$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig K.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel in a beautiful old building!

This hotel is a beautiful old building in downtown Washington. The room was small more like a European hotel, but nicely furnished and very comfortable. I was in a room on the ground floor, which has a nice private view of the courtyard of the hotel. The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, but I didn't have a chance to try it. It had a good looking The hotel wireless worked great. They have a small, but reasonable exercise room with a only a few pieces of equipment. The closest metro stop is 5 blocks and is a nice walk. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I could get a similar rate of $150 per night (a great price for downtown DC).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restaurant called Tortino, which is only a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jan 31, 2011

Great location, good value, historic bld

Very convenient to DC attractions, walking distance to most, very comfortable and quiet room. The boarded up building in the neighborhood mentioned in an earlier review is really a mothballed building next door and other than the fact that it was our view from our 4th floor room it was not an issue. Valet parking is expensive, but the reasonable room rate made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Normally Content Traveler
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 21, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Poorly Managed

We stayed at this lovely hotel as we celebrated our marriage and toured the city during a weekend get-away. The location was a few blocks away from the nearest Metro station(s) and fine dining, so it was convenient for sightseeing. We were greeted by an impromptu relocation to a sister property a few blocks away for the first night of our four-night reservation and the promise of cab fare for the inconvenience (since we had driven to the city, this was pointless). Only after we had asked did the clerk indicate, unapologetically, why we were being moved (he told us that a conference group had overstayed its reservation). The second night we were shown a tiny, standard room (the result of another overbooking). Our stay would have been more enjoyable had they honored the [...] reservation (the Victorian-themed room was indeed comfortable, but it was not a suite).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay for a suite through Orbitz. I would propose booking this hotel directly or selecting only the most basic option. The room service, valet, and housekeeping were perfectly responsive and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Traveller
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 15, 2010

Hidden gem

We visited our adult children who live in D.C. near the hotel. The hotel was great, a blend of modern amenities and historic charm housed in a distinctively updated former mansion and an addition. It was nice to be in a neighborhood, too, instead of on busy avenues like most of the larger hotels in the city. The front desk was always available and helpful. When we checked in we were in a rush to a scheduled Capitol tour and the manager found us an available room on the garden level. It was quite dark and not very appealing. We called the desk and before we could even say anything he asked if we would prefer another room when available. When we returned from our tour we were settled into a delightful room overlooking the interior garden. We were pleased with everything else over the weekend except the bell sevice. They were inattentive and often unavailable at the door. The hotel was convenient to Logan Circle, Penn Quarter and other active dining entertainment areas. There is a metro stop a few blocks east. Quite a charming little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had not visited the area around the Convention center before. There is a lively district in Penn Quarter with lots of eclectic restaurants and bars, and a diverse array of folks especially when there are games and events at the arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gallaudet Visit
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 14, 2010

DC overnight

Super friendly staff; We were even able to check in an hour earlier, which was great because we had been walking around all day with our bags. Room was smaller than chain hotels with plenty of space for 3 of us to sleep since we were out in the city all of the time. I wish I had gotten the man's name working the counter Friday morning when we checked out so I can thank him again for letting us keep our bags there while a friend and I went to Gallaudet and my husband went out the museums. It's in a great location with access to metro in few blocks all directions, or just walk toward downtown on 11 st and go see the White House. All in all, if you're in Dc for a few days this is highly affordable and in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If all else fails and you can't find anywhere to eat while you're out, take the Red metro to Union Station. The basement has a food court with many different options and international foods. Also, US has convenience stores where you can pick up snacks and drinks for while you're out walking around all day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Nov 4, 2010

Morrison Clark Inn

In D.C. on business.[...]The staff was friendly. The Inn was cozy and very comfortable. It is a Victorian House so if you want modern slick this is not it.I found it to be a relief from the usual hotel.The door man was alert and helped with cabs. I would go back. It is in a good location and prices are reasonable. Food is above average. Nice quiet feeling in Inn and dinning room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most everything to see is 10 min away by cab. I think with a map and good shoes you could walk to a lot of places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Oct 30, 2010

Very nice INN

Beautiful decor, friendly staff, clean, within walking distance of most of the sites we wanted to see. Restaruant meals, no light foods. No restaruants close by. Finding american food impossible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take snacks with you!! The food we could find was very expensive and not tasteful!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regular DC Traveler
Business
Jackson, MI
Oct 23, 2010

Past Meets Present @ Morrison-Clark

Walking distance to the DC Convention Center and Ben's Chili Bowl! Surrounding blocks have some of the best architectural home facades in the city. Staff is superb. Managed by the same folks who run the nearby Henley Park Hotel, another DC gem. If you like cosy rooms with character and a bit of history, you'll feel right at home here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers both free wired and wireless Internet access.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Good value for the price

Very pleasant stay, good location, reasonable price, restaurant too pricey, good access to Metro and other tourist destinations. Overall, very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOneQuestionIs
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Great Stay

Everything about this hotel was exceptional. The accommodations were impeccably clean, the rooms are large and beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the process of checking in and out was a breeze. If you like quaint inn-style hotels then you should definitely consider this place. Additionally, it is close to a lot of great restaurants and bars (1/4 mile max to most things), and it isn't more than a decent walk to the national mall and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is quite a bit of restaurant/bar activity in a concentrated area between 7th and 15th street from approximately F to K avenues. It's a large area, but there are well packed streets with a lot to do even in the early morning hours. Don't limit yourself to things around the national mall as they are harder to find and overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top