$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
Mar 7, 2010

Serengeti in DC

The rooms are clean and quiet, the animal motif bathrobes and boxers fun and funny, the mini bar extensive and certainly not great value but that's no suprise, and the staff friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waldorf, MD
Mar 2, 2010

Very modern

Small but very modern and nicely decorated rooms in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to lots of dining, nightlife, and Metro(subway).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surprise AZ
Oct 24, 2009

Hotel Madera

Staff friendly and helpful, great location near Dupont Circle, one block from Metro station. A very pleasant hotel. Excellent food in the Firefly restaurant was overshadowed by the excessive noise for happy hour and dinner. We will stay in the hotel again but will not eat dinner there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nightlife and dinning at Dupont Circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thehay
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 15, 2009

Nice and Quiet

This is a wonderful hotel that is within walking distance of Dupont Cirlce and the surrounding neighborhoods. A quick walk to Sam & Harry's, one of our favorite restaurants! The room was comfortable and the bed was great with lots of feather pillows. The room had a good use of space.Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
Sep 14, 2009

LOVED THIS HOTEL & THE LOCATION!!!

THIS LOCATION IS THE GREATEST!! VERY SAFE AND THE SERVICE WAS TOP RATE...I HAVE STAYED IN 5 STAR HOTELS BEFORE THAT CAN'T EVEN BEGIN TO COMPARE WITH THIS SERVICE. THE ROOM WAS VERY LARGE..ROOM 401 AND IT HAD 2 QUEEN BEDS THAT WERE A DREAM COME TRUE TO SLEEP IN. YOU CAN WALK ANYWHERE FROM HERE AND FEEL SAFE AT ANYTIME OF THE DAY OR NIGHT. WINE SERVED AT 8PM AND ALSO MILK & COOKIES EACH NIGHT AT 10:30!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THERE ARE SOME GREAT RESTURANTS VERY CLOSE BY...THE FRONT PAGE HAS GREAT FOOD, THE FIRE FLY IS LOCATED IN THE HOTEL AND IS ALSO GOOD. MY FAMILY AND I WALKED EVERWHERE ...ALL THE WAY TO THE CAPITOL AND WHITE HOUSE...IF YOU DON'T MIND A LONG WALK YOU CAN ENJOY ALL THE SHOPS ON THE WAY..TAKE N STREET RIGHT OUT THE DOOR AND HEAD TO CONSTUTION AVE...LOTS OF SHOPS AND JUST ENJOY THE WALK! OR BETTER YET..TAKE THE METRO JUST 1 BLOCK FROM THE HOTEL..VERY SAFE AND GREAT WAY TO GET AROUND THE TOWN FOR ONLY 1.39!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mellowmani1
Business
NY, NY
Sep 7, 2009

great!

I was very impresssed with this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the amenities superb. Friendly staff as well. Perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
evanston IL
Aug 6, 2009

very good experience

We were in DC visiting family and sightseeing...2 nights, 3 days. I booked one room, even tho we were travelling with two teenage boys. Before we checked in it occurred to me that I had been having a serious "wishful thinking" moment when I booked only one room for the four of us. We decided to live with it for the first night and if we need to get another room for night #2, we'd do it. When we opened the door to our room we were pleasantly suprised. It was very spacious with two generous queen sized beds and a full size sofa. As were really only used the room for sleeping it worked for us. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. The neighborhood's central location worked well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Bloomfield, Mich.
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, excellent service

Service was excellent, helpful,friendly staff. Room was very nice, spotless, spacious,comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We needed to be in Dupont Circle so the location was perfect. Lots of restaurants, shops in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 19, 2009

This is the best hotel I ever had!

I went there with my boyfriend, the location is exactly at the heart of DC, just 1 minute away from the dupont circle metro. I like the hotel because of it's great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Jun 3, 2009

Great Location...Good Room.

Great location near Dupont Circle and a metro stop. Also easy to get a cab or to get around by car from there. Great modern decoration, wine and beer happy hour, milk and cookies at night. Some rooms in the front on the lower floors may be noisy. No on-site fitness or pool if you need these amenities. 'Snack Rooms" are guest rooms with a kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top