$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 700 F Street NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Helmand
Business
New York
Jan 7, 2013

Great Location to See People

In the heart of downtown, in the center of the action, Hotel Monaco is the perfect location for drinks, meetings, or even the right place to stay if you're meeting people all over the city. The only complaint could be that the rooms are a little small, though very comfortable. However, the Hotel has great character. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
max2012
Business
stamford , ct
Feb 11, 2013

Weekend trip to DC

Excellent stay. Great central location. Nice comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelKel
Business
Virginia
Apr 5, 2013

Perfect location

Great choice to stay at for a Verizon Center event. When leaving the concert, everyone was pouring into the subway and parking garage and we had a short stroll 200 yards. Very accessible to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycptr
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

A weekend Away!

The town was fully booked due to Cherry Blossom season. Our first night we had a basement queen sized room which was small with basement type windows. I went to the front desk and requested a room change if possible. They accommodated us almost immediately on the top floor with a much roomier queen sized space and called us to make sure that we were happy with our new room and also gave us complimentary round of drinks at the bar restaurant. The service alone would make us return and the downtown location was phenomenal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is right there and also some good shopping. The train is right across the street which and take you close to Georgetown and M street for a full on shopping mecca experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gentleman traveller
Business
Atl
Jun 2, 2013

Location Location Location

You can't beat the location for walking to the museums/capitol. The room was gorgeous but it might be time for a new mattresses. Kid friendly and the staff was great. The complimentary happy hour was aggressive but located in the hotel is Poste. This restaurant was a great place to relax and unwind. Also, proximity to Chinatown, restaurants, theaters, movies, bowling and shopping make this the must place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great way to start the day is around the corner at Lincolns waffel house. Sit at the bar, enjoy the crowd and we loved the blueberry pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catail
Business
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Jun 19, 2013

A few minor glitches

I have stayed here many times. Nice little touches, like a yoga mat on the floor. But this time I experienced a few glitches: the bath tub did not properly drain, there was difficulty in flushing the toilet, and the mini-bar refrigerator died. However, they brought a second refrigerator and put it in the room immediately. Staff was excellent. I will definitely stay again and hope these issues will be resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for Washington museums and Mall attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tumbleweeds
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Jul 8, 2013

Great location, great character

The Monaco has old world charm, great interior design features (love the lounge areas and eclectic hallways) and a very good, if pricey, restaurant. The location couldn't be better for walking to the white house and national mall. Very close to Chinatown and the metro, so incredibly cool and convenient surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a mile to the white house and the mall, so perfect for touring the main DC monuments and Smithsonian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed Nicole
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Jul 3, 2013

Wedding Anniversary

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary & the location was PERFECT! Everything was in close walking distance (i.e., monuments, the White House, a plethora of restaurants & shopping). The staff was very helpful & we were overall satisfied. Our room wasn't very big & didn't have a fridge, but what it lacked in space, it made up for in decor. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent traveler from Ks
Business
Kansas
Jul 24, 2013

great location, unique venue

Located in a nationally historic building, Monaco is an interesting place, with modern and unique furnishings, free wine hours and cookies at the front desk. Coffee and the morning papers are available in the "living room"/ lobby for guests. There are free bicycles for scouting out the neighborhood. The bar has a great happy hour and there is outdoor seating when the weather is nice. Very close to most of the sites to visit in D.C. and within several blocks of dozens of fantastic restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some great new places, such as Del Campo with South American offerings and great food deals in the bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay Tee 2013
Business
Florida
Jul 28, 2013

True DC look and feel

Took my family to see the sights and sounds of DC. The old architecture and feel of the Monaco set the stage perfectly. Made us feel as if we were in a wing of the White House. Location would be hard to beat. Only critique thought it be a little cleaner but nothing really negative. The two room suite was ideal for the family. Would definitely visit again. Love DC and the Monaco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top