$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

4 stars
View map of 1011 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
105 reviews
Great staff

Lovely breakfast and complimentary wine in evening. Great staff. See full review

  • Margaret
  • Mar 2, 2015
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014

A restored 19th-century Victorian mansion, Morrison Clark Inn blends historic elegance and contemporary accommodations. Situated close to downtown attractions and sights, Washington DC Convention Center, federal and local government buildings, this full-service hotel is suitable for travelers seeking to explore the culture and history of Washington. Other nearby tourist spots include the Capitol and White House.

This National Register of Historic Places listed hotel features beautifully designed spaces fitted with authentic antique furnishings, Italian Carrera marble fireplaces, and private balconies.

Rooms

Guests at Morrison Clark Inn choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. 

Highlights
  • Close to Capitol Hill, White House and Washington DC Convention Center
  • Minutes from renowned restaurants, nightspots, theaters, museums and other cultural destinations
  • Four blocks from Metro Center and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail stations
Nearby attractions
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until further notice as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • Valet parking is available for $38 USD/night plus tax

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$99
3.9 / 5 454 reviews
★★★
$92
4.0 / 5 191 reviews
★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 144 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.3 / 5 83 reviews
★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 128 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 145 reviews
★★★
$129
4.3 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.2 / 5 482 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 160 reviews

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Rooms feature one queen bed, nightstands with electric plug lamps, a large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a min-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 235 sq ft / 21 sq M.
Superior Deluxe
Superior Deluxe Rooms have one queen or king bed, very spacious room with night stands and electric plug lamps, large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a mini-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 330 sq ft / 30 sq M.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites feature one queen bed, nightstands, with a large sitting area featuring coffee and end tables, bay windows, and a reading chair. Also includes nightstands with electric plug lamps, a large work desk and tabletop light with outlets, armoire containing a min-fridge, laptop size safe, and clothing rack. Complimentary Wifi and wired Internet. Wall mounted flat panel cable TV. Spacious bathrooms with large marble counter space and tile shower. 375 sq ft / 34 sq M.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat66
Business
roanoke
Aug 29, 2012

very nice

Very nice Hotel. The very nice front desk clerk upgraded me to a small suite. Only complaint was the road noise and you could hear people talking as they walked by outside. An inside room or upper floor might alleviate the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oaxaca John
Business
Hood River, Oregon
Jan 25, 2014

Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum we get used to. And to find it at this price was stunning. At least the price was great when I stayed there; I don't know if that's standard. The only problem was that there was construction in the courtyard. I wondered why there were earplugs next to the bed when I arrive. Now I know. But that should be temporary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stash yorkie
Family
Los Angeles
Mar 14, 2014

Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time. We stayed in a parlour room, and though it lacks some modern conveniences, it was a beautiful and comfortable room. The hotel is located right in the heart of DC, walking distance from the White House, the Smithsonian museums, the Capitol building, and more. The restaurant was closed for repairs while we were there and the front desk service is a little slow but they did not detract from our positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rdg
Couples
Reading UK
Aug 16, 2010

Superb service, great place to stay

On arrival after a difficult journey we discovered that our reservation had never been received by the hotel. The desk staff solved the problem with great courtesy: we were given an upgraded room and were made to feel extremely welcome. I would absolutely recommend the Morrison Clark: a delightful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coffee/breakfast on the hotel terrace: feel like 19th century gentry!

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2013

I love this place

This is a great little hotel centrally located in DC. The place was built in the 1800s and is beautifully restored and decorated. The staff and service are excellent. I really enjoyed the breakfast here. The room prices are very reasonable. I'm not sure why this place is not more popular since it is a fantastic value compared to the other very expensive hotels in downtown DC. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro to the convention center exit and it is a very short walk to the hotel.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv26
Couples
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Aug 24, 2013

Great hotel!

Very nice property! Walking distance to the capital attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carl/diana
Couples
saint augustine fl.
Sep 22, 2009

just what we expected

Visited our Rep. John Mica of Florida and took part in the 1.7 million Americans Tea Party Freedom March,Against our out of control Government spending.We missed not allowing for More time to enjoy the history of our country. We had visited Washington D.C. two years before. This trip was much greater but Their is so much more to be seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

was well worth the walks long or short

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Twin Cities MN
Oct 13, 2010

Highly recommended

Loved it. Clean, quiet, and staff was wonderful. I told the Inn that it was my wife's birthday and they exceeded my expectations. A personalized happy birthday sign was in the lobby, and a personalized birthday cake was brought to our room. The staff was very professional and attentive to every detail to help make our stay a very pleasant experience. The Inn is only a few blocks from the Metro. If you are a history buff like me you will be very happy with the Morrison Clark Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Proximity to Metro. We didnt have a meal at the restaurant but based on the birthday cake they made for my wife, I would bet their meals are fantastic.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 18, 2010

Morrison Clark Inn

Sleep, eat breakfast and run. Have stayed here before and always liked it. This time, they upgraded me to a fabulous suite, at no extra cost of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guiltee
Family
Grand Junction, CO
Apr 5, 2010

Excellent - The BEST!!

I am simply so impressd with the staff at Morrison Clark Inn. We could not asked for anything more from the staff. Everything was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MEKJ
Couples
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Sep 20, 2009

Excellent place to stay

I would not have found this place if Orbitz had not suggested it, and I really enjoyed this hotel. It's a simplier experience. They don't have a fitness center or pool, but they have a porch and a courtyard where you can sit outside to visit with friends, or enjoy your cocktails during happy hour. We like to stay downtown in DC, because we enjoy walking to see the sights. The bus and subway were also easily accessible from the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the food in the hotel was reasonable and good. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. I'm not sure if they do this daily, but one afternoon they provided fresh baked cookies and home-made lemonade in the afternoon. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We visited Thompson Boat Center which was a bus ride and then about a mile walk. They had kayaks available, but we opted to rent bikes and then rode the bike path along the Potomac River. Very nice break from the traditional things to do in DC.

Back to menu Return to top