$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Loews Madison Hotel

4 stars
1177 Fifteenth St NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
109 reviews
Great hotel, great location

The staff were beyond attentive, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the value for money was... See full review

  • BuccleuchGrad
  • May 27, 2014
Winter get away.

Excellent staff and service! We enjoyed the beautiful lobby restaurant and bar every day of our... See full review

  • Gramma Cyndy
  • Jan 16, 2014
Stylish Washington hotel provides an insider’s view to the action
Experience Washington, D.C. in the epicenter of the action at Loews Madison Hotel. This elegant hotel went through an extensive $20 million dollar renovation in 2012 of its public spaces, restaurants, and guest rooms. The White House, Embassy Row and the National Mall are all within walking distance from this elegant hotel with 353 guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of a 24-hour fitness center and steam room or inquire with the concierge about in-room spa services. Stop by PostScript for a great meal or after-work drinks. Recognized for excellence in hosting meetings, Loews Madison Hotel also features 12,000 square feet of function space.
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness center and steam room
  • Upscale PostScript Cafe
  • Recipient of the Successful Meetings Pinnacle Award and Meetings & Conventions Gold Key Award
  • Meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas and guest rooms

Location
It would take a lifetime to see everything Washington, D.C. has to offer. Check with the concierge at the Loews Madison for up-to-the-minute recommendations about the latest happenings in this cosmopolitan city. Of course, The White House, National Mall and Capitol Hill are always good bets -- and they're all within walking distance or a short Metro ride from the hotel. Those who wish to venture further afield head to Mount Vernon, Baltimore, Annapolis or Harpers Ferry National Historical Park.
Rooms

Work hard and relax in elegance in guest rooms at Hotel Loews Madison. Spacious work desks, wake-up calls and two telephones with voicemail help get work done. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, Lather bath amenities and 24-hour room service are available. High ceilings, city views and traditional decor add to the sense of refinement. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Dining
PostScript at Loews Madison Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, highlighting farm-fresh ingredients in an upscale urban atmosphere. Guests can also indulge on scrumptious cuisine at restaurants and bistros nearby.
Attractions

  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Mall (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Capitol Hill (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • 11,000 square feet of function space includes 11 meeting rooms

Loews Madison Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
1 king or 2 queen beds. 335 sq ft. Courtyard view. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.
Executive
Executive Terrace King. One king or one queen bed. 550 sq ft. Balcony with seating on top floor. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.
Luxury
1 king or 2 queen beds. 336 sq ft. City View. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Madison Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9053 -77.034
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, N; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi

Dining

Postscript
PostScript features a classic barista bar and all day dining in the cafe. Enjoy a full breakfast menu and light fare for lunch and dinner. Seasonal seating along 15th Street offers you the chance to people watch.
Lobby Bar
Unwind with your handcrafted cocktail of choice in our refined Lobby Bar, the perfect place to meet after work. Select from an extensive list of small-batch whiskies and scotches or sample some quality wines by the glass.
Barista Bar
The new Barista Bar is a Starbucks station and one-stop shop for guests and locals looking for hot or cold Starbucks beverage, breakfast or a snack on the go. The Barista Bar currently offers Starbucks Coffee, espressos, cappuccinos, and macchiato drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Madison Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Sep 2, 2008

Great for tourists

The Madison was very warm and comfortable from check-in to check-out. The apples and lemonade were a nice touch. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The one draw-back on the room was that we could not close the curtains at night without covering the a/c vent--a minor inconvenience. The concerge(sp)was most helpful with restaurant suggestions and the door crew always had a cab waiting for us. A minor glitch occured when we were inadvertently checked out early. Our names were deleted from the hotel register and we had no in room coffee the last day. All in all it was a delightful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two superb seafood restaurants were 3 blocks from the Madison--an easy walk.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Surfer
Manhattan
Jun 3, 2013

What a makeover!

This stylish makeover - a veritable symphony of sophisticated patterns and textures - would really wow anyone who remembers the tired old Madison. Nice large room, modern bath, hassle free wifi, well-trained, courteous staff. Food better than anticipated. Location quite convenient, enabling one to get a pleasant sense of life in the Capital, just far enough from the hordes of tourists. My only complaint - and this probably matters only to guests who still read newspapers and books in hard copy - is not enough light in guest rooms. I will definitely stay here again and will recommend this hotel to friends and business colleagues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vincent liang
Saco, maine
Nov 27, 2011

Great

I am a Chinese who stay in this hotel. It is a good hotel. Everything is perfect. Great value of it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good loction.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2008

My review of The Madison, A Loews Hotel

The valet parking is a bit pricy at 35 bucks a day (whether you use your car or keep it there the whole stay.) But we got our car back in great shape, so that was a plus. The one chair was a standard hard-as-a-brick, non-reclining tiny little thing. But the bed, I have to say, was absolutely amazing. Pillow-top mattress, combined with overstuffed feather pillows and a feather-down comforter made for an amazing sleep. The desk and chair were pretty and the TV was a flat-panel LCD. And I can't say enough about the bathroom. The bathroom made me NOT want to leave after our 4 day stay! The granite countertops were breathtaking, and the heated towel racks were a nice touch. But the bathtub/shower combo was the best. The tub was HUGE. We were expecting a jet tub (being a Deluxe room and all), and were disappointed that we didn't have one. However, the sheer size of the tub made up for it. It was almost 6 feet long and exceptionally deep. Great for the avid bubble-bather like myself. We requested a refrigerator be brought to our room, and we had one within 10 minutes of calling the consierge (and at no extra charge, surprisingly.) We had a wonderful view of the apartment complex next door as well as the hotel's dumpsters. Not what you'd expect when you request an upscale room. If you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, plan on spending A LOT of money. It's very pricey, but the staff is exceptional. If you're on a budget, take a walk one block South and you'll find a cheeky little bar with amazing burgers. There's also an amazing pizza place a few blocks away that the concierge swore had the best pizza in D.C. It's called Luigi's and they deliver, and they are GOOD. My biggest complaint is the morning newspaper delivery. You have the option of requesting them to NOT deliver it, which we did do but they apparently were too busy to make a note of our request. Every morning at around 8:30 am we were aroused to a loud BANG. Instead of leaving the newspaper on your doorstep, they OPEN the door to your room and throw the newspaper in. We kept our catch-lock set, so every morning when they opened our door it BANGED against the lock. I though it QUITE rude that they choose to deliver their papers in such a manner. No knocking first, and they completely ignored our Do Not Disturb sign. The housekeeping service was great, although we never in our 4 day stay had our coffee, sugar, or cups replenished. And if you want more than one bathrobe, you have to call the front desk. All-in-all I was a bit perterbed over a few annoyances (especially the newspaper incidents!!!), but the bed and bathroom made up for just about everything. Just take a soothing bubble bath and lay down in that heavenly bed and all your worries just seem to disappear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small convenient store around the corner that sells a good selection of wine, sodas, and candy. There's also a pharmacy one block away, and you're only about 4 blocks from the White House.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2008

My review of The Madison, A Loews Hotel

The valet parking is a bit pricy at 35 bucks a day (whether you use your car or keep it there the whole stay.) But we got our car back in great shape, so that was a plus. The one chair was a standard hard-as-a-brick, non-reclining tiny little thing. But the bed, I have to say, was absolutely amazing. Pillow-top mattress, combined with overstuffed feather pillows and a feather-down comforter made for an amazing sleep. The desk and chair were pretty and the TV was a flat-panel LCD. And I can't say enough about the bathroom. The bathroom made me NOT want to leave after our 4 day stay! The granite countertops were breathtaking, and the heated towel racks were a nice touch. But the bathtub/shower combo was the best. The tub was HUGE. We were expecting a jet tub (being a Deluxe room and all), and were disappointed that we didn't have one. However, the sheer size of the tub made up for it. It was almost 6 feet long and exceptionally deep. Great for the avid bubble-bather like myself. We requested a refrigerator be brought to our room, and we had one within 10 minutes of calling the consierge (and at no extra charge, surprisingly.) We had a wonderful view of the apartment complex next door as well as the hotel's dumpsters. Not what you'd expect when you request an upscale room. If you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, plan on spending A LOT of money. It's very pricey, but the staff is exceptional. If you're on a budget, take a walk one block South and you'll find a cheeky little bar with amazing burgers. There's also an amazing pizza place a few blocks away that the concierge swore had the best pizza in D.C. It's called Luigi's and they deliver, and they are GOOD. My biggest complaint is the morning newspaper delivery. You have the option of requesting them to NOT deliver it, which we did do but they apparently were too busy to make a note of our request. Every morning at around 8:30 am we were aroused to a loud BANG. Instead of leaving the newspaper on your doorstep, they OPEN the door to your room and throw the newspaper in. We kept our catch-lock set, so every morning when they opened our door it BANGED against the lock. I though it QUITE rude that they choose to deliver their papers in such a manner. No knocking first, and they completely ignored our Do Not Disturb sign. The housekeeping service was great, although we never in our 4 day stay had our coffee, sugar, or cups replenished. And if you want more than one bathrobe, you have to call the front desk. All-in-all I was a bit perterbed over a few annoyances (especially the newspaper incidents!!!), but the bed and bathroom made up for just about everything. Just take a soothing bubble bath and lay down in that heavenly bed and all your worries just seem to disappear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small convenient store around the corner that sells a good selection of wine, sodas, and candy. There's also a pharmacy one block away, and you're only about 4 blocks from the White House.

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deal Man
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great service, newly remodeled

Newly remodeled hotel that could have charged twice the rate I booked. We had temperature control issues in the room (it was consistently too warm) but, assuming that was an isolated incident, it is otherwise a great property with top notch service. Definite recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annava
Norway
Jul 29, 2013

really nice and friendly hotel

We had a great stay at this hotel- good rooms, great service everywhere and really nice bar/restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Skokie IL
May 24, 2011

Madison for AIPAC

I came for a conference. The hotel room was very comfortable and the hotel was extremely accomodating, especially when the [...]reservation has not come through when I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BuccleuchGrad
Saint Paul, Minnesota
May 27, 2014

Great hotel, great location

The staff were beyond attentive, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the value for money was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jun T
Miami, FL
Oct 11, 2012

Fantastic Experience

We came here to spend our wedding night. We pre-checked in and everything went flawless. We requested additional arrangements (flowers/chocolates/champagne) and everything was set up beautifully upon our arrival to the room. We also had brunch the next morning at the restaurant downstairs and the food was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top