$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
173 reviews
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum... See full review

  • Oaxaca John
  • Jan 25, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 21, 2007

The Staff was very professional.

The room was very comfortable. THe Bed was the most comforable Hotel bed I have ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The convention center was really close. THe Metro station was really close also which gives you access to all of greater Washington DC.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holmdel
Oct 19, 2008

central location, historic charm

Built in a pair of townhouses, the hotel is very different than the typical chain alternatives. The rooms are small but cozy and full of beautiful period pieces. Easy walk to the mall and the main visitor attractions in central DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurant in hotel, but perhaps not young family friendly Garage parking at hotel reasonable

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 18, 2010

AMAZING, surpassed expectations!

After reading some negative reviews, I was skeptical about what to expect. All that worrying was for nothing because THE HOTEL WAS AMAZING. When I booked the hotel, our room description simply said "Standard Room with Queen bed", but what we got was anything but standard. I'm not sure if we were unknowingly upgraded, but our room was a two room suite!! Our bedroom had 4 beautiful large bay windows and we had a HUGE separate living room, complete with a sofa pull out bed, desk, coffee table, and TV. However, like I previously said, we might have been unknowingly upgraded because according to the other reviews of this hotel, there is no way anyone would complain about this gorgeous two room suite. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff was extremely pleasant and courteous. Having only paid about $100 (incl. taxes) for our Friday night stay in the middle of the summer, we would come back here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
COUSBRA
Washigton, D.C
Aug 5, 2009

Awesome!!!

We loved this place!!! The location is perfect because is close to main attractions (walking distance). It's a very cozy place, staff is wonderful and the most important...it's a very clean place. My favorite part was the bed.. I slept like a baby those two nights that we spent there for our family trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for nightclubs or bars Georgetown and DuPont circle have a great variety of them. We like Latin music so we went to Cafe Citron in DuPont circle on Saturday night.Great music!!!

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noksukow
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Perfect Hotel Choice

I was going to DC, financial district, for training for a week and wanted to stay at a hotel that is not a chain or a big hotel. I wanted to stay at place that is not a typical hotel. This place was more than perfect based on what I wanted. I had free Internet. The price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, IL
Aug 11, 2007

Great Value & Location for individuals or family

Friendly staff and a great location for a conference I was attending. Bed was comfortable and as D.C. was going through an intense heatwave, I was pleased to find that the AC was very cool. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient location and esp if you're attending a nearby conference and don't want to be part of the herd at the official location. Large bedroom and bath. Plenty of hot water. Nice soaps and shampoos. CLEAN room. A CVD Drugstore is a half-block away plus coffee places and a couple of small restaurants. Within 3-4 blocks are lots of other food places--including Chinatown. FedEx Kinkos business center is also a short walk from the hotel. Two metro stops are nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The CVS a half-block away has a good assortment of snacks and beverages.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami Beach, FL
Jul 27, 2008

Utter charm with great value

Everything seemed in perfect repair in this charming historic building. My room had a beautiful bed and armoire. The room lacked a table, which would make it harder if I were there for work, however. A gem for the budget-minded traveler with taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli/cafe/quickshop around the corner was fun, cheap and good. For $5.95 the lunch special was smoked chicken sub on fresh French bread with a full glass of Lavazza Italian coffee (or soda). Sat there for great people watching in this multi-cultural neighborhood.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carl/diana
saint augustine fl.
Sep 22, 2009

just what we expected

Visited our Rep. John Mica of Florida and took part in the 1.7 million Americans Tea Party Freedom March,Against our out of control Government spending.We missed not allowing for More time to enjoy the history of our country. We had visited Washington D.C. two years before. This trip was much greater but Their is so much more to be seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

was well worth the walks long or short

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2013

I love this place

This is a great little hotel centrally located in DC. The place was built in the 1800s and is beautifully restored and decorated. The staff and service are excellent. I really enjoyed the breakfast here. The room prices are very reasonable. I'm not sure why this place is not more popular since it is a fantastic value compared to the other very expensive hotels in downtown DC. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro to the convention center exit and it is a very short walk to the hotel.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rapid city
May 22, 2008

Change

This hotel is a great change of pace from the staus que you get when you travel, nice little bar and a conveinent location. All other guest seemed professional and pleasant to visit with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Capital and entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top