$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 22, 2007

Great Dupont Circle/DC location

The Hotel Madera was in a great location, just two blocks off of DuPont Circle. The room was large with a nice outdoor balcony. The appointments were art deco in style. The headboard was in a beautiful dark blue fabric resembling velvet and the furniture was all in a deep dark wood. There was a very comfortable seating area with a couch and a chair which had a nice floor lamp for reading. There was also a desk with adequate plugins and an internet hookup for laptop users. The vanity area was a nice size with a separate toilet/shower area separated by a door. They provided cool animal print plush terrycloth robes which you could also purchase if you wished. In the evening, guests were invited to the nightly wine tasting featuring wines of the world which was complimentary and served in the lobby area. The restaurant, Firefly provided excellent meals, which we sampled for dinner and Sunday brunch. The staff was friendly and efficient and we would definitely recommend Hotel Madera to our friends and would also gladly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dupont Circle offers a plethora of dining choices. Also, attractions are within walking or metro distance.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Jun 9, 2008

Very nice

We like to be close to Dupont Circle whenever we go to DC. This hotel is very close to the Metro. We were very pleased overall. The only negative was the small size of our bathroom. All in all, it was a great value; We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Very clean and comfortable bed

The room was very clean. It was a nice walk to the white house and monuments. Very close to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Liked the bookstore close by. Afterwards cafe. It was opened late and the food was good.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Mar 13, 2011

Perfect hospitality

Perfect location, perfect room and perfect people...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

Great boutique hotel

I travel often, and the Hotel Madera was as good as a 4-star hotel can get. It has very large rooms (we had a queen deluxe with two queen beds), high grade linens, classy and funky decore, and free Internet access in the room (my own laptop). There was even a balcony which overlooked the charming street. The restaurant is marvelous -- not typical hotel fare. It is obviously a popular place to eat for many persons in the DuPont Circle area. This is a great boutique hotel within easy walking distance of many DC attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many ethnic food restaurants in the DuPont Circle area. Whether you like Italian, Indian, French, Mexican, or Thai food, you can find your taste buds satisfied within walking distance of the Hotel Madera.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mellowmani1
Business
NY, NY
Sep 7, 2009

great!

I was very impresssed with this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the amenities superb. Friendly staff as well. Perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northeastern Connecticut
May 9, 2009

Great location, great hotel

We like small boutique hotels, and this one is just the kind of place we like to stay, in a quiet neighborhood but not too far from places we want to go. The staff was friendly, the hotel was quiet, the room was clean, and the price was right. The hotel is a few blocks from Dupont Circle so you're close to the wealth of restaurants along Connecticut Avenue and also to the Metro if you want to go anywhere else in the city. We arrived by train at Union Station and took the Metro to the hotel area without having to change lines. Then we took a walking tour to the Kalorama area where there are numerous embassies and also many beautiful homes. We passed the house where Taft lived and the Wilson House where Wilson lived for his three remaining years after his presidency. The next day we went back to tour the Wilson house, now a National Trust museum; it's just as Wilson left it. If you're in the area, don't miss this fabulous museum. For the rest of our stay, we took the metro to the museums and areas we wanted to check out or re-check. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevie K
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 8, 2014

Best hotel experience I can remember

The Madera is really a class act. The staff is so friendly, the room was immaculate, and the location cannot be beat. I got a great price on the room through an online booking site package deal so it was also a really good value. The morning coffee and happy hour wine was also a nice perk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ping Pong Dim Sum is a great spot for dinner- make sure you have a reservation though! They get booked up fast!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orbitztravelerreview
Business
Chicago
Feb 3, 2015

Great Hotel! We Would Love to Return Again Soon.

My fiance and I were having a really tough travel day that ended up actually pouring over into the wee hours of the morning. It wasn't until after midnight that we finally checked into our hotel - the Madera. Michele at the check-in counter was someone that I will never forget! I couldn't believe how kind, patient and accommodating she was, not only to us, but to other people who were actually not kind to her. To us, she was the light at the end of the tunnel. Our hotel room was extremely comfortable. We loved all of the amenities and the breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. Thank you all so much for making our night so much better. We will be sure to return to the Madera on our next trip to Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Figure out where you are going to park ahead of time if you are driving or have a rental car.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve the walker
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great business home away from home

Room large, clean, updated & had what I needed. Staff friendly & helpful, bringing extra desk chair for colleague who worked with me on a snow day. Restaurant exceeded expectations. Fresh coffee in lobby was very good (no coffee maker in room that made it OK). Will not hesitate to rebook. Steve, Boulder, CO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top