$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
75 reviews
Best hotel experience I can remember

The Madera is really a class act. The staff is so friendly, the room was immaculate, and the... See full review

  • Stevie K
  • Dec 8, 2014
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

06. BUNK
Description not provided
Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 4, 2011

Great

The staff and accomodations were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Mar 3, 2011

Can't beat the location

The hotel is in the Dupont Circle area so it is close to all kinds of excitement as well as 2 blocks from the Dupont Metra station. The room was very nice, bed was comfortable. Very cozy hotel only 10 room on the floor (at least the 7th floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

M Street cafe was very reasonable priced and the food was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HowieL
Business
Coral Springs, Florida
Jun 22, 2014

A great small hotel

Wonderful experience. Small hotel. Great staff. No fitness center but they use one 5 minutes away another property. Ill stay there next time without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Tripper2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Good Location

Pretty standard/good stuff from this hotel. Only bad thing was that I ordered room service one night and it was inordinately expensive and tasted horrible :X

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of stuff within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sidney M
Business
Richmond, VA
Nov 4, 2012

Serviceable hotel

If you're a business traveler looking for a place to stay that is in close proximity to downtown Washington DC, then this is not a bad place to stay. The rooms are clean, if a bit small, and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is also one very small block from Dupont Circle, so the convenient location is a decided plus. You have many restaurants that open late into the night within walking distance and if you feel like going further, the nearest metro station is also only a very short walk away. My main quibble is that with the price I paid for the room, I could easily stayed in one of the larger, brand-name hotels. True, on the surface the nightly rate for Hotel Madera is much lower, but if you factor in the cost of parking, then any savings gained by the lower rate becomes eroded. Parking near Dupont Circle is a big hassle, if not nearly impossible, on a weekend; so you have the choice of either driving around for hours or utilize the hotel's overnight parking service, which is a whopping $41 per night. And when you add the $7.35 parking tax to the bill, you end up paying almost $50 extra for one night. So if you are a business traveler flying into town for a day or 2 on business, this hotel would be good value for your dollars. Otherwise, there are much better options town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rcarr
Business
Roanoke, va
Jan 3, 2013

Convenient location but not quiet

Room was large, clean, and comfortable. Bathroom was very small. Staff was friendly and helpful. However, the hotel elevator was very noisy every time It went up or down. We requested another room but were told this was heard in every room. It vibrated throughout the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Salt 1
Business
ST. Louis, MO
Dec 13, 2010

PHM Trip 12/7-9/10

This hotel was similar to several others that I have stayed at in DC. It was comfortable, a little small, and the shower did not work properly. It went from very hot to very cold and was not ever in the comfort zone. I told the person when I checked out and he ignored it. Otherwise, it was a good hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2010

Boutique Hotel, Questionable Pratices

The location was where we wanted, for the most part. Our first time in Georgetown and the hotel was just off Dupont Circle and a lot of good attractions. The only real problem was with the reservation - I reserved a King Balcony Room. At first they put us on the 2nd floor in a Double Queen Balcony room. I went back downstairs to the desk and told them the reservation was for a King Balcony - and asked if we could be higher than the 2nd floor. So I was given a new key for a room on the 6th floor (out of 10 - barely an improvement) and we went in to find a King, no balcony. I gave up and refused to go back down a 3rd time to the reception desk, as we just wanted to get our things put down and start our weekend. Suspect at best.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Know before you go - a lot of "clubs" around the area, and lots of lines and crowds waiting outside. Know where some smaller venues, bars, lounges are before you go if you don't want the hastle and noise of a "club"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shella16
Business
charlotte
Nov 4, 2014

it not very bad...

I arrived at Madera at midnight on beginning of November 2014. The receptionist was very cheerful but she could not find my reservation and ask her manager to help her. The manager, she came, no smiling, no "hello, welcome.. We say" hello" but she did not say anyhting... She just try to solve problem. I don like her behavior. I except happier, more cheerful reception manager. The room is clean and big. However, although hotel is expensive, there is no coffee maker in the room. There should be at least a coffee maker to get hot drinks in the room in cold nights. Staffs in the restaurant section are cheerful, talkative. you can get everything on time. You dont wait too long to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it is close to dupont metro station. so, you can go where ever you want from dupont M.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1stTrip
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2012

Birthday Getaway

This particular hotel is a great location. The first hotel staff we encountered were less than helpful. When I reported our frustrations other staff members did they best to ensure our needs were met. We requested another room because the room smelled like dirty carpet. This is an older hotel but the decorations appear to be more modern. I believe staff needs to pay particular attention to how carpet, etc is cleaned. In addtion, all staff members should be trained for guest who are not knowledgeable about the location/vacation area. I just was not prepared for the type of service I received various the amount of money I spent. I could have stayed at a Super 8 and perhaps received the same treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe name Luna. This cafe has is nice, clean and affordable meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top