$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 700 F Street NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
63 reviews
Great location, historic building

Great location. Walking distance from museums and restaurants. Beautiful historic building with... See full review

  • laudermom
  • Jul 26, 2015
Comfy short stay

I was in DC for a workshop and chose the hotel for its proximity to my class. I was not... See full review

  • Nancy K.
  • Jul 17, 2015
Sophisticated stylish warm and inviting describe the newly renovated downtown luxury Monaco Washington DC a Kimpton Hotel located within walking distance of the National Mall. Set in an historic all marble building that is a Registered National Landmark this completely restored luxury boutique hotel has emerged as the discerning travelers choice among downtown Washington DC hotels. Surrounded by the goings on of our nations capital outside and a vibrant setting inside the luxury Monaco Washington DC caters to the savviest of travelers accustomed to world class service. With services expected of a perennial AAA four diamond luxury hotel found only in the best Washington DC hotels the Monaco features 183 luxuriously appointed guest rooms set in the classic ambiance of an historic landmark. Every room indulges the senses featuring the original vaulted ceilings or segmented arched ceilings and beautiful fabrics and furnishings that are a mix of traditional designs and modern colors.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
1 Queen Bed 325 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Robert Mills Suite
Monaco premier suite 1 king bed 810 Sq. Ft
Accbl. Mediterranean Suite
1 King Bed 610 Sq. Ft Living Room Communication features
Accessible Monte Carlo Room w Ro
1 King Bed 525 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Accessible Monte Carlo Guest Roo
1 King Bed 525 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling. accessible tub communication features
Premier Queen
1 Queen Bed 325 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 375 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Premier King
1 King Bed 375 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Double Double Deluxe Room
2 Double Beds 475 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Monte Carlo Guest Room
1 King Bed 525 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Premier Monte Carlo Guest Room
1 King Bed 525 Sq. Ft Vaulted Ceiling
Mediterranean Suite
1 King Bed 610 Sq. Ft Living Room
Majestic King Suite
1 King Bed 875 Sq. Ft Dining Table for 6

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • Newseum: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • Newseum: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.8 mi

Dining

Poste Moderne Brasserie with Chef Dennis Marron
American cuisine that are prepared by the most particular of hands using the freshest of ingredients and the most ecofriendly practices we can employ.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon T.
Business
N/A
May 27, 2015

Great Trip

We just spent Memorial Day Weekend at Hotel Monaco in DC. The hotel is fabulous, staff courteous, and customer service outstanding. They have a wine reception every evening, and a great restaurant downstairs. The metro in right outside the door. We will definitely be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Mari
Business
South Amboy
May 26, 2015

Relaxing trip

It was a nice trip. Hotel was centrally located which made it easier to find many places to eat in walking distance and to catch sight seeing buses. Staff was very nice and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob T.
Business
CLINTON
Mar 24, 2015

great location but small room

The location is superb: very near the National Mall, good restaurants, theater, and shopping. The hotel staff was great and the room was fine, though quite small: bed, desk with one chair, and not much floor space. It was awkward to have the shower and sink separated from the toilet area. So if you're going to spend much time in the room, and if you're going to spend this much money anyway, you might want to spend a bit more and get a Monte Carlo room or one of their suites. Join the hotel's loyalty program to get free wi-fi, but for any other benefits of the program you have to book with the hotel directly, not via a travel site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David C.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Anniversary Trip

We were in town to visit the sites of our Capital. The walk was nice to reach the National Mall and Metro was conviently located for further traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
william h.
Business
brick
Dec 31, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Husband and I decided to getaway. ..couldn't of picked better place...it was right in the middle of the hustle and bustle, it was a hit of a walk but we didn't mind it at all....The hotel was great and front desk was very helpful with directions. All and all we had a great Lil getaway. ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Branna
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2014

Great location

Didn't spend too much time in the hotel outside of our room and even that was minimal because our hotel was so close to everything we wanted to do! Subway stop across the street took us to the zoo, two blocks from the national mall and smithsonian museums, also able to walk to union station and the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a night tour of the monuments so cool too see then lit up at night and u get some historical information from the guide!

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pops and Grandma
Business
Lafayette, IN
Sep 7, 2014

Wonderful stay

We were greeted at the curb when our taxi arrived, The employee brought our bags to the lobby and waited while we checked in and then he took us to our room. Our room was on the fourth floor and it was well decorated and very quiet. All the personnel were very helpful in giving us directions to different places to see and places to eat. This hotel is within walking distance to museums and the Smithsonian. We used a Hop on Hop off bus to move around the city. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find all price levels nearby.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Weekend Tourist
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 2, 2014

fantastic long weekend getaway

We arrived earlier than the check-in time and our room was ready -- great start! The room was very spacious, well decorated, comfortable bed & furnishings and the hairdryer was powerful and hot. Location -- great; Close to a couple of Metro stations & many museums & restaurants. The icing on the cake was the free morning coffee and the "wine hour" in the evening. The staff was extremely accommodating and courteous. The courtesy umbrella in the room came in very handy, too. They seemed to think of everything that we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Friday (or possibly every weekday) during lunchtime, there are over half a dozen food trucks parked less than a block away from the hotel.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. Gilbert
Business
Richmond Virginia
Jun 30, 2014

Fantastic location for all activities

Wonderful stay from our room being ready early to our departure. Gracious and attentive staff with many amenities from wine tasting, wi-fi, and fabulous on site restaurant. Well appointed and exceptionally comfortable room. Across the street from the National Portrait Gallery and less than 4 blocks from the National Mall and the National Gallery of Art. And a short cab ride from the Kennedy Center. Our short weekend getaway was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pre theater dinner was incredible and a great bargain

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TobyJMorris
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2014

Great Location and Friendly Staff

We had a great stay and the staff was wonderful. The location is perfect for walking in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit great restaurants in China Town just a block away.

Back to menu Return to top