$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve the walker
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great business home away from home

Room large, clean, updated & had what I needed. Staff friendly & helpful, bringing extra desk chair for colleague who worked with me on a snow day. Restaurant exceeded expectations. Fresh coffee in lobby was very good (no coffee maker in room that made it OK). Will not hesitate to rebook. Steve, Boulder, CO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 23, 2008

My review of Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel

The hotel was quiet and sort of boho chic with large rooms, offering excellent value. It was convenient to the Metro as well as Georgetown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepster70
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 9, 2012

Great location, value, and service!

Great location, value, and service! Staff is very welcoming and quick to respond to needs. Close walk to DuPont Circle Metro, very easy to get around. Rooms are nice and large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boxcarwaiting
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Jul 14, 2012

Great stay, one complaint

Everything was great. Room was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly. My only complaint was that there wasn't a coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head on up towards DuPont Circle. There's tons of great restaurants. I ate @ a place called Tomate, which was excellent.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asher04
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 31, 2012

Great Location

The location is perfect if you don't like to stay in downtown DC which seems to be pretty dead during the weekends. The hotel is in walking distance (about 20 min) to White House/National Mall and Georgetown. But I would advise taking the circular/bus if available. The only thing I didn't like is the valet parking ($40 plus tax) for overnight parking. You can actually park on the street or find a nearby parking spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park somewhere else or park on the street

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cityexplorer
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 13, 2012

great weekend

I really enjoyed my weekend stay. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was really comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was the valet parking. I had trouble finding a parking spot in front of the hotel so that my car could be picked up by the valet and ended up circling the hotel a few times. It was a minor annoyance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef Jon
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Dec 10, 2012

Decent hotel great location

The hotel was a nicely appointed, nothing spectacular. the location on the other hand was really perfect, within walking or metro distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudy and Cali's Dad
Business
New York
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent value

Our daughter was in the hospital and we were looking for a nice reasonable place in walking distance and Kimpton hotels all have a botique feel with great stafss and good value and the Madera was perfect.. The room we chose was spacious. What you don't get is a gym a lobby or fast elevators, what you do get is an at home feel with a great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pesce

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candy47
Business
Port Republic, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Great New Year's Stay

My husband and I had a great visit to The Madera in DC. The location is close to many restaurants and a couple Metro stops. The Phillips Gallery is close by. Our room was on the 8th floor and had beautiful views. A large window provided lots of natural light. The bed was comfy. The room was clean. I had plenty of space to practice yoga. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was our second stay, and we will return. Parking was a challenge, however. It cost close to $100 with taxes to park for just two nights. This was through the hotel. I was not aware of the parking costs when I booked the hotel. I would have appreciated more straight forward information on the website about parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BenFt.L
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Jan 13, 2013

Congressional Swearing In Ceremonies

For the rate, this was a steal. The rooms were large and comfortable and well appointed. It was quiet. The restaurant was excellent, and the front desk staff was helpful, attentive, and courteous. Really a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top