$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katherineee
Friends
san francisco
Sep 4, 2012

great hotel at a great price!

i spent four nights here for a labor day weekend trip. madera offers complimentary wine during the evenings and complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings down in the lobby daily. staff are very friendly and helpful, and they even give you a courtesy phone call if your room was not serviced due to your own request for no room service. lots of complimentary amenities are offered by the hotel like floss, coffee maker, steamers (there is a list of about 20 items in the bathroom). the room is extremely spacious, and the toilet and bathtub are located in a separate room from the sink (which has both a regular mirror and make-up mirror) so that people can simultaneously get ready and be more efficient with their precious vacation time. the pillows are ok, not what i expected for a four-star hotel because they seem to lack substance and sink easily. however, this is just a very minor flaw in comparison to everything else that was done above and beyond the call of duty and expectation. highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the holocaust and newseum are musts when you are in dc!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy with Hollywood
Couples
massachusetts
Mar 27, 2011

Not great.

The room was located next to a housekeeping closet. As the night wore on we started to smell fumes possibly coming from the closet. We would have switched rooms but it was late so we moved to the bed further away from the closet. It helped a little. The hotel was pet friendly so it had an odor to begin with. We also tried sleeping with the balcony door open but the street was very loud. Next time in dc I would stay at a larger chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly was good. Small portions.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
turkey
Mar 13, 2011

Perfect hospitality

Perfect location, perfect room and perfect people...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Mar 3, 2011

Can't beat the location

The hotel is in the Dupont Circle area so it is close to all kinds of excitement as well as 2 blocks from the Dupont Metra station. The room was very nice, bed was comfortable. Very cozy hotel only 10 room on the floor (at least the 7th floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

M Street cafe was very reasonable priced and the food was GREAT!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShleighBee
Friends
Washington, DC
Feb 15, 2011

Very Nicely Done!

My roommate and I came to DC to find housing when we relocated for a new job, so our trip was more business and less pleasure. We arrived in a car, so it was somewhat challenging finding a spot in front of the hotel to unload from, but as soon as we stopped the car and popped inside the valet took care of the car (around $35 a day) and the bellhop very helpfully toted our obscene amount of luggage up to our room. Check in was easy and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely -the subtle jungle theme was made complete with the provided juingle-animal-printed bathrobes! Our bathroom was a comfortable size for two friends to share, and the space was more than adequate. The king bed was comfy and the linens were, too - I would have preferred a couple more pillows for sleeping but I'm sure had I called down to ask they would have been made available. The restaurant in the hotel, Firefly, was lovely. We went for dinner the second night of our stay and the appetizer (deviled eggs with garlic chips), dinners (mushroom risotto and a hamburger with parmesean garlic fries), and dessert (a delightful, crumbly, pear concoction) were all wonderful. Seating at the restaurant is limited, but we were able to get a seat near the bar which afforded us nicer ambiance than our original table in the back room. Our daily venutures consisted mainly of apartment showings and some pre-work duties, so we ended up all over much of northern DC. The proximity to the Dupont Circle metro (Red Line) was insanely helpful, and Madera's location made for an easy walk to the various restaurants, stores, and coffee shops in the Dupont Circle area. At the end of our stay, the bellhop put everything in the car and left it with the valet while we finished our errands for the day, and we picked the car up in the late afternoon. Of the few complaints that I can list, I would have vastly preferred if the hotel came with free wi-fi ($10 a day charged to the room). I know it's an "amenity" but at this point it seems more like an necessity. We would definitely use this hotel again for a future stay if it were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

if you eat at Firefly, make a reservation and indicate that you'd prefer to be seated at the bar or in the front room - the back room wasn't shabby but doesn't offer the same ambiance (the restaurant has a large lit tree in the middle to compliment the "firefly" theme).

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmill
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 24, 2011

great value

we were fast, in and out, but were treated well while we were there diet coke served with no ice, but it was 5am the room and hotel were unique, eclectic and funky!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Salt 1
Business
ST. Louis, MO
Dec 13, 2010

PHM Trip 12/7-9/10

This hotel was similar to several others that I have stayed at in DC. It was comfortable, a little small, and the shower did not work properly. It went from very hot to very cold and was not ever in the comfort zone. I told the person when I checked out and he ignored it. Otherwise, it was a good hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC
Jul 13, 2010

Excellent Hotel with friendly staff

Great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seward, NE
May 16, 2010

Sightseeing trip to DC

My wife and I were sightseeing in DC and chose the Hotel Madera based on pricing and customer reviews. We had to admit we were a bit skeptical upon arriving, as the decor seemed a bit dated, the lobby was tiny, and our view from our second floor room was the air handling equipment on the roof. However, the staff was extremely friendly, the room was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. There really aren't a lot of amenities, but since we didn't spend a lot of time there, that wasn't a big deal to us. The business center was tiny, plus you had to pay to use the computer and the printer, which was a little annoying. The biggest plus for us was that it was only a couple blocks from Dupont Circle, which got us close to the metro and there are about a million restaurants in the area to chose from. I would definitely stay again, but I would check to see what the view from the room would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2010

Boutique Hotel, Questionable Pratices

The location was where we wanted, for the most part. Our first time in Georgetown and the hotel was just off Dupont Circle and a lot of good attractions. The only real problem was with the reservation - I reserved a King Balcony Room. At first they put us on the 2nd floor in a Double Queen Balcony room. I went back downstairs to the desk and told them the reservation was for a King Balcony - and asked if we could be higher than the 2nd floor. So I was given a new key for a room on the 6th floor (out of 10 - barely an improvement) and we went in to find a King, no balcony. I gave up and refused to go back down a 3rd time to the reception desk, as we just wanted to get our things put down and start our weekend. Suspect at best.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Know before you go - a lot of "clubs" around the area, and lots of lines and crowds waiting outside. Know where some smaller venues, bars, lounges are before you go if you don't want the hastle and noise of a "club"

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 24, 2010

One night business stay

Just here for buisness. No-nonsense hotel. Very good location. Walking distance to very good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top