$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Loews Madison Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1177 Fifteenth St NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Loews Madison Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LRLion
Business
Eastern PA
Sep 20, 2011

High Quality, great location, nice value

I often visit Washington and am familiar with all the neighborhoods and better hotels. I was surprised to get a great rate at The Madison for this trip - it was the lowest priced property in the general neighborhood. This hotel has higher-end furnishings and service, and is well located for business travellers or vacationers - walking distance to most popular arttractions/destinations and reasonably close to a few Metro subway stations. It's a cut above most of the better cookie-cutter chain hotels and has a pelasant, relaxed feel. Valet parking service was slow, so give them ample notice when you need your vehicle..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cooky Accountant
Business
Lynchburg, VA
Mar 22, 2010

Good business place

I was in D.C. for business and the hotel was a very good place to retire at the end of the day. The scenic view and reading nook were not whatI expected but overall it was a nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

National Geograhic is around the corner with magnificent exhibits. Call ahead and reserve tickets

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PowerCouple
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Cozy Weekend in prime DC location

This hotel was located just minutes of a walk from the White House, located 3 blocks from a metro station which makes travel in DC wonderful. The hotel was quaint, small rooms but very comfortable beds. Romantic feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karinam708
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 7, 2011

4th of July Weekend

Great location, within walking distance of White House, DuPont Circle. Service was fantastic, especially the concierge. He was very helpful and provided maps, recommendations for things to do, events taking place during the holiday weekend, and restuarant lists. Rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2008

My review of The Madison, A Loews Hotel

The valet parking is a bit pricy at 35 bucks a day (whether you use your car or keep it there the whole stay.) But we got our car back in great shape, so that was a plus. The one chair was a standard hard-as-a-brick, non-reclining tiny little thing. But the bed, I have to say, was absolutely amazing. Pillow-top mattress, combined with overstuffed feather pillows and a feather-down comforter made for an amazing sleep. The desk and chair were pretty and the TV was a flat-panel LCD. And I can't say enough about the bathroom. The bathroom made me NOT want to leave after our 4 day stay! The granite countertops were breathtaking, and the heated towel racks were a nice touch. But the bathtub/shower combo was the best. The tub was HUGE. We were expecting a jet tub (being a Deluxe room and all), and were disappointed that we didn't have one. However, the sheer size of the tub made up for it. It was almost 6 feet long and exceptionally deep. Great for the avid bubble-bather like myself. We requested a refrigerator be brought to our room, and we had one within 10 minutes of calling the consierge (and at no extra charge, surprisingly.) We had a wonderful view of the apartment complex next door as well as the hotel's dumpsters. Not what you'd expect when you request an upscale room. If you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, plan on spending A LOT of money. It's very pricey, but the staff is exceptional. If you're on a budget, take a walk one block South and you'll find a cheeky little bar with amazing burgers. There's also an amazing pizza place a few blocks away that the concierge swore had the best pizza in D.C. It's called Luigi's and they deliver, and they are GOOD. My biggest complaint is the morning newspaper delivery. You have the option of requesting them to NOT deliver it, which we did do but they apparently were too busy to make a note of our request. Every morning at around 8:30 am we were aroused to a loud BANG. Instead of leaving the newspaper on your doorstep, they OPEN the door to your room and throw the newspaper in. We kept our catch-lock set, so every morning when they opened our door it BANGED against the lock. I though it QUITE rude that they choose to deliver their papers in such a manner. No knocking first, and they completely ignored our Do Not Disturb sign. The housekeeping service was great, although we never in our 4 day stay had our coffee, sugar, or cups replenished. And if you want more than one bathrobe, you have to call the front desk. All-in-all I was a bit perterbed over a few annoyances (especially the newspaper incidents!!!), but the bed and bathroom made up for just about everything. Just take a soothing bubble bath and lay down in that heavenly bed and all your worries just seem to disappear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small convenient store around the corner that sells a good selection of wine, sodas, and candy. There's also a pharmacy one block away, and you're only about 4 blocks from the White House.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxy First, every day's a Holiday!
Business
Midwest
Jan 15, 2010

Fantastic Location

I enjoyed my stay. Other than the waste pickup truck that arrived outside very early every morning to handle a large dumpster and which caused a noise akin to the city getting bombed, everything else was perfect. After the first morning and once I knew what was causing the noise, I was only annoyed rather than panicked. I especially appreciated the very helpful and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are staying so close to the monuments and access to the subway. Cab fares were expensive and inconsistent so it would be beneficial if you can walk or learn the subway system. Ask the Concierge for help and a map.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Nov 9, 2010

Almost perfect!

It was almost perfect. There was a wake-up call at 6:20, I did not requested, follow by a radio alarm at 7:00, I did not set. Everything else was as always. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Sep 2, 2008

Great for tourists

The Madison was very warm and comfortable from check-in to check-out. The apples and lemonade were a nice touch. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The one draw-back on the room was that we could not close the curtains at night without covering the a/c vent--a minor inconvenience. The concerge(sp)was most helpful with restaurant suggestions and the door crew always had a cab waiting for us. A minor glitch occured when we were inadvertently checked out early. Our names were deleted from the hotel register and we had no in room coffee the last day. All in all it was a delightful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two superb seafood restaurants were 3 blocks from the Madison--an easy walk.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 31, 2010

Very nice place to stay

The hotel offered very good service, extremely comfortable beds, a convenient location, and is in general a very pleasant place to stay. The restaurant in hotel was expensive, but Caribou Cafe, across the street, was good for a much less pricey breakfast, and there were other restaurants in the vicinity. A big plus was the exhibit at the National Geographic Museum, a short 2-block walk from the hotel, of the Terra Cotta Warriors from China. The exhibit was sold out but the concierge at the hotel had tickets available so we were able to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 28, 2007

Conveniently located,

Conveniently located to a wide variety of attractions and downtown destinations. Clean, well decorated, large rooms. Beware that the convenience bar is only stocked upon request - then why do you get a key upon check-in?? The concierge did not follow through on arrangements for a brunch and found out too late to make alternate arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top