$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1310 New Hampshire Avenue, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Great business home away from home

Room large, clean, updated & had what I needed. Staff friendly & helpful, bringing extra desk chair... See full review

  • Steve the walker
  • Mar 10, 2015
Great Hotel! We Would Love to Return Again Soon.

My fiance and I were having a really tough travel day that ended up actually pouring over into the... See full review

  • orbitztravelerreview
  • Feb 3, 2015

Situated in the heart of vibrant US Capital Washington D.C., the Hotel Madera offers a chic, yet casual experience for those wishing for a peaceful center of serenity in the middle of bustling D.C. The hotel conveniently sits in the charming Dupont Circle neighborhood, which derives its name from the road arrangement, and comprises a park and historic district with many examples of 1700s architecture. Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel is also ideal for business travelers, being in the middle of the business area and featuring all modern facilities.

Rooms

Hotel Madera - a Kimpton Hotel gives guests a choice of 82 guestrooms, and an additional 5 specialty rooms. The décor is universally welcoming, featuring a lot of dark woods, high quality fabrics and warm, diffuse lighting. The services distinguish themselves from other hotels, with many hospitable touches such as complimentary cookies and milk before bed, especially great for kids, and a hosted evening wine hour to satisfy any hobby wine connoisseurs. The King Deluxe one-bed room is a luxurious accommodation for the single traveler or couple, with 350 square feet of space to enjoy and a complete range of amenities. Similar rooms with different bed configurations are available, such as the queen room, allowing families to stay in the same room. Further choices include balconies, cardio areas, kitchens, and Japanese massage chairs, making this hotel one of the most varied on the market.

Highlights
  • Classy location in the Dupont Circle region of downtown D.C. gives easy access to all attractions

  • Elegant, chic styling with an emphasis on environmentally conscious living

  • Firefly Restaurant; contemporary American cuisine and cocktails from chef Daniel Bortnick

Nearby attractions
  • Dupont Metro Station (one block)

  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • Connecticut Avenue (2 blocks)

  • White House (14 blocks/1.1mi/1.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.3mi/2.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3mi/5km)

  • National Mall (2.4mi/3,9km)

Policies
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madera, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$135
4.4 / 5 250 reviews
★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 62 reviews
★★★★
$102
3.8 / 5 434 reviews
★★★★
$161
4.2 / 5 330 reviews
★★★★
$117
4.1 / 5 413 reviews
★★★★★
$127
4.3 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$109
4.1 / 5 218 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 72 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.0 / 5 163 reviews

Madera, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

06. BUNK
Description not provided
Executive King
Executive King w 1 King Bed 500 sq ft Separate seating area with pull-out sofa
King Deluxe with Balcony
King Deluxe with Balcony 435 sq ft w 1 king bed iHome Aveda bath amenities non-smoking
Tranquility Room with 1 King Bed
Tranquility Room w king bd Japanese massage chair ambient noise machine 500 sq ft
Accessible Queen Deluxe
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 430 sq ft communication features
Queen Queen Room with Balcony
Queen Queen Room with Balcony 435 sq ft 2 queen beds overlooking New Hampshire Ave
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds
Snack Room with 2 Queen Beds 500 sq ft with mini-kitchen
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 350 sq ft non-smoking iHome animal print terry cloth robe flat panel TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.2 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Dining

Firefly with Chef Daniel Bortnick
Firefly is a down to earth place where the casual vibe is heightened by the mouth watering cuisine of Chef Daniel Bortnick. The menus feature American comfort food reborn as contemporary takes on classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allison S.
Family
Evanston
Aug 18, 2015

Great Family stop

This hotel met expectations. The staff was fantastic and the room was great. We wished the lobby had been bigger to sit in. It's basically one bench and a high bar table. If you want to hang out only in your room, you are set!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elizabeth S.
Friends
Austin
Jul 28, 2015

Great location

Except for the miniscule lobby and horribly unreliable wifi, our visit was very good and the staff were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanine C.
Couples
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Great location

We enjoyed our stay but 2 things stand out. One the bathroom, which only had a toilet and tub/shower in it way way too small. The other is that we were in the back of the hotel and could hear all of the garbage trucks and activity around the garbage bin. The location really made up for those short comings as well as the staff, who were very pleasant and very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve the walker
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great business home away from home

Room large, clean, updated & had what I needed. Staff friendly & helpful, bringing extra desk chair for colleague who worked with me on a snow day. Restaurant exceeded expectations. Fresh coffee in lobby was very good (no coffee maker in room that made it OK). Will not hesitate to rebook. Steve, Boulder, CO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orbitztravelerreview
Couples
Chicago
Feb 3, 2015

Great Hotel! We Would Love to Return Again Soon.

My fiance and I were having a really tough travel day that ended up actually pouring over into the wee hours of the morning. It wasn't until after midnight that we finally checked into our hotel - the Madera. Michele at the check-in counter was someone that I will never forget! I couldn't believe how kind, patient and accommodating she was, not only to us, but to other people who were actually not kind to her. To us, she was the light at the end of the tunnel. Our hotel room was extremely comfortable. We loved all of the amenities and the breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. Thank you all so much for making our night so much better. We will be sure to return to the Madera on our next trip to Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Figure out where you are going to park ahead of time if you are driving or have a rental car.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevie K
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 8, 2014

Best hotel experience I can remember

The Madera is really a class act. The staff is so friendly, the room was immaculate, and the location cannot be beat. I got a great price on the room through an online booking site package deal so it was also a really good value. The morning coffee and happy hour wine was also a nice perk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ping Pong Dim Sum is a great spot for dinner- make sure you have a reservation though! They get booked up fast!

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shella16
Single
charlotte
Nov 4, 2014

it not very bad...

I arrived at Madera at midnight on beginning of November 2014. The receptionist was very cheerful but she could not find my reservation and ask her manager to help her. The manager, she came, no smiling, no "hello, welcome.. We say" hello" but she did not say anyhting... She just try to solve problem. I don like her behavior. I except happier, more cheerful reception manager. The room is clean and big. However, although hotel is expensive, there is no coffee maker in the room. There should be at least a coffee maker to get hot drinks in the room in cold nights. Staffs in the restaurant section are cheerful, talkative. you can get everything on time. You dont wait too long to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it is close to dupont metro station. so, you can go where ever you want from dupont M.

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Tripper2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Good Location

Pretty standard/good stuff from this hotel. Only bad thing was that I ordered room service one night and it was inordinately expensive and tasted horrible :X

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of stuff within walking distance

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HowieL
Business
Coral Springs, Florida
Jun 22, 2014

A great small hotel

Wonderful experience. Small hotel. Great staff. No fitness center but they use one 5 minutes away another property. Ill stay there next time without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Madera, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anna bell lee
Business
Winthrop Maine
Jan 30, 2014

business

Experience was very positive. Interestingly enough, the hotel boiler broke down and there was no hot water which caused many guests to complain. The staff was responsive, and very apologetic. While there was really nothing they could do the attitude of the staff really helped! I was really impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The closest place to eat was very. very pricey.

Back to menu Return to top