$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

4 stars
View map of 1011 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alley
Couples
Charleston, SC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great Historic Hotel

The hotel is great for people who do not want to stay in you average place. Our room opened onto a courtyard and was very serene in for being in DC. Close to the Metro and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonn
Business
Peoria, AZ, USA
Oct 28, 2011

A great place to stay for a conference in downtown D.C.

I really enjoyed my stay at this Historic "Inn" in the heart of Washington D.C. The place is old, hence "historic". So, don't expect all bells and whistles in big chain hotels. Yet, the best two things in this place are the staff and the service. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The room service, cleanness, and timely response are very good. So, despite the somewhat small room size ( OK for a couple of individuals, but not a family) with basic amenities (fridge, LCD TV inside the vintage closet, vintage desk and couple of chairs) the room is very comfortable, and the bathroom is well organized and very clean). The location is awesome, very close to Washington CC, and it's Metro station (about 7 min walk), or take a little 10 min walk to Chinatown and enjoy the diverse culture of the city, as well as faster access to different metro lines. Overall, this place is great for a short stay, but don't expect to be luxuriously wowed, which is the basic idea of short value travel. With this in mind, you will have a great D.C. experience, starting from this historic Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy great Vietnamese soup dinner at PH D.C. in china town.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryv
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Reasonable with character

Convenient location, Green/Yellow line 3 blocks away Reasonable for Washington, one-bedroom suite only for $168. Vintage hotel with character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glamorous Tightwad
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great location & price but bare bones amenities

The location and cost was perfect--a few blocks from horrifically expensive convention hotels at a fraction of the cost. This is reason enough for me to recommend the Morrison-Clark happily and plan a return trip for later this year. However, you get what you pay for. Digital antenna television in general did not work, the mini-bar fridge was as loud as a lawnmower, and opening it just to see what the problem was led to an automatic $6 charge (politely taken off with no problem). I know the M-C is aiming for old-timey grandeur, but getting rid of the mini-bar and having some discreet vending machines instead would be a step up and would actually match its true advantages better--a low-cost alternative to convention hotels down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket up 11th for those looking to avoid restaurant prices with some snacks, while Capitol Brewing Co. down 11th has plenty of $10 burgers that were delicious and great micro-brew beers.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garyw02
Family
Georgia
May 22, 2012

Mini Vacation

We enjoyed our vacation very much and our stay at the Hotel. People and food were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmieeMarie
Single
Mississippi
May 22, 2012

Perfect for this conference goer...

With convenience and more character and charm than the other conference hotels near the convention center, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting DC. I had a near perfect stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danieldee
Couples
kansas city
Jul 20, 2012

Close to Convention Center

Average overall experience. Our room was very small. Might return and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway just three blocks away, on other side of Convention Center

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel in a beautiful old building!

This hotel is a beautiful old building in downtown Washington. The room was small more like a European hotel, but nicely furnished and very comfortable. I was in a room on the ground floor, which has a nice private view of the courtyard of the hotel. The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, but I didn't have a chance to try it. It had a good looking The hotel wireless worked great. They have a small, but reasonable exercise room with a only a few pieces of equipment. The closest metro stop is 5 blocks and is a nice walk. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I could get a similar rate of $150 per night (a great price for downtown DC).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restaurant called Tortino, which is only a block away.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat66
Business
roanoke
Aug 29, 2012

very nice

Very nice Hotel. The very nice front desk clerk upgraded me to a small suite. Only complaint was the road noise and you could hear people talking as they walked by outside. An inside room or upper floor might alleviate the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sand H
Couples
Hoboken, New Jersey
Apr 15, 2013

Charming hotel and staff

This is a hotel on the National Register of Historic Places and has had a long life. The rooms are small but nicely furnished and the staff is one of the most accomodating we have encountered. We would surely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants within walking distance in a wide range of prices.

Back to menu Return to top