$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

4 stars
View map of 1011 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat66
Business
roanoke
Aug 29, 2012

very nice

Very nice Hotel. The very nice front desk clerk upgraded me to a small suite. Only complaint was the road noise and you could hear people talking as they walked by outside. An inside room or upper floor might alleviate the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nihat
Single
Turkey
Sep 2, 2011

good to stay overnight

arrived late night, warm and friendly night staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you may prefer if you would like spend less for a hotel in town center

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBird
Family
Greenwich, CT 06830, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Charming, but bring your earplugs

This is a charming hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. My son and I were upgraded from a standard room to a Victorian room since we arrived at midnight and all the standard rooms were taken. Our room was very pretty, with a high ceiling and fireplace, and a clean modern bathroom. Unfortunately, as a historic building, the windows were not double glazed so the street noise in the morning was quite loud. I was disappointed there were no black out shades either -- no sleeping late at this hotel! The other drawback is the distance from the metro. While the hotel is centrally located, and close to two Starbucks, it's a good 10-15 minute walk to the metro. However, it is still a really good value -- a very classy hotel, for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
California
Aug 2, 2011

Very nice

This is a very nice little hotel. The staff was all friendly and the room was clean and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is a great little breakfast spot, the Cozy Corner Cafe. They had breakfast with egg, bacon, and toast for under $4.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
urban nomad
Business
urbana, il
May 29, 2011

A pleasant stay

I attended a conference over the course of three days and decided to stay at the Morrison-Clark due to its proximity to the conference venue. The area around the hotel is a strange mix of upscale dwellings and boarded up store fronts. The hotel itself is quite nice: it has a courtyard and a restaurant that serves a limited but good menu of food. The room had an enormous bed, work desk, and a dresser. From the appearance of the thermostat, its last major renovation was the late 1980's, though the widescreen television couldn't have been more than a few years old. There was also a stain on the carpet (ketchup?), which the housekeeper concealed the next day with a judicious shift of the rubbish bin. The fitness room is small, containing a treadmill, a broken stationary bicycle, and freeweights along with a water cooler and television. The business room is adjacent to the fitness room; I did not use it. The only complaint was being so close to the elevator. I would recommend staying in this charming little hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a metro rail line near by, not too far way from Mt. Vernon Square.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Gables, FL
May 25, 2011

The best part of my trip to DC

I have admired this charming inn from afar the last four times I attended a conference at the Convention Center in D.C. and finally took the plunge to book it albeit it was not one of the hotels recommended by a convention organizer. Although the a/c was a bit chillier than I prefer, it was not uncomfortable (better than a non-working a/c)and the room, bathroom and especially the bed were very comfortable: I was tempted to take an afternoon nap instead of attending one of the conference sessions. The food in the restaurant on the terrace was delicious. The inn is located conveniently near the Convention Center and Metro station. The only slight downsides were slow service at the cashier/concierge and high steps without an elevator to the street level, but I was not greatly inconvenienced by them. I am planning to book TODAY my stay at this hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown and Convention Center

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Torrance, CA.
May 19, 2011

Morrison Clark Inn

Went to DC for daughter's college commencement. Morrison Clark Inn standard rooms were average size, a little disappointed in size of room since we couldn't even go around our bed without closing the armoire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yenisse
Couples
florida
Apr 20, 2011

great for the money

went sightseeing, and lots of museums, restaurant at hotel not recomendable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Jacksonville, FL
Jan 31, 2011

Great location, good value, historic bld

Very convenient to DC attractions, walking distance to most, very comfortable and quiet room. The boarded up building in the neighborhood mentioned in an earlier review is really a mothballed building next door and other than the fact that it was our view from our 4th floor room it was not an issue. Valet parking is expensive, but the reasonable room rate made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Frot Wayne, IN
Dec 14, 2010

A beautiful place to stay

The Morrison Clark Inn is beautiful! It is definitely worth the upgrade to stay in one of the Victorian rooms. According to their brochure, they have wireless internet access which was one reason we chose to stay there. However, when we got there we were told that the wireless was in the lobby, and we might be able to get it in our room. I thought that was a bit misleading. We did get wireless in our room, but it was slow and we kept losing the connection. Also, we didn't get our complimentary newspaper. The inn is centrally located, and yet not really close to anything including the metro. Since the weather was nice it wasn't a big deal, but I think it would be more difficult to get around in bad weather. The food in the restaurant was good, and the prices were comparable to what you would pay elsewhere in DC. Overall, I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Normally Content Traveler
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 21, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Poorly Managed

We stayed at this lovely hotel as we celebrated our marriage and toured the city during a weekend get-away. The location was a few blocks away from the nearest Metro station(s) and fine dining, so it was convenient for sightseeing. We were greeted by an impromptu relocation to a sister property a few blocks away for the first night of our four-night reservation and the promise of cab fare for the inconvenience (since we had driven to the city, this was pointless). Only after we had asked did the clerk indicate, unapologetically, why we were being moved (he told us that a conference group had overstayed its reservation). The second night we were shown a tiny, standard room (the result of another overbooking). Our stay would have been more enjoyable had they honored the [...] reservation (the Victorian-themed room was indeed comfortable, but it was not a suite).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay for a suite through Orbitz. I would propose booking this hotel directly or selecting only the most basic option. The room service, valet, and housekeeping were perfectly responsive and friendly.

Back to menu Return to top