$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
173 reviews
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum... See full review

  • Oaxaca John
  • Jan 25, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 173
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 21, 2007

The Staff was very professional.

The room was very comfortable. THe Bed was the most comforable Hotel bed I have ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The convention center was really close. THe Metro station was really close also which gives you access to all of greater Washington DC.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holmdel
Oct 19, 2008

central location, historic charm

Built in a pair of townhouses, the hotel is very different than the typical chain alternatives. The rooms are small but cozy and full of beautiful period pieces. Easy walk to the mall and the main visitor attractions in central DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurant in hotel, but perhaps not young family friendly Garage parking at hotel reasonable

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 18, 2010

AMAZING, surpassed expectations!

After reading some negative reviews, I was skeptical about what to expect. All that worrying was for nothing because THE HOTEL WAS AMAZING. When I booked the hotel, our room description simply said "Standard Room with Queen bed", but what we got was anything but standard. I'm not sure if we were unknowingly upgraded, but our room was a two room suite!! Our bedroom had 4 beautiful large bay windows and we had a HUGE separate living room, complete with a sofa pull out bed, desk, coffee table, and TV. However, like I previously said, we might have been unknowingly upgraded because according to the other reviews of this hotel, there is no way anyone would complain about this gorgeous two room suite. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff was extremely pleasant and courteous. Having only paid about $100 (incl. taxes) for our Friday night stay in the middle of the summer, we would come back here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carl/diana
saint augustine fl.
Sep 22, 2009

just what we expected

Visited our Rep. John Mica of Florida and took part in the 1.7 million Americans Tea Party Freedom March,Against our out of control Government spending.We missed not allowing for More time to enjoy the history of our country. We had visited Washington D.C. two years before. This trip was much greater but Their is so much more to be seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

was well worth the walks long or short

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Twin Cities MN
Oct 13, 2010

Highly recommended

Loved it. Clean, quiet, and staff was wonderful. I told the Inn that it was my wife's birthday and they exceeded my expectations. A personalized happy birthday sign was in the lobby, and a personalized birthday cake was brought to our room. The staff was very professional and attentive to every detail to help make our stay a very pleasant experience. The Inn is only a few blocks from the Metro. If you are a history buff like me you will be very happy with the Morrison Clark Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Proximity to Metro. We didnt have a meal at the restaurant but based on the birthday cake they made for my wife, I would bet their meals are fantastic.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 3, 2008

Exellent

Location was great. Close enough to the Metro for us to return to the airport using the Metro and MD train system. Within walking distance of things we needed to get to even without the Metro. Hotel itself was very nice. Restaurant, food, beverage service was pleasant but limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the metro which brings everything close

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holmdel
Oct 19, 2008

central location, historic charm

Built in a pair of townhouses, the hotel is very different than the typical chain alternatives. The rooms are small but cozy and full of beautiful period pieces. Easy walk to the mall and the main visitor attractions in central DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurant in hotel, but perhaps not young family friendly Garage parking at hotel reasonable

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 18, 2010

AMAZING, surpassed expectations!

After reading some negative reviews, I was skeptical about what to expect. All that worrying was for nothing because THE HOTEL WAS AMAZING. When I booked the hotel, our room description simply said "Standard Room with Queen bed", but what we got was anything but standard. I'm not sure if we were unknowingly upgraded, but our room was a two room suite!! Our bedroom had 4 beautiful large bay windows and we had a HUGE separate living room, complete with a sofa pull out bed, desk, coffee table, and TV. However, like I previously said, we might have been unknowingly upgraded because according to the other reviews of this hotel, there is no way anyone would complain about this gorgeous two room suite. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff was extremely pleasant and courteous. Having only paid about $100 (incl. taxes) for our Friday night stay in the middle of the summer, we would come back here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carl/diana
saint augustine fl.
Sep 22, 2009

just what we expected

Visited our Rep. John Mica of Florida and took part in the 1.7 million Americans Tea Party Freedom March,Against our out of control Government spending.We missed not allowing for More time to enjoy the history of our country. We had visited Washington D.C. two years before. This trip was much greater but Their is so much more to be seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

was well worth the walks long or short

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv26
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Aug 24, 2013

Great hotel!

Very nice property! Walking distance to the capital attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top