$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 700 F Street NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drtom
Business
Boston
Feb 8, 2012

Fantastic location

rooms have 15 foot ceilings in country's first federal post office. My 3rd stay there. Really a fun place to stay. Very good restaurant located in hotel. Across from the National Gallery of Art and the Verizon Sports Arena. Junos is a good tapas restaurant also across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
escape52
Business
pittsburgh pa
Oct 23, 2014

very professional

the hotel was totally professional and most enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Branna
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2014

Great location

Didn't spend too much time in the hotel outside of our room and even that was minimal because our hotel was so close to everything we wanted to do! Subway stop across the street took us to the zoo, two blocks from the national mall and smithsonian museums, also able to walk to union station and the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a night tour of the monuments so cool too see then lit up at night and u get some historical information from the guide!

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pops and Grandma
Business
Lafayette, IN
Sep 7, 2014

Wonderful stay

We were greeted at the curb when our taxi arrived, The employee brought our bags to the lobby and waited while we checked in and then he took us to our room. Our room was on the fourth floor and it was well decorated and very quiet. All the personnel were very helpful in giving us directions to different places to see and places to eat. This hotel is within walking distance to museums and the Smithsonian. We used a Hop on Hop off bus to move around the city. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find all price levels nearby.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Weekend Tourist
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 2, 2014

fantastic long weekend getaway

We arrived earlier than the check-in time and our room was ready -- great start! The room was very spacious, well decorated, comfortable bed & furnishings and the hairdryer was powerful and hot. Location -- great; Close to a couple of Metro stations & many museums & restaurants. The icing on the cake was the free morning coffee and the "wine hour" in the evening. The staff was extremely accommodating and courteous. The courtesy umbrella in the room came in very handy, too. They seemed to think of everything that we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Friday (or possibly every weekday) during lunchtime, there are over half a dozen food trucks parked less than a block away from the hotel.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ptyof5
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2014

Great location

Hotel is very close to the best attractions and restaurants, but far enough to "get away" from it a little. Rooms are a bit small so beware. We scrunched 5 into a one bedroom suite. Wine reception at 5pm each day is nice..but very loud in the entry way. Bellmen are very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

use Opentable to get restaurant reservations. Dozens of restaurants very close by.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaprikaT
Business
Williamsburg
Aug 4, 2014

so close to Spy museum

Just an overwrite for a party at Spy Museum. What fun. Met interesting people at wine happy hour. Design touches at hotel were modern with a classical background. Cool. Everyone was nice. Coffee was good and strong the next morning. Parking is expensive plan $35-45 per 24 hours. g.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking behind Spy Museum is cheaper than valet at hotel.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinnamon Summer
Business
Hawaii
Jul 19, 2014

Amazing Summer

Very comfortable and quiet stay. Staff friendly, helpful, and very pleasant. I loved my stay. Area was very convenient and I would love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to eat just outside the door!

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhiteHallAP
Business
Pine Bluff, AR
Jul 6, 2014

Best of Both Worlds

In one direction, this hotel is within an easy walking distance to the National Mall, monuments, Smithsonian, and US Capitol; in the other direction you can be in the food and entertainment zone of gallery place/china town in only a few steps. And if metro rail is your preferred means of travel, the gallery place station is out the front door and across the street. For history buffs, it is fun to stay in this historic building that used to be the Tariff office and also served as a hospital for wounded union soldiers during the civil war. The soaring ceilings and marble hallways are enough to set your imagination free. On top of all the history, luxurious amenities have been added and are fine if you are into that, but at some point, you have to concede that you are still spending the night in what used to be a government office building. Our bathroom door was a sliding pocket door with no lock, so if you are staying with a business partner, beware. The A/C seemed to have a hard time cooling the room with its huge ceilings. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was amazing. They offer a 5 dollar a day voucher if you decline housekeeping services. Which we did because we don't care for folks coming in with our stuff anyway. Hotel has bar and restaurant on site but it is more economical to ease down to all the eating places in the neighborhood. Also, there is a convenient corner store nearby with all your basic needs. (Sodas that don't cost six dollars each, etc.) We had a great time. I would think this hotel would be best suited for adult travelers, as children might become board with this particular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to the corner store on the first evening or morning of your stay and stock up on a case of cola and some bread, muffins, and other snacks. It's nice to have the non ten dollar dessert or breakfast item in the room with you all week!

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Postrider
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 1, 2014

Good DC hotel

The Monaco is a revision of the classic Greek Revival Central Post office of the first part of the 19th century. It is right across the street from the National Portrait Gallery and only about 2 blocks from the National Archives. The Capitol is about a 15 minute walk. The old building is nicely adapted; the room is nice, not large and not elaborate, but perfectly adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice breakfast in restaurant but no bargain.

Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. Gilbert
Business
Richmond Virginia
Jun 30, 2014

Fantastic location for all activities

Wonderful stay from our room being ready early to our departure. Gracious and attentive staff with many amenities from wine tasting, wi-fi, and fabulous on site restaurant. Well appointed and exceptionally comfortable room. Across the street from the National Portrait Gallery and less than 4 blocks from the National Mall and the National Gallery of Art. And a short cab ride from the Kennedy Center. Our short weekend getaway was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pre theater dinner was incredible and a great bargain

Back to menu Return to top