$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
74 reviews
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Family Getaway

Very happy with the hotel. Newly renovated. Clean. Convenient to public transportation. Walking... See full review

  • FamilyTrip2013
  • Aug 10, 2013
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9076 -77.0458
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 45.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
Executive Queen Queen
Executive Queen Queen 500 sq ft separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 13, 2010

Excellent Hotel with friendly staff

Great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seward, NE
May 16, 2010

Sightseeing trip to DC

My wife and I were sightseeing in DC and chose the Hotel Madera based on pricing and customer reviews. We had to admit we were a bit skeptical upon arriving, as the decor seemed a bit dated, the lobby was tiny, and our view from our second floor room was the air handling equipment on the roof. However, the staff was extremely friendly, the room was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. There really aren't a lot of amenities, but since we didn't spend a lot of time there, that wasn't a big deal to us. The business center was tiny, plus you had to pay to use the computer and the printer, which was a little annoying. The biggest plus for us was that it was only a couple blocks from Dupont Circle, which got us close to the metro and there are about a million restaurants in the area to chose from. I would definitely stay again, but I would check to see what the view from the room would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2010

Boutique Hotel, Questionable Pratices

The location was where we wanted, for the most part. Our first time in Georgetown and the hotel was just off Dupont Circle and a lot of good attractions. The only real problem was with the reservation - I reserved a King Balcony Room. At first they put us on the 2nd floor in a Double Queen Balcony room. I went back downstairs to the desk and told them the reservation was for a King Balcony - and asked if we could be higher than the 2nd floor. So I was given a new key for a room on the 6th floor (out of 10 - barely an improvement) and we went in to find a King, no balcony. I gave up and refused to go back down a 3rd time to the reception desk, as we just wanted to get our things put down and start our weekend. Suspect at best.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Know before you go - a lot of "clubs" around the area, and lots of lines and crowds waiting outside. Know where some smaller venues, bars, lounges are before you go if you don't want the hastle and noise of a "club"

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 24, 2010

One night business stay

Just here for buisness. No-nonsense hotel. Very good location. Walking distance to very good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebwrite
NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great Room- Ok Hotel

We booked this room late after passing up better deals from the Palomar and other better hotels. The first impression was - no lobby- really just a front desk- and the carpet in the foyer was worn and dirty looking. I was afraid to see the room after this but the room was quite large with two queen beds and a balcony. The bathroom was so small that the sink and vanity were outside of it. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However, this is not a special hotel- it is a serviceable basic room, no frills stay. The ultra modern/art deco look of the hotel only accentuated the fact that the hotel was rundown- as opposed to the Palomar (where we went for drinks), which was also ultra modern, but fun and more luxe. Overall, I do prefer a traditional or classic type of hotel and maybe that is shading my opinion but we didn't love the hotel and didn't love Dupont Circle, which was very commercial. That said, it was a good stay and we enjoyed D.C. We just would select another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed the fresh seafood at the SW harbor. It's not fancy and there are no tables- you sit wherever you can- it is basically a fresh fish market and they cook the food while you wait. But the seafood is great- crabs, shrimp, lobster, etc.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Mar 15, 2010

Great location and service

Spacious room with balcony, less than two blocks from Dupont Circle. One small downside was a fair amount of street noise early in the morning. Unobtrusive service; friendly staff. Restaurant on the ground floor was obviously popular and a nice setting for a nightcap. Complimentary wine, good morning coffee and tea, and selection of papers were all nice touches. We also appreciated the hotel's commitment to conserve resources -- e.g., a dedicated wastebasket for recycled paper, soap and shampoo in shower dispensers, etc. Definitely would stay at the Madera again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mass
Mar 7, 2010

Serengeti in DC

The rooms are clean and quiet, the animal motif bathrobes and boxers fun and funny, the mini bar extensive and certainly not great value but that's no suprise, and the staff friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waldorf, MD
Mar 2, 2010

Very modern

Small but very modern and nicely decorated rooms in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to lots of dining, nightlife, and Metro(subway).

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surprise AZ
Oct 24, 2009

Hotel Madera

Staff friendly and helpful, great location near Dupont Circle, one block from Metro station. A very pleasant hotel. Excellent food in the Firefly restaurant was overshadowed by the excessive noise for happy hour and dinner. We will stay in the hotel again but will not eat dinner there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nightlife and dinning at Dupont Circle.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thehay
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 15, 2009

Nice and Quiet

This is a wonderful hotel that is within walking distance of Dupont Cirlce and the surrounding neighborhoods. A quick walk to Sam & Harry's, one of our favorite restaurants! The room was comfortable and the bed was great with lots of feather pillows. The room had a good use of space.Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search