$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Nov 4, 2010

Morrison Clark Inn

In D.C. on business.[...]The staff was friendly. The Inn was cozy and very comfortable. It is a Victorian House so if you want modern slick this is not it.I found it to be a relief from the usual hotel.The door man was alert and helped with cabs. I would go back. It is in a good location and prices are reasonable. Food is above average. Nice quiet feeling in Inn and dinning room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most everything to see is 10 min away by cab. I think with a map and good shoes you could walk to a lot of places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Traveller
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 15, 2010

Hidden gem

We visited our adult children who live in D.C. near the hotel. The hotel was great, a blend of modern amenities and historic charm housed in a distinctively updated former mansion and an addition. It was nice to be in a neighborhood, too, instead of on busy avenues like most of the larger hotels in the city. The front desk was always available and helpful. When we checked in we were in a rush to a scheduled Capitol tour and the manager found us an available room on the garden level. It was quite dark and not very appealing. We called the desk and before we could even say anything he asked if we would prefer another room when available. When we returned from our tour we were settled into a delightful room overlooking the interior garden. We were pleased with everything else over the weekend except the bell sevice. They were inattentive and often unavailable at the door. The hotel was convenient to Logan Circle, Penn Quarter and other active dining entertainment areas. There is a metro stop a few blocks east. Quite a charming little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had not visited the area around the Convention center before. There is a lively district in Penn Quarter with lots of eclectic restaurants and bars, and a diverse array of folks especially when there are games and events at the arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
urban nomad
Business
urbana, il
May 29, 2011

A pleasant stay

I attended a conference over the course of three days and decided to stay at the Morrison-Clark due to its proximity to the conference venue. The area around the hotel is a strange mix of upscale dwellings and boarded up store fronts. The hotel itself is quite nice: it has a courtyard and a restaurant that serves a limited but good menu of food. The room had an enormous bed, work desk, and a dresser. From the appearance of the thermostat, its last major renovation was the late 1980's, though the widescreen television couldn't have been more than a few years old. There was also a stain on the carpet (ketchup?), which the housekeeper concealed the next day with a judicious shift of the rubbish bin. The fitness room is small, containing a treadmill, a broken stationary bicycle, and freeweights along with a water cooler and television. The business room is adjacent to the fitness room; I did not use it. The only complaint was being so close to the elevator. I would recommend staying in this charming little hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro rail line near by, not too far way from Mt. Vernon Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel and daughter
Business
USA
Jul 29, 2014

Elegant and friendly

As usual, I was very pleased with my stay at the Morrison Clark Inn this week end. The staff is eager to please and so friendly. The space is elegant and clean. It was a pleasure even with the construction going on to expand the hotel. I hope to go back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Broke Grad Student
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Great physical location, but too much construction

I stayed at the hotel due to its close proximity to the convention center. Everything was lovely about the hotel, aside from the early morning construction taking place outside of my window. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and I enjoyed the overall feel of the hotel. I would stay there again if in the DC area. It is within walking distance to both the White House (approx. 1 mile) and the Convention Center (2 blocks) and significantly cheaper than other hotels in the area. Their amenities are comparable to the more expensive hotels: daily complimentary bottled water, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and mini bar in the room. Most importantly, there were no concerns regarding cleanliness!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MP3
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

in for a overnight

very friendly staff welcomed me for a one night stay. They did not have equipment on site for the room to accommodate me as a hearing impaired traveler. Made other arrangements to assure I awoke to catch my flight. Very small room but lovely and fine for a quick stay. great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LauraRVA
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 15, 2014

Something a little different in a convenient location

I picked this hotel because of its convenience to the Verizon Center. It's only about 5 blocks to the Mt. Vernon Square Metro stop, which is one stop from the Verizon Center, or you could walk it in about 20 minutes. The location of our room was not ideal, as they put us in the basement (dark and no view), but the room itself was comfortable. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for renovation, so there was no bar, but they did offer us some complimentary wine prior to leaving for dinner. The hotel itself is small and quaint with beautiful furnishings, and we got a free continental breakfast in the morning. I would stay here again if I wanted to be close to the Verizon Center or Smithsonian. It was on the cheaper side compared to other hotels in the area and was comfortable enough for a one or two night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fado's Irish Pub is a very fun spot across from the Verizon Center with authentic Irish cuisine and a good beer selection. It is one Metro stop away or about a 20 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Occasional D.C. visitor
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Mar 24, 2014

A bit of history

The room is on the small side, but still roomy by most European standards. It was clean and quiet, staff is very cordial. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay but it is fine for 2 people not staying shorter term.It is a pretty good value. History buffs would enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Short walk to White House area, longer walk to Georgetown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelTips
Business
Maryland
Mar 8, 2012

Nice place to stay near Convention Center

Pleasant experience at this hotel. Best suited for folks who prefer a quaint hotel/b&b experience, rather than a large hotel. The best part of this hotel is its proximity to the Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking at hotel is $38/day, but if you are there over the weekend, you can park on the street. Also, there is a good coffee shop around the corner on 10th St. next to the CVS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alil
Business
Wimington, nC
May 28, 2012

Nice location especially if you like old interior

Nice location especially if you like old interior. Staff is caring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top