$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Best hotel experience I can remember

The Madera is really a class act. The staff is so friendly, the room was immaculate, and the... See full review

  • Stevie K
  • Dec 8, 2014
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

06. BUNK
Description not provided
Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 76
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FamilyTrip2013
Business
Illinois
Aug 10, 2013

Family Getaway

Very happy with the hotel. Newly renovated. Clean. Convenient to public transportation. Walking distance to almost every attractions. It will be even more perfect if the hotel parking fee is less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
Sep 14, 2009

LOVED THIS HOTEL & THE LOCATION!!!

THIS LOCATION IS THE GREATEST!! VERY SAFE AND THE SERVICE WAS TOP RATE...I HAVE STAYED IN 5 STAR HOTELS BEFORE THAT CAN'T EVEN BEGIN TO COMPARE WITH THIS SERVICE. THE ROOM WAS VERY LARGE..ROOM 401 AND IT HAD 2 QUEEN BEDS THAT WERE A DREAM COME TRUE TO SLEEP IN. YOU CAN WALK ANYWHERE FROM HERE AND FEEL SAFE AT ANYTIME OF THE DAY OR NIGHT. WINE SERVED AT 8PM AND ALSO MILK & COOKIES EACH NIGHT AT 10:30!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THERE ARE SOME GREAT RESTURANTS VERY CLOSE BY...THE FRONT PAGE HAS GREAT FOOD, THE FIRE FLY IS LOCATED IN THE HOTEL AND IS ALSO GOOD. MY FAMILY AND I WALKED EVERWHERE ...ALL THE WAY TO THE CAPITOL AND WHITE HOUSE...IF YOU DON'T MIND A LONG WALK YOU CAN ENJOY ALL THE SHOPS ON THE WAY..TAKE N STREET RIGHT OUT THE DOOR AND HEAD TO CONSTUTION AVE...LOTS OF SHOPS AND JUST ENJOY THE WALK! OR BETTER YET..TAKE THE METRO JUST 1 BLOCK FROM THE HOTEL..VERY SAFE AND GREAT WAY TO GET AROUND THE TOWN FOR ONLY 1.39!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asher04
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 31, 2012

Great Location

The location is perfect if you don't like to stay in downtown DC which seems to be pretty dead during the weekends. The hotel is in walking distance (about 20 min) to White House/National Mall and Georgetown. But I would advise taking the circular/bus if available. The only thing I didn't like is the valet parking ($40 plus tax) for overnight parking. You can actually park on the street or find a nearby parking spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park somewhere else or park on the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
evanston IL
Aug 6, 2009

very good experience

We were in DC visiting family and sightseeing...2 nights, 3 days. I booked one room, even tho we were travelling with two teenage boys. Before we checked in it occurred to me that I had been having a serious "wishful thinking" moment when I booked only one room for the four of us. We decided to live with it for the first night and if we need to get another room for night #2, we'd do it. When we opened the door to our room we were pleasantly suprised. It was very spacious with two generous queen sized beds and a full size sofa. As were really only used the room for sleeping it worked for us. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. The neighborhood's central location worked well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
Mar 7, 2010

Serengeti in DC

The rooms are clean and quiet, the animal motif bathrobes and boxers fun and funny, the mini bar extensive and certainly not great value but that's no suprise, and the staff friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1stTrip
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2012

Birthday Getaway

This particular hotel is a great location. The first hotel staff we encountered were less than helpful. When I reported our frustrations other staff members did they best to ensure our needs were met. We requested another room because the room smelled like dirty carpet. This is an older hotel but the decorations appear to be more modern. I believe staff needs to pay particular attention to how carpet, etc is cleaned. In addtion, all staff members should be trained for guest who are not knowledgeable about the location/vacation area. I just was not prepared for the type of service I received various the amount of money I spent. I could have stayed at a Super 8 and perhaps received the same treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe name Luna. This cafe has is nice, clean and affordable meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebwrite
Business
NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great Room- Ok Hotel

We booked this room late after passing up better deals from the Palomar and other better hotels. The first impression was - no lobby- really just a front desk- and the carpet in the foyer was worn and dirty looking. I was afraid to see the room after this but the room was quite large with two queen beds and a balcony. The bathroom was so small that the sink and vanity were outside of it. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However, this is not a special hotel- it is a serviceable basic room, no frills stay. The ultra modern/art deco look of the hotel only accentuated the fact that the hotel was rundown- as opposed to the Palomar (where we went for drinks), which was also ultra modern, but fun and more luxe. Overall, I do prefer a traditional or classic type of hotel and maybe that is shading my opinion but we didn't love the hotel and didn't love Dupont Circle, which was very commercial. That said, it was a good stay and we enjoyed D.C. We just would select another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed the fresh seafood at the SW harbor. It's not fancy and there are no tables- you sit wherever you can- it is basically a fresh fish market and they cook the food while you wait. But the seafood is great- crabs, shrimp, lobster, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1st time to DC
Business
Calgary, Ab
Jun 9, 2013

Couldn't wait to check out

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Orbiz.com and found it was rated a 4 star. We checked in after driving in from New York at approx midnight. We were poorly greeted by reception i could not understand what the front desk lady was saying because she kept covering her mouth when she spoke to us a party of 8. With that we were going to be charged valet for 2 cars because there were not anymore parking options. We had luggage for 8 and kept waiting for the porter then finally had to carry our own bags upstairs, which was a total hassle. We have stayed at kimpton hotels before and the treatment was far superior. we found this kimpton was what seemed like a apartment conversion, our reservation was messed up 2 rooms were not given balconies, and the front desk did not seem in anyway helpful other then telling up "our reservation did not include it" also we were supposed to have wifi included in our stay and again was told "it is not included" forwarding to the next morning we woke up to a jack hammer on the front street at 7am then afar a shower my parents & aunt with uncle were staying in room 409 - 408 and came knocking at my door telling me that there is a dumpster at their back window, also the supposed valet parking paid for parking the vehicles at the back of the hotel which can be seen past the dumpster. After this we check out the same day and moved into a proper 4 star hotel closer to the white house. I would NOT recommend staying in the hotel ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

anything you want to see is closer to E street & Penn Ave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top