$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katherineee
san francisco
Sep 4, 2012

great hotel at a great price!

i spent four nights here for a labor day weekend trip. madera offers complimentary wine during the evenings and complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings down in the lobby daily. staff are very friendly and helpful, and they even give you a courtesy phone call if your room was not serviced due to your own request for no room service. lots of complimentary amenities are offered by the hotel like floss, coffee maker, steamers (there is a list of about 20 items in the bathroom). the room is extremely spacious, and the toilet and bathtub are located in a separate room from the sink (which has both a regular mirror and make-up mirror) so that people can simultaneously get ready and be more efficient with their precious vacation time. the pillows are ok, not what i expected for a four-star hotel because they seem to lack substance and sink easily. however, this is just a very minor flaw in comparison to everything else that was done above and beyond the call of duty and expectation. highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the holocaust and newseum are musts when you are in dc!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chom
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Hotel right next to Dupont Circle!

Loved our stay at Hotel Madera. Very clean and chic hotel with a great staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimpton lover
Business
Wallingford, CT
Aug 2, 2011

Amazingly unique hotel

The hotel had a great atmosphere. The staff and location were amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dupont circle area has a lot to offer

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grand rapids
Jul 28, 2011

nice little getaway

nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
May 5, 2011

2 day vacation!

the Hotel Bar and Restaurant was expensive but geat...especially drink..one of the best Martini's I've ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 11, 2011

Above and beyond what I expected!

Was in town traveling with a couple friends, stayed for 2 nights. Was going to book through [...], but found a signifigantly cheaper rate when I called the hotel reservations directly. The only real complaint I have with this experience is I was on hold over 15 minutes to book the room. The staff at Madera were very friendly and polite. Loved the nightly complimentary wine tasting at 5pm. They were more then happy to provide a late check-out. The room was quite spacious and clean. The queen beds were very comfortable, I slept like a baby. The room had all the amenities I could ask for, a flat screen tv (with HBO) a balcony, safe, fridge, mini bar with lots of goodies, plenty of towels, an iron, and internet. The restaurant downstairs, Firefly, was nice and the staff was accomodating. However the portions were a bit small for the price. But the food was tasty. Parking was tricky at first but eventually found a spot across the street from the hotel. Was not going to pay the the costly parking fee for the valet at Madera. You can park on the street for free on the weekends, if your lucky enough to find a spot. Overall this hotel is a very good choice if you like boutique hotels and you cannot beat the location. There are many different attractions and restaurants within walking distance. Im looking foward to staying there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle offers a wide variety of dining choices. The staff will be more then happy to suggest a place to go.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura C
Apr 11, 2011

Fantastic Location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff was superior in their service to their guests. Requests were taken care of promptly and accurately. Our room was reminiscent of hotels we stay in when we are in Europe. We enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The hotel was located just far enough from the hectic mall area that constitutes spring break. It was very quiet and restful. We would highly recommend this hotel to others. In past trips the newer hotels aren't as warm and homey as we found this one to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 4, 2011

Great

The staff and accomodations were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Brooks
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 29, 2011

White Wedding

My wife and I stayed here the night before and after our wedding. We were having pro photos and wanted a nice backdrop to get ready and a central location close in proximity to our ceremony site. The lobby is small, and in order to get to the elevator, you must go down a hall and pass by doors to the Firefly restaurant kitchen. Clanging dishes, the smell of cooking food. Not what I want to see or hear as I enter my hotel. I felt like I was about to clock in to work a shift…"order up!". The elevator was in need of a good wipe down and mop. It smelled a bit mildewy, NOT good first impressions. Made me very nervous about the room on my way up. The room and furnishings were very clean and nice, and well kept. Comfortable size for two people, however Kimpton group may want to reevaluate the bathroom layout. Our room had a TINY room with the toilet and tub in it, you could barely turn around. You almost needed to stand in the tub or on the toilet to close the door. The sink was outside in its own separate area. Also, funny fact: this setup is a tad unsanitary when you use the toilet and then are forced to touch the door handle to go to the sink (eww). Also, there was no fridge in the room that we could access. We think there was a mini bar locked in a cabinet, we were not given a key or asked if we wanted one (shrug, oh well). Housekeeping made up our bed beautifully, BUT only replenished some of the towels. We didn't have washcloths the second day, no biggie because we brought our own loofahs anyway. And I'm sure that if we had asked someone we would have gotten some. The staff were very polite. Whomever was at the front desk spoke to us every time we passed by whether going in or out. Check in and Check out were very painless. Oh yeah, and those robes…gave us a good giggle. Although, they were not as plush as I anticipated, felt more like wearing a rug or a tapestry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy with Hollywood
Business
massachusetts
Mar 27, 2011

Not great.

The room was located next to a housekeeping closet. As the night wore on we started to smell fumes possibly coming from the closet. We would have switched rooms but it was late so we moved to the bed further away from the closet. It helped a little. The hotel was pet friendly so it had an odor to begin with. We also tried sleeping with the balcony door open but the street was very loud. Next time in dc I would stay at a larger chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly was good. Small portions.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Mar 13, 2011

Perfect hospitality

Perfect location, perfect room and perfect people...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top