$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
120 reviews
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Family Getaway

Very happy with the hotel. Newly renovated. Clean. Convenient to public transportation. Walking... See full review

  • FamilyTrip2013
  • Aug 10, 2013
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
Executive Queen Queen
Executive Queen Queen 500 sq ft separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Beds 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9076 -77.0458
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 45.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
Sep 14, 2009

LOVED THIS HOTEL & THE LOCATION!!!

THIS LOCATION IS THE GREATEST!! VERY SAFE AND THE SERVICE WAS TOP RATE...I HAVE STAYED IN 5 STAR HOTELS BEFORE THAT CAN'T EVEN BEGIN TO COMPARE WITH THIS SERVICE. THE ROOM WAS VERY LARGE..ROOM 401 AND IT HAD 2 QUEEN BEDS THAT WERE A DREAM COME TRUE TO SLEEP IN. YOU CAN WALK ANYWHERE FROM HERE AND FEEL SAFE AT ANYTIME OF THE DAY OR NIGHT. WINE SERVED AT 8PM AND ALSO MILK & COOKIES EACH NIGHT AT 10:30!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THERE ARE SOME GREAT RESTURANTS VERY CLOSE BY...THE FRONT PAGE HAS GREAT FOOD, THE FIRE FLY IS LOCATED IN THE HOTEL AND IS ALSO GOOD. MY FAMILY AND I WALKED EVERWHERE ...ALL THE WAY TO THE CAPITOL AND WHITE HOUSE...IF YOU DON'T MIND A LONG WALK YOU CAN ENJOY ALL THE SHOPS ON THE WAY..TAKE N STREET RIGHT OUT THE DOOR AND HEAD TO CONSTUTION AVE...LOTS OF SHOPS AND JUST ENJOY THE WALK! OR BETTER YET..TAKE THE METRO JUST 1 BLOCK FROM THE HOTEL..VERY SAFE AND GREAT WAY TO GET AROUND THE TOWN FOR ONLY 1.39!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surprise AZ
Oct 24, 2009

Hotel Madera

Staff friendly and helpful, great location near Dupont Circle, one block from Metro station. A very pleasant hotel. Excellent food in the Firefly restaurant was overshadowed by the excessive noise for happy hour and dinner. We will stay in the hotel again but will not eat dinner there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nightlife and dinning at Dupont Circle.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudy and Cali's Dad
New York
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent value

Our daughter was in the hospital and we were looking for a nice reasonable place in walking distance and Kimpton hotels all have a botique feel with great stafss and good value and the Madera was perfect.. The room we chose was spacious. What you don't get is a gym a lobby or fast elevators, what you do get is an at home feel with a great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pesce

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asher04
Pittsburgh
Jul 31, 2012

Great Location

The location is perfect if you don't like to stay in downtown DC which seems to be pretty dead during the weekends. The hotel is in walking distance (about 20 min) to White House/National Mall and Georgetown. But I would advise taking the circular/bus if available. The only thing I didn't like is the valet parking ($40 plus tax) for overnight parking. You can actually park on the street or find a nearby parking spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park somewhere else or park on the street

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mass
Mar 7, 2010

Serengeti in DC

The rooms are clean and quiet, the animal motif bathrobes and boxers fun and funny, the mini bar extensive and certainly not great value but that's no suprise, and the staff friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SandiLC
cleveland, oh
Feb 20, 2013

lovely newely renovated room

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, very nice and spacious. Good location near Dupont Circle and Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Brooks
Washington, DC
Mar 29, 2011

White Wedding

My wife and I stayed here the night before and after our wedding. We were having pro photos and wanted a nice backdrop to get ready and a central location close in proximity to our ceremony site. The lobby is small, and in order to get to the elevator, you must go down a hall and pass by doors to the Firefly restaurant kitchen. Clanging dishes, the smell of cooking food. Not what I want to see or hear as I enter my hotel. I felt like I was about to clock in to work a shift…"order up!". The elevator was in need of a good wipe down and mop. It smelled a bit mildewy, NOT good first impressions. Made me very nervous about the room on my way up. The room and furnishings were very clean and nice, and well kept. Comfortable size for two people, however Kimpton group may want to reevaluate the bathroom layout. Our room had a TINY room with the toilet and tub in it, you could barely turn around. You almost needed to stand in the tub or on the toilet to close the door. The sink was outside in its own separate area. Also, funny fact: this setup is a tad unsanitary when you use the toilet and then are forced to touch the door handle to go to the sink (eww). Also, there was no fridge in the room that we could access. We think there was a mini bar locked in a cabinet, we were not given a key or asked if we wanted one (shrug, oh well). Housekeeping made up our bed beautifully, BUT only replenished some of the towels. We didn't have washcloths the second day, no biggie because we brought our own loofahs anyway. And I'm sure that if we had asked someone we would have gotten some. The staff were very polite. Whomever was at the front desk spoke to us every time we passed by whether going in or out. Check in and Check out were very painless. Oh yeah, and those robes…gave us a good giggle. Although, they were not as plush as I anticipated, felt more like wearing a rug or a tapestry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Bloomfield, Mich.
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, excellent service

Service was excellent, helpful,friendly staff. Room was very nice, spotless, spacious,comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We needed to be in Dupont Circle so the location was perfect. Lots of restaurants, shops in walking distance.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Chic hotel, but reasonable rates

The Hotel Madera is a stylish, comfortable hotel in one of the most walkable, enjoyable neighborhoods in Washington D.C. The lobby is very chic, but welcoming, as is the hotel restaurant, the Firefly. Our room was very nice, with an extremely comfy bed and furnishings. The room refrigerator, however, did not keep things cold, and the bathroom was a little too small. Our view, unfortunately, was of the parking space behind the hotel. But we enjoyed the helpful staff, and complimentary wine tasting in the evening in the lobby. Overall, it was a very nice experience and a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby Dupont Cirlce has a beautiful fountain, which serves as a gathering spot for the neighborhood's eclectic residents. The restaurants just beyond the circle include tastes from many countries, and some interesting shopping.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BenFt.L
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

Congressional Swearing In Ceremonies

For the rate, this was a steal. The rooms were large and comfortable and well appointed. It was quiet. The restaurant was excellent, and the front desk staff was helpful, attentive, and courteous. Really a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top