$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Great business home away from home

Room large, clean, updated & had what I needed. Staff friendly & helpful, bringing extra desk chair... See full review

  • Steve the walker
  • Mar 10, 2015
Great Hotel! We Would Love to Return Again Soon.

My fiance and I were having a really tough travel day that ended up actually pouring over into the... See full review

  • orbitztravelerreview
  • Feb 3, 2015

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Highlights
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Nearby attractions
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$135
4.4 / 5 250 reviews
★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 62 reviews
★★★★
$102
3.8 / 5 434 reviews
★★★★
$161
4.2 / 5 330 reviews
★★★★
$117
4.1 / 5 413 reviews
★★★★★
$127
4.3 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$109
4.1 / 5 218 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 72 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.0 / 5 163 reviews

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

06. BUNK
Description not provided
Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmik
Couples
Portland, OR
Nov 18, 2012

Great location

So close to metro, great bars, and restaurants. They also host an hour long wine hour for guests in the evening - it was a nice way to unwind after traveling. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 28, 2008

Wonderful community place

The Hotel Madera is in a great location. Close to the Metro and nice shops. The hotel was fun, small and comfortable. Every evening at wine tasting, many guests would meet to share their day and offer sites and things to enjoy. The pet friendly policy was very fun. For guests and the pets. We also had a fabulous front desk staff, who treated us as family. The rooms were nicely appointed and had internet, very comfortble bed and pillows. Would stay again if in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle seems to be neiborhood like with a lot of locals. The food was great at all the restuarants we tried.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gadsden
Dec 17, 2008

very nice place

Our room was very nice and modern. We had a sofa,chairs, coffee table and a desk. The room was quite large and in a nice location. We were not very far from restaurants, shopping and the subway. The people working there were very helpful and polite. Plenty of storage room. We liked it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 23, 2008

Very Pet Friendly

The entire staff made our stay memorable. They went out of their way to accommodate us. On check-in there was a sign welcoming our pets. The wine in the evening and cookies at night was above and beyond what was expected. I highly recommend this property to anyone with or without pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Falls Church
Oct 17, 2008

Nice get away hotel

Had a quick trip at the Hotel Madera. My first stay. It was a nice get away hotel in DC close to Metro, Georgetown, and other attractions. In a safe location. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was upscale but still comfortable. Parking is by valet only and takes a several minutes to get your car back. Comfortable bed. Had a balcony room and enjoyed an adult beverage watching the fall sunset in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask about the great breakfest / brunch place just off DuPont Circle.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington DC
Jul 19, 2009

This is the best hotel I ever had!

I went there with my boyfriend, the location is exactly at the heart of DC, just 1 minute away from the dupont circle metro. I like the hotel because of it's great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimpton lover
Couples
Wallingford, CT
Aug 2, 2011

Amazingly unique hotel

The hotel had a great atmosphere. The staff and location were amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dupont circle area has a lot to offer

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CTJF
Couples
Lancaster, PA
Mar 3, 2009

Welcoming...

I must give accolades to all of the staff for great service. My partner and I felt very comfortable with our surroundings. What a perfect compliment to this boutique hotel. With that being said, the hotel is in a great location of DC and close to the Metro which will take you to all of the sights. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is very close and easy to use. Parking is at a prime in the DC area. Let the car parked at the hotel and use mass transit. Not only will you save the enviroment, but you will save money. Less than $8 for a day pass.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orlando, FL
Apr 22, 2007

Great Dupont Circle/DC location

The Hotel Madera was in a great location, just two blocks off of DuPont Circle. The room was large with a nice outdoor balcony. The appointments were art deco in style. The headboard was in a beautiful dark blue fabric resembling velvet and the furniture was all in a deep dark wood. There was a very comfortable seating area with a couch and a chair which had a nice floor lamp for reading. There was also a desk with adequate plugins and an internet hookup for laptop users. The vanity area was a nice size with a separate toilet/shower area separated by a door. They provided cool animal print plush terrycloth robes which you could also purchase if you wished. In the evening, guests were invited to the nightly wine tasting featuring wines of the world which was complimentary and served in the lobby area. The restaurant, Firefly provided excellent meals, which we sampled for dinner and Sunday brunch. The staff was friendly and efficient and we would definitely recommend Hotel Madera to our friends and would also gladly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dupont Circle offers a plethora of dining choices. Also, attractions are within walking or metro distance.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas
Jun 9, 2008

Very nice

We like to be close to Dupont Circle whenever we go to DC. This hotel is very close to the Metro. We were very pleased overall. The only negative was the small size of our bathroom. All in all, it was a great value; We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top