$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northeastern Connecticut
May 9, 2009

Great location, great hotel

We like small boutique hotels, and this one is just the kind of place we like to stay, in a quiet neighborhood but not too far from places we want to go. The staff was friendly, the hotel was quiet, the room was clean, and the price was right. The hotel is a few blocks from Dupont Circle so you're close to the wealth of restaurants along Connecticut Avenue and also to the Metro if you want to go anywhere else in the city. We arrived by train at Union Station and took the Metro to the hotel area without having to change lines. Then we took a walking tour to the Kalorama area where there are numerous embassies and also many beautiful homes. We passed the house where Taft lived and the Wilson House where Wilson lived for his three remaining years after his presidency. The next day we went back to tour the Wilson house, now a National Trust museum; it's just as Wilson left it. If you're in the area, don't miss this fabulous museum. For the rest of our stay, we took the metro to the museums and areas we wanted to check out or re-check. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2009

The Madera is GREAT!

I love the Madera. Have stayed there the last few times I've been in D.C. It's a great location, fun, small hotel, personalized service, great rooms. And this time I enjoyed an amazing dinner at their restaurant, Firefly. The next morning I had an equally enjoyable brunch. Highly recommended by me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CTJF
Business
Lancaster, PA
Mar 3, 2009

Welcoming...

I must give accolades to all of the staff for great service. My partner and I felt very comfortable with our surroundings. What a perfect compliment to this boutique hotel. With that being said, the hotel is in a great location of DC and close to the Metro which will take you to all of the sights. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is very close and easy to use. Parking is at a prime in the DC area. Let the car parked at the hotel and use mass transit. Not only will you save the enviroment, but you will save money. Less than $8 for a day pass.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 28, 2008

Wonderful community place

The Hotel Madera is in a great location. Close to the Metro and nice shops. The hotel was fun, small and comfortable. Every evening at wine tasting, many guests would meet to share their day and offer sites and things to enjoy. The pet friendly policy was very fun. For guests and the pets. We also had a fabulous front desk staff, who treated us as family. The rooms were nicely appointed and had internet, very comfortble bed and pillows. Would stay again if in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle seems to be neiborhood like with a lot of locals. The food was great at all the restuarants we tried.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 23, 2008

My review of Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel

The hotel was quiet and sort of boho chic with large rooms, offering excellent value. It was convenient to the Metro as well as Georgetown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 23, 2008

My review of Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel

The hotel was quiet and sort of boho chic with large rooms, offering excellent value. It was convenient to the Metro as well as Georgetown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gadsden
Dec 17, 2008

very nice place

Our room was very nice and modern. We had a sofa,chairs, coffee table and a desk. The room was quite large and in a nice location. We were not very far from restaurants, shopping and the subway. The people working there were very helpful and polite. Plenty of storage room. We liked it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church
Oct 17, 2008

Nice get away hotel

Had a quick trip at the Hotel Madera. My first stay. It was a nice get away hotel in DC close to Metro, Georgetown, and other attractions. In a safe location. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was upscale but still comfortable. Parking is by valet only and takes a several minutes to get your car back. Comfortable bed. Had a balcony room and enjoyed an adult beverage watching the fall sunset in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask about the great breakfest / brunch place just off DuPont Circle.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake
Jul 6, 2008

Great Location

The Hotel Madera is in the heart of Dupont Circle. Close to restaurants, metro station, and numerous nightlife activities. It's a short walk to anywhere. From the outside the hotel doesn't look too appealing but the modern decorations and renovations to the interior are a welcome surprise. The bathroom was a bit small but the room was spacious and comfortable! Restaurants, bars, clubs, metro station and grocery store are all within a short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A French-Caribbean restaurant is a short walk down P street. The portions are small but well worth the price!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

Very Pet Friendly

The entire staff made our stay memorable. They went out of their way to accommodate us. On check-in there was a sign welcoming our pets. The wine in the evening and cookies at night was above and beyond what was expected. I highly recommend this property to anyone with or without pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top