$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
120 reviews
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Family Getaway

Very happy with the hotel. Newly renovated. Clean. Convenient to public transportation. Walking... See full review

  • FamilyTrip2013
  • Aug 10, 2013
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
Executive Queen Queen
Executive Queen Queen 500 sq ft separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9076 -77.0458
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 45.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mister Tim
Business
Chicago IL
Nov 22, 2013

Nice Location, Bad Plumbing

This hotel is in a convenient part of DC but my room had several plumbing problems. The toilet bowl was badly cracked and was leaking water on the floor. In addition, the toilet handle was broken and when flushed water ran and ran. Finally, shower and tap water was not hot, just lukewarm. The room had some pretty unimportant things in it like a yoga mat, but did not have a coffee maker, which I did not discover until I got up at 5:00 AM and had no coffee. This hotel needs to have better maintenance and amenities to be worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1st time to DC
Calgary, Ab
Jun 9, 2013

Couldn't wait to check out

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Orbiz.com and found it was rated a 4 star. We checked in after driving in from New York at approx midnight. We were poorly greeted by reception i could not understand what the front desk lady was saying because she kept covering her mouth when she spoke to us a party of 8. With that we were going to be charged valet for 2 cars because there were not anymore parking options. We had luggage for 8 and kept waiting for the porter then finally had to carry our own bags upstairs, which was a total hassle. We have stayed at kimpton hotels before and the treatment was far superior. we found this kimpton was what seemed like a apartment conversion, our reservation was messed up 2 rooms were not given balconies, and the front desk did not seem in anyway helpful other then telling up "our reservation did not include it" also we were supposed to have wifi included in our stay and again was told "it is not included" forwarding to the next morning we woke up to a jack hammer on the front street at 7am then afar a shower my parents & aunt with uncle were staying in room 409 - 408 and came knocking at my door telling me that there is a dumpster at their back window, also the supposed valet parking paid for parking the vehicles at the back of the hotel which can be seen past the dumpster. After this we check out the same day and moved into a proper 4 star hotel closer to the white house. I would NOT recommend staying in the hotel ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

anything you want to see is closer to E street & Penn Ave

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy with Hollywood
massachusetts
Mar 27, 2011

Not great.

The room was located next to a housekeeping closet. As the night wore on we started to smell fumes possibly coming from the closet. We would have switched rooms but it was late so we moved to the bed further away from the closet. It helped a little. The hotel was pet friendly so it had an odor to begin with. We also tried sleeping with the balcony door open but the street was very loud. Next time in dc I would stay at a larger chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly was good. Small portions.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebwrite
NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great Room- Ok Hotel

We booked this room late after passing up better deals from the Palomar and other better hotels. The first impression was - no lobby- really just a front desk- and the carpet in the foyer was worn and dirty looking. I was afraid to see the room after this but the room was quite large with two queen beds and a balcony. The bathroom was so small that the sink and vanity were outside of it. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However, this is not a special hotel- it is a serviceable basic room, no frills stay. The ultra modern/art deco look of the hotel only accentuated the fact that the hotel was rundown- as opposed to the Palomar (where we went for drinks), which was also ultra modern, but fun and more luxe. Overall, I do prefer a traditional or classic type of hotel and maybe that is shading my opinion but we didn't love the hotel and didn't love Dupont Circle, which was very commercial. That said, it was a good stay and we enjoyed D.C. We just would select another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed the fresh seafood at the SW harbor. It's not fancy and there are no tables- you sit wherever you can- it is basically a fresh fish market and they cook the food while you wait. But the seafood is great- crabs, shrimp, lobster, etc.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stranded in DC
Business
Southern California
Jan 28, 2013

Disappointing

Not a 4 star hotel in my estimation. The hotel is very small, old and basically tries to put a veneer of "chic" or trendyness over those flaws, its small room size and generally cramped spaces which also lack any workout facility of any kind. On the plus side, the location is very good and the staff is very accomodating. Finally, the overnight partking charges are exorbidant; I spent less to rent an SUV for the weekend than I did to park for two nights at the hotel. I've been to a number of Kimpton Hotels throughout the country and this is the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy with Hollywood
massachusetts
Mar 27, 2011

Not great.

The room was located next to a housekeeping closet. As the night wore on we started to smell fumes possibly coming from the closet. We would have switched rooms but it was late so we moved to the bed further away from the closet. It helped a little. The hotel was pet friendly so it had an odor to begin with. We also tried sleeping with the balcony door open but the street was very loud. Next time in dc I would stay at a larger chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly was good. Small portions.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1stTrip
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2012

Birthday Getaway

This particular hotel is a great location. The first hotel staff we encountered were less than helpful. When I reported our frustrations other staff members did they best to ensure our needs were met. We requested another room because the room smelled like dirty carpet. This is an older hotel but the decorations appear to be more modern. I believe staff needs to pay particular attention to how carpet, etc is cleaned. In addtion, all staff members should be trained for guest who are not knowledgeable about the location/vacation area. I just was not prepared for the type of service I received various the amount of money I spent. I could have stayed at a Super 8 and perhaps received the same treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe name Luna. This cafe has is nice, clean and affordable meals.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebwrite
NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great Room- Ok Hotel

We booked this room late after passing up better deals from the Palomar and other better hotels. The first impression was - no lobby- really just a front desk- and the carpet in the foyer was worn and dirty looking. I was afraid to see the room after this but the room was quite large with two queen beds and a balcony. The bathroom was so small that the sink and vanity were outside of it. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However, this is not a special hotel- it is a serviceable basic room, no frills stay. The ultra modern/art deco look of the hotel only accentuated the fact that the hotel was rundown- as opposed to the Palomar (where we went for drinks), which was also ultra modern, but fun and more luxe. Overall, I do prefer a traditional or classic type of hotel and maybe that is shading my opinion but we didn't love the hotel and didn't love Dupont Circle, which was very commercial. That said, it was a good stay and we enjoyed D.C. We just would select another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed the fresh seafood at the SW harbor. It's not fancy and there are no tables- you sit wherever you can- it is basically a fresh fish market and they cook the food while you wait. But the seafood is great- crabs, shrimp, lobster, etc.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler that knows
new jersey
Mar 4, 2013

needs tlc

this hotel was listed as 4 star...yes they had a restaurant/bar to add to the star rating...yes the decor was modern...but the place needs tlc..very worn looking...and a true 4 star would not have popcorn ceilings! (are we back in the 80's?)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Salt 1
Business
ST. Louis, MO
Dec 13, 2010

PHM Trip 12/7-9/10

This hotel was similar to several others that I have stayed at in DC. It was comfortable, a little small, and the shower did not work properly. It went from very hot to very cold and was not ever in the comfort zone. I told the person when I checked out and he ignored it. Otherwise, it was a good hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top