$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
1015 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
110 reviews
Wonderful location, setting, and staff!

This is a small jewel in the midst of all the best that DC has to offer visitors. Staff is... See full review

  • Rosy 4 HistoryPolitics
  • Sep 15, 2014
Back in time

The Morrison Clark is a lovely historic hotel. Built in 1865, it is definitely a step back in time.... See full review

  • Stash yorkie
  • Mar 14, 2014
Stylish hotel filled with character in the heart of Washington DC
This charming property in the heart of Washington DC has a little something to offer every guest. Authentic period furnishings perfectly suit the Victorian-era building and complement the historic surroundings. The Morrison Clark Inn restaurant is one of the city's finest, according to several travel guides and rates highly in the Washington Post?s top 50 on a regular basis. Cozy rooms and suites at the Morrison Clark Hotel ensure a relaxing stay. Concierge service and a fitness center are available. Continental breakfast is also available on site.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Centrally located property in the heart of Washington DC, listed on the register of historic places
  • Individually-decorated rooms sport both French country and neo-classical styles with a modern twist
  • On-site restaurant is a local favorite, noted by the Washington Post
Morrison Clark Hotel Rooms
Guests at the Morrison Clark Hotel choose to stay in room or suites. All accommodations have the highest standard of decor and include period furnishings such as armoires. Parlor suites have either a neo-classical style or a French country feel. Rooms include telephones, televisions and en-suite bathrooms. High-speed Internet is available. There are 54 rooms in total, with some enjoying exquisite features such as Italian Carrera marble fireplaces for that added touch of elegance. The Morrison Clark Hotel also offers room service.
Things to Do:
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The White House (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • United States Capitol (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Zoo (4.4 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant is closed until 15 July 2014 as a result of the hotel expansion.
  • All guests will receive complimentary continental breakfast as per this schedule: 
  • Monday to Friday: 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM
  • Saturday and Sunday: 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM
  • Valet parking is available for $33 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9042 -77.0267
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Dulles Int'l Airport Ronald Reagan National Airport
Area description
The Inn's ideal downtown location places it near all local attractions including the Convention Center, National Mall, Smithsonian Museum, monuments, the National Gallery of Art, U.S. Capitol and Union Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morrison Clark Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Morrison Clark Inn Rooms

Standard Room
The Neoclassical rooms are understatedly refined, with clean, uncomplicated layouts in soothing beige and taupe colors schemes. All are furnished with handsome furniture, such as stately armoires and desks.
Parlor Suite
Most of the Parlor Suites are decorated with French country flair, featuring pine armoires, wicker furniture, and attractive quilts. Pastel color schemes and florals subtly accent the comfortable environs. Parlor Suites have two rooms, the bedroom and a separate living area, which also features a sofa bed. Parlor suites are also available in Neoclassical Style.
Victorian Room
Victorian Rooms are exquisitely appointed with turn-of-the-century antiques, chandeliers, and richly hued draperies. Select rooms also feature decorative fireplaces and balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Morrison Clark Inn Restaurant
The Restaurant at The Morrison-Clark Inn has been named one of the city's finest in Conde Nast Traveler, the Zagat Guide, and the DiRoNA Guide, as well as being consistently ranked in The Washington Post's Top 50 list. The carefully chosen wine list has been the recipient of The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence the past five years. Gilded mirrors, Italian marble fireplaces, and lace curtains highlight the Main Dining Room. Executive Chef Richard Thompson will dazzle you with contemporary American cuisine, featuring a menu that changes seasonally. During pleasant weather, guests may enjoy al fresco dining in our lovely, brick courtyard.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Ruby Room at the Morrison-Clark Inn is perfect for your business meeting. Where else can you find an elegant 1864 Victorian room with a 14- foot ceiling, chandeliers, floor to ceiling mirrors, Carrera marble fireplaces, windows and the cuisine of renowned Chef Richard Thompson. The Garden Room is ideal for business retreats, luncheons and dinners for groups of 16-24. This light filled room features floor-to-ceiling windows and a completely private atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat66
Business
roanoke
Aug 29, 2012

very nice

Very nice Hotel. The very nice front desk clerk upgraded me to a small suite. Only complaint was the road noise and you could hear people talking as they walked by outside. An inside room or upper floor might alleviate the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nihat
Turkey
Sep 2, 2011

good to stay overnight

arrived late night, warm and friendly night staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you may prefer if you would like spend less for a hotel in town center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulD
Business
NJ
Sep 2, 2011

Good deal in the heart of Washington, DC

Quaint hotel in a nice location in DC, and the price was excellent. Only issue--drinks in the lounge are quite expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBird
Greenwich, CT 06830, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Charming, but bring your earplugs

This is a charming hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. My son and I were upgraded from a standard room to a Victorian room since we arrived at midnight and all the standard rooms were taken. Our room was very pretty, with a high ceiling and fireplace, and a clean modern bathroom. Unfortunately, as a historic building, the windows were not double glazed so the street noise in the morning was quite loud. I was disappointed there were no black out shades either -- no sleeping late at this hotel! The other drawback is the distance from the metro. While the hotel is centrally located, and close to two Starbucks, it's a good 10-15 minute walk to the metro. However, it is still a really good value -- a very classy hotel, for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Aug 2, 2011

Very nice

This is a very nice little hotel. The staff was all friendly and the room was clean and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is a great little breakfast spot, the Cozy Corner Cafe. They had breakfast with egg, bacon, and toast for under $4.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
urban nomad
Business
urbana, il
May 29, 2011

A pleasant stay

I attended a conference over the course of three days and decided to stay at the Morrison-Clark due to its proximity to the conference venue. The area around the hotel is a strange mix of upscale dwellings and boarded up store fronts. The hotel itself is quite nice: it has a courtyard and a restaurant that serves a limited but good menu of food. The room had an enormous bed, work desk, and a dresser. From the appearance of the thermostat, its last major renovation was the late 1980's, though the widescreen television couldn't have been more than a few years old. There was also a stain on the carpet (ketchup?), which the housekeeper concealed the next day with a judicious shift of the rubbish bin. The fitness room is small, containing a treadmill, a broken stationary bicycle, and freeweights along with a water cooler and television. The business room is adjacent to the fitness room; I did not use it. The only complaint was being so close to the elevator. I would recommend staying in this charming little hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro rail line near by, not too far way from Mt. Vernon Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Gables, FL
May 25, 2011

The best part of my trip to DC

I have admired this charming inn from afar the last four times I attended a conference at the Convention Center in D.C. and finally took the plunge to book it albeit it was not one of the hotels recommended by a convention organizer. Although the a/c was a bit chillier than I prefer, it was not uncomfortable (better than a non-working a/c)and the room, bathroom and especially the bed were very comfortable: I was tempted to take an afternoon nap instead of attending one of the conference sessions. The food in the restaurant on the terrace was delicious. The inn is located conveniently near the Convention Center and Metro station. The only slight downsides were slow service at the cashier/concierge and high steps without an elevator to the street level, but I was not greatly inconvenienced by them. I am planning to book TODAY my stay at this hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown and Convention Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torrance, CA.
May 19, 2011

Morrison Clark Inn

Went to DC for daughter's college commencement. Morrison Clark Inn standard rooms were average size, a little disappointed in size of room since we couldn't even go around our bed without closing the armoire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yenisse
florida
Apr 20, 2011

great for the money

went sightseeing, and lots of museums, restaurant at hotel not recomendable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Jan 31, 2011

Great location, good value, historic bld

Very convenient to DC attractions, walking distance to most, very comfortable and quiet room. The boarded up building in the neighborhood mentioned in an earlier review is really a mothballed building next door and other than the fact that it was our view from our 4th floor room it was not an issue. Valet parking is expensive, but the reasonable room rate made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search