$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Morrison Clark Inn

3 stars
View map of 1011 L Street Northwest, Washington D.C., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morrison Clark Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lunchmeat1212
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 22, 2009

Good Time in DC

This is not a place to stay if you are one to spend time in the hotel while on vacation. Small TV, no movies, etc. This is exactly what I was looking for. A nice place to stay that will add to my DC experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn the Metro system if you stay here. You are literally blocks away from a couple of stations and can experience DC without the need of a car.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jack from texas
Business
texas
Jun 11, 2009

will try again when construction is done

Clean and comfortable. Difficult to get to due to construction and one way streets - a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zebie
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, room quality varies.

The hotel was really convenient from the airport to the subway stop nearby. We arrived at the hotel a little early for check-in time and the concierge was very accommodating and the bellhop showed us right to our room. The room he led us to was below ground level and the windows had no curtains, only old paper shades on them. The windows looked right out onto the street and at the time the streets were being worked on. It felt kind of subterranean and at the same time very exposed and the curtainless windows gave it a dingy feeling. Upon asking for another room, we were led up the elevator to the top floor and to a corner room that had and outside entrance, kind of charming like a little veranda, shared with another room. The room was small, but nicely decorated and fairly clean except for the dust collected on the decoration over the bed. Another bit of kind of funky charm was the bathroom. Most of the wall to the left of the bedroom was actually a big old wooden set of double doors the opened to expose the bathroom. Again, it was clean and there was only one towel rack and no light in the shower area. We didn't use the phone. We had read that the charges were outrageous. Nor did we partake of the "Honor Bar", which was well stocked with alcohol as well as non-alcoholic drinks and many tempting eatable treats. The little fridge came in handy however. Overall, the convenience to the Washington Mall and public transportation, the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff all added up to a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the Inn looked intriguing, if expensive, we'd read many great reviews. We waited until our last night there however and neglected to note that it was closed on sunday evening. We did find a great French bistro a few blocks away,called Brasserie Beck, and had a fabulous meal. We paid dearly, but it was well worth it.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holmdel
Oct 19, 2008

central location, historic charm

Built in a pair of townhouses, the hotel is very different than the typical chain alternatives. The rooms are small but cozy and full of beautiful period pieces. Easy walk to the mall and the main visitor attractions in central DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurant in hotel, but perhaps not young family friendly Garage parking at hotel reasonable

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Sep 26, 2008

Take a pass, you won't miss anything.

The reception was confrontational, there was dripping water in the lobby, the room looked like a done over shipping crate, the room carpet was done in easily seen not matching rug material and the promoted wireless only worked if you camped in front of the front desk. Never again. The dining room was great, but the other stuff is too high a price to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2008

Exellent

Location was great. Close enough to the Metro for us to return to the airport using the Metro and MD train system. Within walking distance of things we needed to get to even without the Metro. Hotel itself was very nice. Restaurant, food, beverage service was pleasant but limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the metro which brings everything close

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Jul 27, 2008

Utter charm with great value

Everything seemed in perfect repair in this charming historic building. My room had a beautiful bed and armoire. The room lacked a table, which would make it harder if I were there for work, however. A gem for the budget-minded traveler with taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli/cafe/quickshop around the corner was fun, cheap and good. For $5.95 the lunch special was smoked chicken sub on fresh French bread with a full glass of Lavazza Italian coffee (or soda). Sat there for great people watching in this multi-cultural neighborhood.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glens Falls
Jun 21, 2008

Good location

Morrison Clark Inn is a long but doable walk from Union Station, north of the White House--an old-world hotel with charming courtyard outside the room. The only distraction was the noisy little fridge--I don't know why hotels think we need them. I couldn't unplug it, since the outlet was behind a huge bureau, so I had to use earplugs to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nearby restaurants. Beck Brasserie, one block south, had nice selection of Belgian beers.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rapid city
May 22, 2008

Change

This hotel is a great change of pace from the staus que you get when you travel, nice little bar and a conveinent location. All other guest seemed professional and pleasant to visit with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Capital and entertainment.

Review of Morrison Clark Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 8, 2008

Classy

The staff were unfailingly helpful, even with a 1:30am check-in due to flight delays. The room was moderately sized, with an exceptionally comfortable bed and high-end linens. The location in Northwest DC was in more of a business district, but still very convenient to the MetroCenter subway station and easy to drive to/from. The atmosphere is one of classy luxury, with tasteful antiques and decorations. Breakfast was delicious, filling, and only a little pricey for what we got. A great place for a business meeting, or a romantic getaway, particularly in the warmer months when the courtyard is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Splurge at least once at breakfast at the hotel, but if you are hungry and on a budget, walk a few blocks towards the MetroCenter stop to the Hilton on the right - there's a Starbucks and an inexpensive breakfast/lunch counter with plenty of seating.

Back to menu Return to top