$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Surprise AZ
Oct 24, 2009

Hotel Madera

Staff friendly and helpful, great location near Dupont Circle, one block from Metro station. A very pleasant hotel. Excellent food in the Firefly restaurant was overshadowed by the excessive noise for happy hour and dinner. We will stay in the hotel again but will not eat dinner there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nightlife and dinning at Dupont Circle.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
grand rapids
Jul 28, 2011

nice little getaway

nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Apr 4, 2011

Great

The staff and accomodations were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Mar 3, 2011

Can't beat the location

The hotel is in the Dupont Circle area so it is close to all kinds of excitement as well as 2 blocks from the Dupont Metra station. The room was very nice, bed was comfortable. Very cozy hotel only 10 room on the floor (at least the 7th floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

M Street cafe was very reasonable priced and the food was GREAT!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pennsylvania
May 5, 2011

2 day vacation!

the Hotel Bar and Restaurant was expensive but geat...especially drink..one of the best Martini's I've ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Jun 3, 2009

Great Location...Good Room.

Great location near Dupont Circle and a metro stop. Also easy to get a cab or to get around by car from there. Great modern decoration, wine and beer happy hour, milk and cookies at night. Some rooms in the front on the lower floors may be noisy. No on-site fitness or pool if you need these amenities. 'Snack Rooms" are guest rooms with a kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ventura C
Apr 11, 2011

Fantastic Location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff was superior in their service to their guests. Requests were taken care of promptly and accurately. Our room was reminiscent of hotels we stay in when we are in Europe. We enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The hotel was located just far enough from the hectic mall area that constitutes spring break. It was very quiet and restful. We would highly recommend this hotel to others. In past trips the newer hotels aren't as warm and homey as we found this one to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Brooks
Washington, DC
Mar 29, 2011

White Wedding

My wife and I stayed here the night before and after our wedding. We were having pro photos and wanted a nice backdrop to get ready and a central location close in proximity to our ceremony site. The lobby is small, and in order to get to the elevator, you must go down a hall and pass by doors to the Firefly restaurant kitchen. Clanging dishes, the smell of cooking food. Not what I want to see or hear as I enter my hotel. I felt like I was about to clock in to work a shift…"order up!". The elevator was in need of a good wipe down and mop. It smelled a bit mildewy, NOT good first impressions. Made me very nervous about the room on my way up. The room and furnishings were very clean and nice, and well kept. Comfortable size for two people, however Kimpton group may want to reevaluate the bathroom layout. Our room had a TINY room with the toilet and tub in it, you could barely turn around. You almost needed to stand in the tub or on the toilet to close the door. The sink was outside in its own separate area. Also, funny fact: this setup is a tad unsanitary when you use the toilet and then are forced to touch the door handle to go to the sink (eww). Also, there was no fridge in the room that we could access. We think there was a mini bar locked in a cabinet, we were not given a key or asked if we wanted one (shrug, oh well). Housekeeping made up our bed beautifully, BUT only replenished some of the towels. We didn't have washcloths the second day, no biggie because we brought our own loofahs anyway. And I'm sure that if we had asked someone we would have gotten some. The staff were very polite. Whomever was at the front desk spoke to us every time we passed by whether going in or out. Check in and Check out were very painless. Oh yeah, and those robes…gave us a good giggle. Although, they were not as plush as I anticipated, felt more like wearing a rug or a tapestry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Waldorf, MD
Mar 2, 2010

Very modern

Small but very modern and nicely decorated rooms in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to lots of dining, nightlife, and Metro(subway).

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia
Mar 15, 2010

Great location and service

Spacious room with balcony, less than two blocks from Dupont Circle. One small downside was a fair amount of street noise early in the morning. Unobtrusive service; friendly staff. Restaurant on the ground floor was obviously popular and a nice setting for a nightcap. Complimentary wine, good morning coffee and tea, and selection of papers were all nice touches. We also appreciated the hotel's commitment to conserve resources -- e.g., a dedicated wastebasket for recycled paper, soap and shampoo in shower dispensers, etc. Definitely would stay at the Madera again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top