$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
700 F Street NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
52 reviews
Great deal for business

I was in town for a quick two days of business. Needed a hotel close to where I was meeting. Monaco... See full review

  • Sunflower Express
  • Nov 26, 2014
Wonderful stay

We were greeted at the curb when our taxi arrived, The employee brought our bags to the lobby and... See full review

  • Pops and Grandma
  • Sep 7, 2014
Truly classic and sophisticated historic hotel

With a Four Diamond rating, the Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, is one of the most respected hotels in downtown D.C. The building itself is a recognized historic landmark, with an all marble construction featuring classical architectural flourishes such as high ceiling interiors and a marble column frontage. Despite the old world styling, the Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, surprises visitors with a well-contrasted contemporary style interior design in the rooms. As a humorous yet welcoming touch, guests can request a complimentary goldfish to keep them company during their stay.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • AAA Four Diamond rating so guests can expect the highest quality service and experience

  • Hotel situated in a Registered National Landmark building, distinctive classic style with original features

  • In room spa services available to get fully relaxing and luxurious spa treatment without the hassle of traveling

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, Rooms

Keen to make a strong impression on guests, the Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, features some of the most distinctive rooms around. Vaulted high ceilings and panel windows combine with strong colors and modern materials to give this hotel a unique boutique feel among other large luxury hotels. The king or queen deluxe rooms have a generous 250 square foot space and a choice of king sized or queen sized beds. The Monte Carlo rooms are oversized, with King sized beds again perfect for singles and couples. Monte Carlo rooms can also accommodate an extra rollaway bed to bring the guest total to three.


A choice of three suite types is available, offering expanded living facilities, making in-room entertaining a distinct possibility for guests. Each type has its own distinct design, ranging from the warm and cozy Mediterranean Suites to the refined and regal Majestic Suites. High quality dining is available in room for guests using suites, and the onsite restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch for all.

Things to Do:
  • Smithsonian Institute (0.7mi/1.1km)

  • White House (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Washington Monument (1.1mi/1.8km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 325 sq ft Flat panel TV MP3-CD player
Accessible Monte Carlo Guest Roo
Accessible Monte Carlo Guest Room 1 Kg Bd 525 sqft. accessible tub communication features
Majestic King Suite
Spacious top floor one bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 375 sq ft luxurious non-smoking guestroom
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 475 square foot non-smoking guestroom
Monte Carlo Guest Room
Monte Carlo Guest Room with1 King Bed 525 sq ft vaulted 20-foot ceilings
Mediterranean Suite
Mediterranean Suite 610sqft one-bedroom suite feature a separate bedroom with king bed
Robert Mills Suite
Robert Mills Suite 800 sq ft king suite separate living area Fuji-jet soaking tub
Accbl. Mediterranean Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Suite 610 sq ft Communication features
Accessible Monte Carlo Room w Ro
Accessible Monte Carlo Room w Roll In 1 Kg Bd 525 sqft. vaulted 20-foot ceilings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • Newseum: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • Newseum: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.8 mi

Dining

Poste Moderne Brasserie with Chef Dennis Marron
American cuisine that are prepared by the most particular of hands using the freshest of ingredients and the most ecofriendly practices we can employ.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 52
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jul 12, 2009

lame 24 hr room service

planned a late check in and passed on opportunity to eat because of the "24 hour room service." arriving at 12 pm there were only 4 choices on the menu. Hotel could not even accommodate a burger and fries. Room was located in basement with poor window location and no view. employees in "staff only" door across the hall were talking loudly and screaming profanities. staff memeber entered the room to count mini bar while my wife sat on the bed waiting for him to leave. he could have come later and billed us. I usually stay at the W. Hotel when I travel to NYC and took a chance on what appeared to be a nice boutique hotel. the service and ammenities were not even comparable to the W. Maybe it was beacause i booked through orbitz. I deserve my money back. what a waste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom & college student daughter
Business
Maryland, USA
Jul 14, 2013

Great location, small room

You can't find a better location than this, right in the middle of the action in Washington DC. In town for a private event, we also were able to visit National Portrait Gallery, walk along National Mall. However, the price was high (although still lower than at comparable hotels in the area) and the room was very small. A king-size bed fit, but we couldn't both stand next to it at the same time! There was nice beverage service in the morning, but not a single snack. Really, folks, you couldn't have included granola bars or toast? The evening free wine-beer-soft drinks, along with nuts and olives, was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is easily accessible on DC's public transportation system, either Metro or buses. Driving in the area is very difficult, as is parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Griffd
Business
UK
Sep 21, 2013

Good location but significantly overpriced

Decent Washington DC location however, Significantly over priced for what it was. Charging €500 per night even for a Capital City is a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lohensa
Business
Key Biscayne, Florida
Nov 29, 2010

Average but clean

Hotel looks nice and interesting, unfortunately my room decor was so busy it made it difficult to rest, loud yellow, brown, white/black stripe Heavy curtains, busy carpet, small & medium size circles as back bed wall, loud mustard yellow ceilings... :( No chamomile tea nor hot chocolate room service only warm milk, coffee, or caffeinated tea :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown and Great Dim Sum restaurant near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed Nicole
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Jul 3, 2013

Wedding Anniversary

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary & the location was PERFECT! Everything was in close walking distance (i.e., monuments, the White House, a plethora of restaurants & shopping). The staff was very helpful & we were overall satisfied. Our room wasn't very big & didn't have a fridge, but what it lacked in space, it made up for in decor. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourists from FL
Business
Florida
Aug 12, 2013

NO regrets!!!

This was our first time booking through this website to a place we were not familiar with, so we were a little hesitant. However, this was the best thing we could have done. If you are reading this, you were probably like us a few months ago. You may be wondering if we are real people. lol. Well, we sure are. This hotel is in the BEST LOCATION!!! You will not regeret making the decision. The hotel itself is a landmark, therefore, it was an honor staying there and the colors of the decor online look weird, but it is so beautiful in person. We will definitely stay here again. Btw DC transportation are the best! In addition, Overall, our experience was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents escaping
Business
RI
Mar 30, 2014

Exceptional style. Delicious food and very comfy

Location is absolutely perfect. In DC it is great to walk and use the metro, so location can sometimes be less of a priority. We visited on this occasion in the end of March and it poured, very thankful that we were right in the mix. The portrait museum is directly across the street. Poste, the on site restaurant was delicious. Great and breakfast and a Bloody Mary bar, reasonably priced room service and a great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Apr 7, 2010

Excellent Location

Very hard to find. The hotel does not have a very big sign. Hint it looks like a monunment and has a red awing with small white stripes above the steps. We drove past it four times even when I had someone on the phone from the hotel. Location was central to everything. We never had to take public transportation, for what we did. Front desk staff was very gracious. I did ask for the gold fish but never did get one in the room. Oh well, no big deal just seemed like a neat idea for something different. Be aware of the valet men, pay inside, tip only one man. They were out like sharks. The car was fine but it is expensive $34.00 a day. That needs to be considered when the room rate seems great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Y and V
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Sep 28, 2009

Nice Stay

The location of the hotel was perfect for walking to the White House and the monuments. Also a great location for good dining and across the street from a couple of nice museums. Highly recommended for its location and style of rooms and design of hotel. The service was less than adequate and for the price I expected better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaleo was an awesome spanish tapas restaurant. Great food, wine and service. The price was reasonable for what you got. Probably the best dining experience in DC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TobyJMorris
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2014

Great Location and Friendly Staff

We had a great stay and the staff was wonderful. The location is perfect for walking in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit great restaurants in China Town just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top