$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
112 reviews
Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff. See full review

  • Margaret
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014
A Victorian mansion located in the heart of Washington, DC; Morrison-Clark is the only inn in the nation's capital to be listed on the Register of Historic Places. Built in 1864 as two separate town homes, this elegant boutique hotel offers modern comforts amidst historic charm. Each of the 54 guest rooms is individually decorated with authentic period furnishings, some with Italian Carrera marble fireplaces. Our meticulous attention to detail extends to our service where each guest receives individual attention to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Washington.

Valet parking is available for $38 USD per night plus tax.

The hotel restaurant is closed until further notice as a result of the hotel expansion.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 112
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oaxaca John
Business
Hood River, Oregon
Jan 25, 2014

Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum we get used to. And to find it at this price was stunning. At least the price was great when I stayed there; I don't know if that's standard. The only problem was that there was construction in the courtyard. I wondered why there were earplugs next to the bed when I arrive. Now I know. But that should be temporary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2013

I love this place

This is a great little hotel centrally located in DC. The place was built in the 1800s and is beautifully restored and decorated. The staff and service are excellent. I really enjoyed the breakfast here. The room prices are very reasonable. I'm not sure why this place is not more popular since it is a fantastic value compared to the other very expensive hotels in downtown DC. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro to the convention center exit and it is a very short walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 18, 2010

Morrison Clark Inn

Sleep, eat breakfast and run. Have stayed here before and always liked it. This time, they upgraded me to a fabulous suite, at no extra cost of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nonprofit conference traveler
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Wonderful value

The service was exquisite. Extremely convenient location to the Convention Center and my conference location, the Renaissance Center. Several blocks to nearest Metro station, but doable, even with luggage. Wonderful respite from sterile, cookie-cutter generic hotel rooms. Room was small, but that really added to the charm. There was a desk to work at, which was all I needed other than a bed. Lovely restaurant on site. The only downside was considerable stairs at the entrance, which was a challenge with luggage. The bell staff tried its best, but with two entrances not in easy view of each other, they couldn't always be there to help. Quiet for the middle of a noisy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noksukow
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Perfect Hotel Choice

I was going to DC, financial district, for training for a week and wanted to stay at a hotel that is not a chain or a big hotel. I wanted to stay at place that is not a typical hotel. This place was more than perfect based on what I wanted. I had free Internet. The price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 28, 2007

A real gem.

The Morrison-Clark Inn was a real gem to find. The staff were very accommodating. We had flown into DC early in the morning and were allowed to check in before the stated check in time. The room was immaculate and comfortable and the daily service of the room was terrific. Everyone we encountered who worked there was very pleasant. More importantly the room was quiet. You couldn't hear noise outside the room or from the adjacent rooms. The air conditioning was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Although we did not take advantage of the on site restaurant, my understanding was that it was quite good. Finally, the location was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1.We were two blocks from Metro Center (DC). 2. Within a short walking distance from the various Smithsonians on the Mall. 3. Several blocks away from the Shakespeare Theatre, the Woolly Mammoth and our favorite restaurant - Jaleos 4. Dupont Circle is several blocks in the opposite direction there you can find decent shops and good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, IL
Aug 11, 2007

Great Value & Location for individuals or family

Friendly staff and a great location for a conference I was attending. Bed was comfortable and as D.C. was going through an intense heatwave, I was pleased to find that the AC was very cool. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient location and esp if you're attending a nearby conference and don't want to be part of the herd at the official location. Large bedroom and bath. Plenty of hot water. Nice soaps and shampoos. CLEAN room. A CVD Drugstore is a half-block away plus coffee places and a couple of small restaurants. Within 3-4 blocks are lots of other food places--including Chinatown. FedEx Kinkos business center is also a short walk from the hotel. Two metro stops are nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The CVS a half-block away has a good assortment of snacks and beverages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 24, 2007

Historical Inn

This inn was very charming. The building has been extensively restored and is exceptionally maintained. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to D.C. The room was huge, and well appointed. Service was timely, and the staff very attentive. I absolutely recommend this hotel. Breakfast was served in the large formal dining area, and was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is located just a few blocks from the National Mall, and just four blocks from the Metro Center. Trains are convenient, cheap and clean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rapid city
May 22, 2008

Change

This hotel is a great change of pace from the staus que you get when you travel, nice little bar and a conveinent location. All other guest seemed professional and pleasant to visit with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Capital and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 8, 2008

Classy

The staff were unfailingly helpful, even with a 1:30am check-in due to flight delays. The room was moderately sized, with an exceptionally comfortable bed and high-end linens. The location in Northwest DC was in more of a business district, but still very convenient to the MetroCenter subway station and easy to drive to/from. The atmosphere is one of classy luxury, with tasteful antiques and decorations. Breakfast was delicious, filling, and only a little pricey for what we got. A great place for a business meeting, or a romantic getaway, particularly in the warmer months when the courtyard is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Splurge at least once at breakfast at the hotel, but if you are hungry and on a budget, walk a few blocks towards the MetroCenter stop to the Hilton on the right - there's a Starbucks and an inexpensive breakfast/lunch counter with plenty of seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top