$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
700 F Street NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
51 reviews
Wonderful stay

We were greeted at the curb when our taxi arrived, The employee brought our bags to the lobby and... See full review

  • Pops and Grandma
  • Sep 7, 2014
Amazing Summer

Very comfortable and quiet stay. Staff friendly, helpful, and very pleasant. I loved my stay. Area... See full review

  • Cinnamon Summer
  • Jul 19, 2014
Sophisticated stylish warm and inviting describe the newly renovated downtown luxury Monaco Washington DC a Kimpton Hotel located within walking distance of the National Mall. Set in an historic all marble building that is a Registered National Landmark this completely restored luxury boutique hotel has emerged as the discerning travelers choice among downtown Washington DC hotels. Surrounded by the goings on of our nations capital outside and a vibrant setting inside the luxury Monaco Washington DC caters to the savviest of travelers accustomed to world class service. With services expected of a perennial AAA four diamond luxury hotel found only in the best Washington DC hotels the Monaco features 183 luxuriously appointed guest rooms set in the classic ambiance of an historic landmark. Every room indulges the senses featuring the original vaulted ceilings or segmented arched ceilings and beautiful fabrics and furnishings that are a mix of traditional designs and modern colors.

Hotel Map

38.8973 -77.0219
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S; Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 325 sq ft Flat panel TV MP3-CD player
Accessible Monte Carlo Guest Roo
Accessible Monte Carlo Guest Room 1 Kg Bd 525 sqft. accessible tub communication features
Majestic King Suite
Spacious top floor one bedroom suite
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 375 sq ft luxurious non-smoking guestroom
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 475 square foot non-smoking guestroom
Monte Carlo Guest Room
Monte Carlo Guest Room with1 King Bed 525 sq ft vaulted 20-foot ceilings
Mediterranean Suite
Mediterranean Suite 610sqft one-bedroom suite feature a separate bedroom with king bed
Robert Mills Suite
Robert Mills Suite 800 sq ft king suite separate living area Fuji-jet soaking tub
Accbl. Mediterranean Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Suite 610 sq ft Communication features
Accessible Monte Carlo Room w Ro
Accessible Monte Carlo Room w Roll In 1 Kg Bd 525 sqft. vaulted 20-foot ceilings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • Newseum: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • Newseum: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.8 mi

Dining

Poste Moderne Brasserie with Chef Dennis Marron
American cuisine that are prepared by the most particular of hands using the freshest of ingredients and the most ecofriendly practices we can employ.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 51
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhiteHallAP
Business
Pine Bluff, AR
Jul 6, 2014

Best of Both Worlds

In one direction, this hotel is within an easy walking distance to the National Mall, monuments, Smithsonian, and US Capitol; in the other direction you can be in the food and entertainment zone of gallery place/china town in only a few steps. And if metro rail is your preferred means of travel, the gallery place station is out the front door and across the street. For history buffs, it is fun to stay in this historic building that used to be the Tariff office and also served as a hospital for wounded union soldiers during the civil war. The soaring ceilings and marble hallways are enough to set your imagination free. On top of all the history, luxurious amenities have been added and are fine if you are into that, but at some point, you have to concede that you are still spending the night in what used to be a government office building. Our bathroom door was a sliding pocket door with no lock, so if you are staying with a business partner, beware. The A/C seemed to have a hard time cooling the room with its huge ceilings. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was amazing. They offer a 5 dollar a day voucher if you decline housekeeping services. Which we did because we don't care for folks coming in with our stuff anyway. Hotel has bar and restaurant on site but it is more economical to ease down to all the eating places in the neighborhood. Also, there is a convenient corner store nearby with all your basic needs. (Sodas that don't cost six dollars each, etc.) We had a great time. I would think this hotel would be best suited for adult travelers, as children might become board with this particular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to the corner store on the first evening or morning of your stay and stock up on a case of cola and some bread, muffins, and other snacks. It's nice to have the non ten dollar dessert or breakfast item in the room with you all week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelKel
Business
Virginia
Apr 5, 2013

Perfect location

Great choice to stay at for a Verizon Center event. When leaving the concert, everyone was pouring into the subway and parking garage and we had a short stroll 200 yards. Very accessible to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HG here and there
Business
VA
Feb 18, 2013

Great Location Quiet Room

Excellent location for the activities we had planned. The hotel staff was helpful and understanding when we asked for a different room (I wanted a bathtub and the first room, very large, only had a large shower). We were disappointed that the bar was so crowded we could not find a place to get a light meal .... but I guess that is a sign of how popular the hotel has become. I would recommend this hotel -- especially if you can get a bargain rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
max2012
Business
stamford , ct
Feb 11, 2013

Weekend trip to DC

Excellent stay. Great central location. Nice comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2007

Close to the Verizon Center

The Hotel Monaco gave us a small room. They provide only a king size bed so they weren't family friendly. The king size bed took up much of the space. There was a narrow hall like space and at the end was a desk with no space to either side of the desk. The room did not have any windows but had large drapes from ceiling to floor to cover the fact. They had a nice bathroom and the Hotel was convient to the Verizon Center but I wouldn't stay there again. It was not a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top