk around and see all of Wasington's monuments and memorials. It's easy to navigate and is fairly inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Davidmt
Business
Missouri
Jun 16, 2014

2 rooms

I rented two rooms, one for my wife and I, one for my elderly mother and my daughter. Same price for both rooms. Ours was larger and had a couch. Their room was half the size and only had one small bed. I ended up paying extra for a room with 2 beds. But that room had construction going on outside at 7 am. Good thing we weren't in them much. Otherwise a nice quaint old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and dining 1 mile away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danielle t
Business
denver, colorado
Sep 9, 2009

Great Weekend Getaway!

Perfect Location. Only one hiccup... we were unable to confirm our reservation before we got there as we were unable to contact the reservations desk and they never called back, after several messages. When we got there, they did not have our reservation. The staff at reception was extremely helpful and got everything sorted out. Great little place- quaint grand historic mansion, full of character and only blocks from everything- metro stations, the white house, capitol building, a cinema, china town, restaurants... everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

from this hotel you can get to anywhere. great package deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Sep 28, 2009

review of stay at Morrison Clark Inn - D

I attended the Congressional Black Caucus at the Convention center. It was a sort 2 and a half block walk which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Aug 30, 2010

Very friendly servicereally good upgrade

Toured DC with my son. What was missing was an extra day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top