$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
74 reviews
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Family Getaway

Very happy with the hotel. Newly renovated. Clean. Convenient to public transportation. Walking... See full review

  • FamilyTrip2013
  • Aug 10, 2013
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9076 -77.0458
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 45.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
Executive Queen Queen
Executive Queen Queen 500 sq ft separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
Sep 14, 2009

LOVED THIS HOTEL & THE LOCATION!!!

THIS LOCATION IS THE GREATEST!! VERY SAFE AND THE SERVICE WAS TOP RATE...I HAVE STAYED IN 5 STAR HOTELS BEFORE THAT CAN'T EVEN BEGIN TO COMPARE WITH THIS SERVICE. THE ROOM WAS VERY LARGE..ROOM 401 AND IT HAD 2 QUEEN BEDS THAT WERE A DREAM COME TRUE TO SLEEP IN. YOU CAN WALK ANYWHERE FROM HERE AND FEEL SAFE AT ANYTIME OF THE DAY OR NIGHT. WINE SERVED AT 8PM AND ALSO MILK & COOKIES EACH NIGHT AT 10:30!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THERE ARE SOME GREAT RESTURANTS VERY CLOSE BY...THE FRONT PAGE HAS GREAT FOOD, THE FIRE FLY IS LOCATED IN THE HOTEL AND IS ALSO GOOD. MY FAMILY AND I WALKED EVERWHERE ...ALL THE WAY TO THE CAPITOL AND WHITE HOUSE...IF YOU DON'T MIND A LONG WALK YOU CAN ENJOY ALL THE SHOPS ON THE WAY..TAKE N STREET RIGHT OUT THE DOOR AND HEAD TO CONSTUTION AVE...LOTS OF SHOPS AND JUST ENJOY THE WALK! OR BETTER YET..TAKE THE METRO JUST 1 BLOCK FROM THE HOTEL..VERY SAFE AND GREAT WAY TO GET AROUND THE TOWN FOR ONLY 1.39!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mellowmani1
Business
NY, NY
Sep 7, 2009

great!

I was very impresssed with this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the amenities superb. Friendly staff as well. Perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
evanston IL
Aug 6, 2009

very good experience

We were in DC visiting family and sightseeing...2 nights, 3 days. I booked one room, even tho we were travelling with two teenage boys. Before we checked in it occurred to me that I had been having a serious "wishful thinking" moment when I booked only one room for the four of us. We decided to live with it for the first night and if we need to get another room for night #2, we'd do it. When we opened the door to our room we were pleasantly suprised. It was very spacious with two generous queen sized beds and a full size sofa. As were really only used the room for sleeping it worked for us. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. The neighborhood's central location worked well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Bloomfield, Mich.
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, excellent service

Service was excellent, helpful,friendly staff. Room was very nice, spotless, spacious,comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We needed to be in Dupont Circle so the location was perfect. Lots of restaurants, shops in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 19, 2009

This is the best hotel I ever had!

I went there with my boyfriend, the location is exactly at the heart of DC, just 1 minute away from the dupont circle metro. I like the hotel because of it's great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Jun 3, 2009

Great Location...Good Room.

Great location near Dupont Circle and a metro stop. Also easy to get a cab or to get around by car from there. Great modern decoration, wine and beer happy hour, milk and cookies at night. Some rooms in the front on the lower floors may be noisy. No on-site fitness or pool if you need these amenities. 'Snack Rooms" are guest rooms with a kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northeastern Connecticut
May 9, 2009

Great location, great hotel

We like small boutique hotels, and this one is just the kind of place we like to stay, in a quiet neighborhood but not too far from places we want to go. The staff was friendly, the hotel was quiet, the room was clean, and the price was right. The hotel is a few blocks from Dupont Circle so you're close to the wealth of restaurants along Connecticut Avenue and also to the Metro if you want to go anywhere else in the city. We arrived by train at Union Station and took the Metro to the hotel area without having to change lines. Then we took a walking tour to the Kalorama area where there are numerous embassies and also many beautiful homes. We passed the house where Taft lived and the Wilson House where Wilson lived for his three remaining years after his presidency. The next day we went back to tour the Wilson house, now a National Trust museum; it's just as Wilson left it. If you're in the area, don't miss this fabulous museum. For the rest of our stay, we took the metro to the museums and areas we wanted to check out or re-check. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2009

The Madera is GREAT!

I love the Madera. Have stayed there the last few times I've been in D.C. It's a great location, fun, small hotel, personalized service, great rooms. And this time I enjoyed an amazing dinner at their restaurant, Firefly. The next morning I had an equally enjoyable brunch. Highly recommended by me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CTJF
Business
Lancaster, PA
Mar 3, 2009

Welcoming...

I must give accolades to all of the staff for great service. My partner and I felt very comfortable with our surroundings. What a perfect compliment to this boutique hotel. With that being said, the hotel is in a great location of DC and close to the Metro which will take you to all of the sights. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is very close and easy to use. Parking is at a prime in the DC area. Let the car parked at the hotel and use mass transit. Not only will you save the enviroment, but you will save money. Less than $8 for a day pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 28, 2008

Wonderful community place

The Hotel Madera is in a great location. Close to the Metro and nice shops. The hotel was fun, small and comfortable. Every evening at wine tasting, many guests would meet to share their day and offer sites and things to enjoy. The pet friendly policy was very fun. For guests and the pets. We also had a fabulous front desk staff, who treated us as family. The rooms were nicely appointed and had internet, very comfortble bed and pillows. Would stay again if in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle seems to be neiborhood like with a lot of locals. The food was great at all the restuarants we tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top