$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudy and Cali's Dad
Business
New York
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent value

Our daughter was in the hospital and we were looking for a nice reasonable place in walking distance and Kimpton hotels all have a botique feel with great stafss and good value and the Madera was perfect.. The room we chose was spacious. What you don't get is a gym a lobby or fast elevators, what you do get is an at home feel with a great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pesce

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef Jon
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Dec 10, 2012

Decent hotel great location

The hotel was a nicely appointed, nothing spectacular. the location on the other hand was really perfect, within walking or metro distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmik
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 18, 2012

Great location

So close to metro, great bars, and restaurants. They also host an hour long wine hour for guests in the evening - it was a nice way to unwind after traveling. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sidney M
Business
Richmond, VA
Nov 4, 2012

Serviceable hotel

If you're a business traveler looking for a place to stay that is in close proximity to downtown Washington DC, then this is not a bad place to stay. The rooms are clean, if a bit small, and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is also one very small block from Dupont Circle, so the convenient location is a decided plus. You have many restaurants that open late into the night within walking distance and if you feel like going further, the nearest metro station is also only a very short walk away. My main quibble is that with the price I paid for the room, I could easily stayed in one of the larger, brand-name hotels. True, on the surface the nightly rate for Hotel Madera is much lower, but if you factor in the cost of parking, then any savings gained by the lower rate becomes eroded. Parking near Dupont Circle is a big hassle, if not nearly impossible, on a weekend; so you have the choice of either driving around for hours or utilize the hotel's overnight parking service, which is a whopping $41 per night. And when you add the $7.35 parking tax to the bill, you end up paying almost $50 extra for one night. So if you are a business traveler flying into town for a day or 2 on business, this hotel would be good value for your dollars. Otherwise, there are much better options town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katherineee
Business
san francisco
Sep 4, 2012

great hotel at a great price!

i spent four nights here for a labor day weekend trip. madera offers complimentary wine during the evenings and complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings down in the lobby daily. staff are very friendly and helpful, and they even give you a courtesy phone call if your room was not serviced due to your own request for no room service. lots of complimentary amenities are offered by the hotel like floss, coffee maker, steamers (there is a list of about 20 items in the bathroom). the room is extremely spacious, and the toilet and bathtub are located in a separate room from the sink (which has both a regular mirror and make-up mirror) so that people can simultaneously get ready and be more efficient with their precious vacation time. the pillows are ok, not what i expected for a four-star hotel because they seem to lack substance and sink easily. however, this is just a very minor flaw in comparison to everything else that was done above and beyond the call of duty and expectation. highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the holocaust and newseum are musts when you are in dc!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asher04
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 31, 2012

Great Location

The location is perfect if you don't like to stay in downtown DC which seems to be pretty dead during the weekends. The hotel is in walking distance (about 20 min) to White House/National Mall and Georgetown. But I would advise taking the circular/bus if available. The only thing I didn't like is the valet parking ($40 plus tax) for overnight parking. You can actually park on the street or find a nearby parking spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park somewhere else or park on the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boxcarwaiting
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Jul 14, 2012

Great stay, one complaint

Everything was great. Room was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly. My only complaint was that there wasn't a coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head on up towards DuPont Circle. There's tons of great restaurants. I ate @ a place called Tomate, which was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepster70
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 9, 2012

Great location, value, and service!

Great location, value, and service! Staff is very welcoming and quick to respond to needs. Close walk to DuPont Circle Metro, very easy to get around. Rooms are nice and large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cityexplorer
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 13, 2012

great weekend

I really enjoyed my weekend stay. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was really comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was the valet parking. I had trouble finding a parking spot in front of the hotel so that my car could be picked up by the valet and ended up circling the hotel a few times. It was a minor annoyance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1stTrip
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2012

Birthday Getaway

This particular hotel is a great location. The first hotel staff we encountered were less than helpful. When I reported our frustrations other staff members did they best to ensure our needs were met. We requested another room because the room smelled like dirty carpet. This is an older hotel but the decorations appear to be more modern. I believe staff needs to pay particular attention to how carpet, etc is cleaned. In addtion, all staff members should be trained for guest who are not knowledgeable about the location/vacation area. I just was not prepared for the type of service I received various the amount of money I spent. I could have stayed at a Super 8 and perhaps received the same treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe name Luna. This cafe has is nice, clean and affordable meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top