$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
109 reviews
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Charming place with character

I loved finding a hotel with genuine old-fashioned character instead of the modern sterile pablum... See full review

  • Oaxaca John
  • Jan 25, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noksukow
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Perfect Hotel Choice

I was going to DC, financial district, for training for a week and wanted to stay at a hotel that is not a chain or a big hotel. I wanted to stay at place that is not a typical hotel. This place was more than perfect based on what I wanted. I had free Internet. The price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Traveller
Raleigh, NC
Nov 15, 2010

Hidden gem

We visited our adult children who live in D.C. near the hotel. The hotel was great, a blend of modern amenities and historic charm housed in a distinctively updated former mansion and an addition. It was nice to be in a neighborhood, too, instead of on busy avenues like most of the larger hotels in the city. The front desk was always available and helpful. When we checked in we were in a rush to a scheduled Capitol tour and the manager found us an available room on the garden level. It was quite dark and not very appealing. We called the desk and before we could even say anything he asked if we would prefer another room when available. When we returned from our tour we were settled into a delightful room overlooking the interior garden. We were pleased with everything else over the weekend except the bell sevice. They were inattentive and often unavailable at the door. The hotel was convenient to Logan Circle, Penn Quarter and other active dining entertainment areas. There is a metro stop a few blocks east. Quite a charming little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had not visited the area around the Convention center before. There is a lively district in Penn Quarter with lots of eclectic restaurants and bars, and a diverse array of folks especially when there are games and events at the arena.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gallaudet Visit
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 14, 2010

DC overnight

Super friendly staff; We were even able to check in an hour earlier, which was great because we had been walking around all day with our bags. Room was smaller than chain hotels with plenty of space for 3 of us to sleep since we were out in the city all of the time. I wish I had gotten the man's name working the counter Friday morning when we checked out so I can thank him again for letting us keep our bags there while a friend and I went to Gallaudet and my husband went out the museums. It's in a great location with access to metro in few blocks all directions, or just walk toward downtown on 11 st and go see the White House. All in all, if you're in Dc for a few days this is highly affordable and in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If all else fails and you can't find anywhere to eat while you're out, take the Red metro to Union Station. The basement has a food court with many different options and international foods. Also, US has convenience stores where you can pick up snacks and drinks for while you're out walking around all day.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Nov 4, 2010

Morrison Clark Inn

In D.C. on business.[...]The staff was friendly. The Inn was cozy and very comfortable. It is a Victorian House so if you want modern slick this is not it.I found it to be a relief from the usual hotel.The door man was alert and helped with cabs. I would go back. It is in a good location and prices are reasonable. Food is above average. Nice quiet feeling in Inn and dinning room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most everything to see is 10 min away by cab. I think with a map and good shoes you could walk to a lot of places.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Oct 30, 2010

Very nice INN

Beautiful decor, friendly staff, clean, within walking distance of most of the sites we wanted to see. Restaruant meals, no light foods. No restaruants close by. Finding american food impossible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take snacks with you!! The food we could find was very expensive and not tasteful!!

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regular DC Traveler
Business
Jackson, MI
Oct 23, 2010

Past Meets Present @ Morrison-Clark

Walking distance to the DC Convention Center and Ben's Chili Bowl! Surrounding blocks have some of the best architectural home facades in the city. Staff is superb. Managed by the same folks who run the nearby Henley Park Hotel, another DC gem. If you like cosy rooms with character and a bit of history, you'll feel right at home here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers both free wired and wireless Internet access.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Oct 18, 2010

Elegant, lovely but a bit noisy

The Morrison Clark is well located, a straight shot down 12th to the Mall and most of DCs cultural attractions, at the edge of the downtown area where stately older homes and apartments begin. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the inn itself is beautiful, tastefully decorated, and comfortable. My room was nicely priced, with a balcony, big comfortable bed with carved headboard, fireplace, roomy bathroom, and period furniture. However, on this Saturday night the street noise was very obtrusive. Part of being so close to restaurants and bars is being close to parties of late-night pub-crawlers and a seemingly ceaseless stream of police sirens until approximately 4:30am. It's not the inn's fault, but keep in mind that this might be a noisy neighborhood on weekends. Also parking is at a premium. All in all though it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOneQuestionIs
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Great Stay

Everything about this hotel was exceptional. The accommodations were impeccably clean, the rooms are large and beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the process of checking in and out was a breeze. If you like quaint inn-style hotels then you should definitely consider this place. Additionally, it is close to a lot of great restaurants and bars (1/4 mile max to most things), and it isn't more than a decent walk to the national mall and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is quite a bit of restaurant/bar activity in a concentrated area between 7th and 15th street from approximately F to K avenues. It's a large area, but there are well packed streets with a lot to do even in the early morning hours. Don't limit yourself to things around the national mall as they are harder to find and overpriced.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethlehem, PA
Oct 18, 2010

Good value for the price

Very pleasant stay, good location, reasonable price, restaurant too pricey, good access to Metro and other tourist destinations. Overall, very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Oct 17, 2010

Good value and great location

Rooms were really tight but workable. They need to place the TV in a better location. We had to crane our necks to see it. Room was clean and the hotel is on the national register. Price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Oct 13, 2010

Mostly GOOD but

Not too far from the "Mall", Smithsonian, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't valet park at the Hotel, 3 x the cost of local parking decks

Back to menu Return to top

Change search