$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
74 reviews
business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no... See full review

  • anna bell lee
  • Jan 30, 2014
Family Getaway

Very happy with the hotel. Newly renovated. Clean. Convenient to public transportation. Walking... See full review

  • FamilyTrip2013
  • Aug 10, 2013
Historic hotel with a fashionable feel

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9076 -77.0458
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 45.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
Executive Queen Queen
Executive Queen Queen 500 sq ft separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 11, 2011

Above and beyond what I expected!

Was in town traveling with a couple friends, stayed for 2 nights. Was going to book through [...], but found a signifigantly cheaper rate when I called the hotel reservations directly. The only real complaint I have with this experience is I was on hold over 15 minutes to book the room. The staff at Madera were very friendly and polite. Loved the nightly complimentary wine tasting at 5pm. They were more then happy to provide a late check-out. The room was quite spacious and clean. The queen beds were very comfortable, I slept like a baby. The room had all the amenities I could ask for, a flat screen tv (with HBO) a balcony, safe, fridge, mini bar with lots of goodies, plenty of towels, an iron, and internet. The restaurant downstairs, Firefly, was nice and the staff was accomodating. However the portions were a bit small for the price. But the food was tasty. Parking was tricky at first but eventually found a spot across the street from the hotel. Was not going to pay the the costly parking fee for the valet at Madera. You can park on the street for free on the weekends, if your lucky enough to find a spot. Overall this hotel is a very good choice if you like boutique hotels and you cannot beat the location. There are many different attractions and restaurants within walking distance. Im looking foward to staying there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle offers a wide variety of dining choices. The staff will be more then happy to suggest a place to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura C
Apr 11, 2011

Fantastic Location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff was superior in their service to their guests. Requests were taken care of promptly and accurately. Our room was reminiscent of hotels we stay in when we are in Europe. We enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The hotel was located just far enough from the hectic mall area that constitutes spring break. It was very quiet and restful. We would highly recommend this hotel to others. In past trips the newer hotels aren't as warm and homey as we found this one to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 4, 2011

Great

The staff and accomodations were terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Brooks
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 29, 2011

White Wedding

My wife and I stayed here the night before and after our wedding. We were having pro photos and wanted a nice backdrop to get ready and a central location close in proximity to our ceremony site. The lobby is small, and in order to get to the elevator, you must go down a hall and pass by doors to the Firefly restaurant kitchen. Clanging dishes, the smell of cooking food. Not what I want to see or hear as I enter my hotel. I felt like I was about to clock in to work a shift…"order up!". The elevator was in need of a good wipe down and mop. It smelled a bit mildewy, NOT good first impressions. Made me very nervous about the room on my way up. The room and furnishings were very clean and nice, and well kept. Comfortable size for two people, however Kimpton group may want to reevaluate the bathroom layout. Our room had a TINY room with the toilet and tub in it, you could barely turn around. You almost needed to stand in the tub or on the toilet to close the door. The sink was outside in its own separate area. Also, funny fact: this setup is a tad unsanitary when you use the toilet and then are forced to touch the door handle to go to the sink (eww). Also, there was no fridge in the room that we could access. We think there was a mini bar locked in a cabinet, we were not given a key or asked if we wanted one (shrug, oh well). Housekeeping made up our bed beautifully, BUT only replenished some of the towels. We didn't have washcloths the second day, no biggie because we brought our own loofahs anyway. And I'm sure that if we had asked someone we would have gotten some. The staff were very polite. Whomever was at the front desk spoke to us every time we passed by whether going in or out. Check in and Check out were very painless. Oh yeah, and those robes…gave us a good giggle. Although, they were not as plush as I anticipated, felt more like wearing a rug or a tapestry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy with Hollywood
Business
massachusetts
Mar 27, 2011

Not great.

The room was located next to a housekeeping closet. As the night wore on we started to smell fumes possibly coming from the closet. We would have switched rooms but it was late so we moved to the bed further away from the closet. It helped a little. The hotel was pet friendly so it had an odor to begin with. We also tried sleeping with the balcony door open but the street was very loud. Next time in dc I would stay at a larger chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Firefly was good. Small portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Mar 13, 2011

Perfect hospitality

Perfect location, perfect room and perfect people...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
Mar 3, 2011

Can't beat the location

The hotel is in the Dupont Circle area so it is close to all kinds of excitement as well as 2 blocks from the Dupont Metra station. The room was very nice, bed was comfortable. Very cozy hotel only 10 room on the floor (at least the 7th floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

M Street cafe was very reasonable priced and the food was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShleighBee
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 15, 2011

Very Nicely Done!

My roommate and I came to DC to find housing when we relocated for a new job, so our trip was more business and less pleasure. We arrived in a car, so it was somewhat challenging finding a spot in front of the hotel to unload from, but as soon as we stopped the car and popped inside the valet took care of the car (around $35 a day) and the bellhop very helpfully toted our obscene amount of luggage up to our room. Check in was easy and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely -the subtle jungle theme was made complete with the provided juingle-animal-printed bathrobes! Our bathroom was a comfortable size for two friends to share, and the space was more than adequate. The king bed was comfy and the linens were, too - I would have preferred a couple more pillows for sleeping but I'm sure had I called down to ask they would have been made available. The restaurant in the hotel, Firefly, was lovely. We went for dinner the second night of our stay and the appetizer (deviled eggs with garlic chips), dinners (mushroom risotto and a hamburger with parmesean garlic fries), and dessert (a delightful, crumbly, pear concoction) were all wonderful. Seating at the restaurant is limited, but we were able to get a seat near the bar which afforded us nicer ambiance than our original table in the back room. Our daily venutures consisted mainly of apartment showings and some pre-work duties, so we ended up all over much of northern DC. The proximity to the Dupont Circle metro (Red Line) was insanely helpful, and Madera's location made for an easy walk to the various restaurants, stores, and coffee shops in the Dupont Circle area. At the end of our stay, the bellhop put everything in the car and left it with the valet while we finished our errands for the day, and we picked the car up in the late afternoon. Of the few complaints that I can list, I would have vastly preferred if the hotel came with free wi-fi ($10 a day charged to the room). I know it's an "amenity" but at this point it seems more like an necessity. We would definitely use this hotel again for a future stay if it were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

if you eat at Firefly, make a reservation and indicate that you'd prefer to be seated at the bar or in the front room - the back room wasn't shabby but doesn't offer the same ambiance (the restaurant has a large lit tree in the middle to compliment the "firefly" theme).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmill
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 24, 2011

great value

we were fast, in and out, but were treated well while we were there diet coke served with no ice, but it was 5am the room and hotel were unique, eclectic and funky!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Salt 1
Business
ST. Louis, MO
Dec 13, 2010

PHM Trip 12/7-9/10

This hotel was similar to several others that I have stayed at in DC. It was comfortable, a little small, and the shower did not work properly. It went from very hot to very cold and was not ever in the comfort zone. I told the person when I checked out and he ignored it. Otherwise, it was a good hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top