$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Loews Madison Hotel

4 stars
1177 Fifteenth St NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
80 reviews
Incredible Staff!

The hotel was wonderful and very clean which is a huge plus. The thing that impressed me the most... See full review

  • Liz Happy Traveler
  • Aug 15, 2014
Great hotel, great location

The staff were beyond attentive, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the value for money was... See full review

  • BuccleuchGrad
  • May 27, 2014
Stylish Washington hotel provides an insider's view to the action
Experience Washington, D.C. in the epicenter of the action at Loews Madison Hotel. This elegant hotel went through an extensive $20 million dollar renovation in 2012 of its public spaces, restaurants, and guest rooms. The White House, Embassy Row and the National Mall are all within walking distance from this elegant hotel with 353 guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of a 24-hour fitness center and steam room or inquire with the concierge about in-room spa services. Stop by PostScript for a great meal or after-work drinks. Recognized for excellence in hosting meetings, Loews Madison Hotel also features 12,000 square feet of function space.
Highlights

  • 24-hour fitness center and steam room
  • Upscale PostScript Cafe
  • Recipient of the Successful Meetings Pinnacle Award and Meetings & Conventions Gold Key Award
  • Meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas and guest rooms

Location
It would take a lifetime to see everything Washington, D.C. has to offer. Check with the concierge at the Loews Madison for up-to-the-minute recommendations about the latest happenings in this cosmopolitan city. Of course, The White House, National Mall and Capitol Hill are always good bets -- and they're all within walking distance or a short Metro ride from the hotel. Those who wish to venture further afield head to Mount Vernon, Baltimore, Annapolis or Harpers Ferry National Historical Park.
Rooms

Work hard and relax in elegance in guest rooms at Hotel Loews Madison. Spacious work desks, wake-up calls and two telephones with voicemail help get work done. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, Lather bath amenities and 24-hour room service are available. High ceilings, city views and traditional decor add to the sense of refinement. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Dining
PostScript at Loews Madison Hotel serves dinner daily, highlighting farm-fresh ingredients in an upscale urban atmosphere. The dining facility is open from 3 PM to 11 PM. Award-winning chef Jose Garces helms Rural Society, an Argentine steakhouse that is also serving Italian specialties. Diners can sample handmade pastas along with fugazzas (thick-crust Argentine pizza). In addition to presenting aperitifs and digestifs, Rural Society's bar showcases South American and Argentine wines.
Attractions

  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • National Mall (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Capitol Hill (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in public areas
  • 11,000 square feet of function space includes 11 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

38.9053 -77.034
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, N; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Madison Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Loews Madison Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
1 king or 2 queen beds. 363 sq ft. Courtyard view. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.
Executive
Premium Room. 1 king or 2 queen beds. 363 sq ft. City View on High Floors. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.
Luxury
1 king or 2 queen beds. 363 sq ft. City View. Comp wifi and daily newspaper.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rural Society
Award winning, Iron Chef Jose Garces has opened his first DC restaurant in the Loews Madison. This Argentine steakhouse features steaks, fish, and vegetable off the parilla grill, along with homemade pastas and other inspired cuisine.
Postscript
PostScript features snacks, small plates and cocktails in a refined setting. Located just off the main lobby of the Loews Madison Hotel, the bar features local cuisine and live nightly jazz Thursday thru Saturday evenings.
Barista Bar
Barista Bar is a Starbucks station and one-stop shop for guests looking for a hot or cold Starbucks beverage, breakfast, or a snack on the go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Madison Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snob about hotels
new york,new york
Jan 27, 2013

wonderful propery

really like this location........easy walking distance to most of dc,courtyard facing rooms are very quiet , windows open something hard to find with newer hotels,staff are all very helpful and nice! hotel is a good value in a city that can be pricey! my only real objection is they charge for use of the business center!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karinam708
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 7, 2011

4th of July Weekend

Great location, within walking distance of White House, DuPont Circle. Service was fantastic, especially the concierge. He was very helpful and provided maps, recommendations for things to do, events taking place during the holiday weekend, and restuarant lists. Rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2008

My review of The Madison, A Loews Hotel

The valet parking is a bit pricy at 35 bucks a day (whether you use your car or keep it there the whole stay.) But we got our car back in great shape, so that was a plus. The one chair was a standard hard-as-a-brick, non-reclining tiny little thing. But the bed, I have to say, was absolutely amazing. Pillow-top mattress, combined with overstuffed feather pillows and a feather-down comforter made for an amazing sleep. The desk and chair were pretty and the TV was a flat-panel LCD. And I can't say enough about the bathroom. The bathroom made me NOT want to leave after our 4 day stay! The granite countertops were breathtaking, and the heated towel racks were a nice touch. But the bathtub/shower combo was the best. The tub was HUGE. We were expecting a jet tub (being a Deluxe room and all), and were disappointed that we didn't have one. However, the sheer size of the tub made up for it. It was almost 6 feet long and exceptionally deep. Great for the avid bubble-bather like myself. We requested a refrigerator be brought to our room, and we had one within 10 minutes of calling the consierge (and at no extra charge, surprisingly.) We had a wonderful view of the apartment complex next door as well as the hotel's dumpsters. Not what you'd expect when you request an upscale room. If you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, plan on spending A LOT of money. It's very pricey, but the staff is exceptional. If you're on a budget, take a walk one block South and you'll find a cheeky little bar with amazing burgers. There's also an amazing pizza place a few blocks away that the concierge swore had the best pizza in D.C. It's called Luigi's and they deliver, and they are GOOD. My biggest complaint is the morning newspaper delivery. You have the option of requesting them to NOT deliver it, which we did do but they apparently were too busy to make a note of our request. Every morning at around 8:30 am we were aroused to a loud BANG. Instead of leaving the newspaper on your doorstep, they OPEN the door to your room and throw the newspaper in. We kept our catch-lock set, so every morning when they opened our door it BANGED against the lock. I though it QUITE rude that they choose to deliver their papers in such a manner. No knocking first, and they completely ignored our Do Not Disturb sign. The housekeeping service was great, although we never in our 4 day stay had our coffee, sugar, or cups replenished. And if you want more than one bathrobe, you have to call the front desk. All-in-all I was a bit perterbed over a few annoyances (especially the newspaper incidents!!!), but the bed and bathroom made up for just about everything. Just take a soothing bubble bath and lay down in that heavenly bed and all your worries just seem to disappear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small convenient store around the corner that sells a good selection of wine, sodas, and candy. There's also a pharmacy one block away, and you're only about 4 blocks from the White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxy First, every day's a Holiday!
Business
Midwest
Jan 15, 2010

Fantastic Location

I enjoyed my stay. Other than the waste pickup truck that arrived outside very early every morning to handle a large dumpster and which caused a noise akin to the city getting bombed, everything else was perfect. After the first morning and once I knew what was causing the noise, I was only annoyed rather than panicked. I especially appreciated the very helpful and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are staying so close to the monuments and access to the subway. Cab fares were expensive and inconsistent so it would be beneficial if you can walk or learn the subway system. Ask the Concierge for help and a map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Nov 9, 2010

Almost perfect!

It was almost perfect. There was a wake-up call at 6:20, I did not requested, follow by a radio alarm at 7:00, I did not set. Everything else was as always. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Sep 2, 2008

Great for tourists

The Madison was very warm and comfortable from check-in to check-out. The apples and lemonade were a nice touch. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The one draw-back on the room was that we could not close the curtains at night without covering the a/c vent--a minor inconvenience. The concerge(sp)was most helpful with restaurant suggestions and the door crew always had a cab waiting for us. A minor glitch occured when we were inadvertently checked out early. Our names were deleted from the hotel register and we had no in room coffee the last day. All in all it was a delightful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two superb seafood restaurants were 3 blocks from the Madison--an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 31, 2010

Very nice place to stay

The hotel offered very good service, extremely comfortable beds, a convenient location, and is in general a very pleasant place to stay. The restaurant in hotel was expensive, but Caribou Cafe, across the street, was good for a much less pricey breakfast, and there were other restaurants in the vicinity. A big plus was the exhibit at the National Geographic Museum, a short 2-block walk from the hotel, of the Terra Cotta Warriors from China. The exhibit was sold out but the concierge at the hotel had tickets available so we were able to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 28, 2007

Conveniently located,

Conveniently located to a wide variety of attractions and downtown destinations. Clean, well decorated, large rooms. Beware that the convenience bar is only stocked upon request - then why do you get a key upon check-in?? The concierge did not follow through on arrangements for a brunch and found out too late to make alternate arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise Lucky Traveler
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 23, 2014

Great Little Getaway

The Loews Madison was the perfect place to stay for a weekend away in Washington, DC. Business or personal, the hotel is centrally located, and a 15-20 minute walk to most locations. I am very pleased with the service and accommodations the Loews was able to provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mjjb
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 18, 2014

DC business trip

Comfortable, clean, lounge was casual and elegant. J

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gramma Cyndy
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jan 16, 2014

Winter get away.

Excellent staff and service! We enjoyed the beautiful lobby restaurant and bar every day of our stay, either for breakfast before sightseeing or a drink and bite to eat in the evening. Also grateful for the loan of an umbrella on a drippy morning.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top